We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most divine food and stunning bedrooms. Many other lovely aspects too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently celebrated a family members hen in a large grand private dining room. The hotel allowed us to decorate the beautiful room with photos provided we were careful. The three course meal with amuse bouches (which were divine) was incredible and some of the best food I have had at a restaurant. Our waiter was very charming, diligent and professional. Our bedrooms were all stunning, every room was huge and full or high quality furnishings. The whole hotel was well looked after. The spa side in-particular was beautiful. Overall a lovely experience.

Room Tip: I stayed in Holly room and was lovely. We had a deal for spa treatment, dinner, bed and breakfast. G...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
There are newer reviews for The Greenway Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 742 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a wonderful couple of nights stay at the Greenway (28 Feb - 1 Mar). The hotel and grounds were stunning, the room was huge and the spa facilities were fantastic - we particularly liked the al fresco hot tub! We definitely got value-for-money thanks to a package deal we found online, giving us a superior double room, 3 course dinner each night, a full breakfast daily and 20% off spa treatments (and use of the spa) for just over £300. The staff were incredibly attentive, both in the spa and main hotel.

The Greenway is only 10 minutes from the centre of Cheltenham and about half an hour from Chipping Campden, so we were placed to go exploring.

Our only complaint was that on one of the evenings, there was no hot water around 6pm, so we had to go to the spa to have showers.

If you're looking for a relaxing break and first-class luxury, then I'd definitely recommend the Greenway!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were rather disappointed by our Afternoon Tea here, whilst there was nothing particularly wrong with anything there was also nothing particularly special either. The sandwiches were cheese, ham, egg and tuna and although on initial appearance the cakes looked splendid the lemon meringue tart had very hard pastry, and no real lemon taste. The chocolate eclair also was fairly tasteless the scone was ok, a slice of something fruity was very dense and only the slice of, we think, lemon drizzle cake was realy enjoyable. Even the pot of tea was a disappointment. At a cost of £20 each we consider it overpriced and not something we will repeat.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank smiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having used the Spa on a previous occassion my wife and I decided to purchase a Secret Escapes deal to stay at this lovely hotel and use the facilities again. We were not dissappointed with either the room, facilities or the breakfast. We met some lovely people and the staff were very attentive and helpful. For us it was a return to a hotel we were very fond of many years ago when we lived in the area and it has not lost any of its charm or quality over the years. We recommend anyone wishing to find a beautiful country retreat for a night or two to try this hotel.

Room Tip: Watch out for 'special deals' which give greater value
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had lunch at this hotel just before Christmas. It is clearly a premium establishment - the sports cars and personalised number plates in the car park will give you an early view of what to expect. It isn't cheap but the quality is first class.

The staff are very attentive and really made the lunch feel 'special'. Will be back once we have saved up the pennies!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank bob0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Me and my girlfriend were deciding on a Valentines getaway and noticed an offer for The Greenway Hotel in Cosmopolitan. It seemed incredibly good value for such a highly rated Hotel. The offer was for a single night stay, full use of Spa, a 30 minute treatment of our choice, 20% of all other treatments, a 3 course dinner and breakfast, an a free upgrade to the next best room if available. All of this was £99 each and it turned out to be 100% worth it (I made an anonymous call to see how much the room alone would be - £238!, so the saving was incredible).
We made the most of every moment and really enjoyed the stay. The drive there was lovely, the building itself is beautiful and in a lovely setting. We didn't go walking but there are surely some cracking walks, and the grounds are nice too.
When we arrived, the reception was friendly, I asked them to have a bucket of ice delivered to the room at 6.30 and this was no-problem. we asked about the free upgrade, but as they were full it was not possible. We were quite happy with this as the standard room we did get (Walnut) was surprisingly spacious and elevated, so although it looked over the carpark, there was still a very nice horizonal view. The room was clean, tidy and well appointed with tea and coffee and all sorts of info and products.
We went down to the drawing room and had afternoon tea in the sun. Beautiful room, quiet atmosphere and very elegant and sophisticated service. The only point here would be that I felt £17 for 4 scones was totally overpriced, but in the setting and with the service it didn't ruin the experience.
After tea we changed into our robes and went down to the Spa for our free treatments. The massages were excellent, with the masseuse asking exactly what kind of massage we wanted, which I was pleased with. My girlfriend had a facial too, which ended up being included in the price! The outdoor jacuzzi was delightful. In the cold weather, sat in a hot steaming barrel-spa in the sunset felt exceedingly indulgent. The spa was not crowded or rushed and everyone there was relaxed and quiet. The pool was great, even with some of the jets not working at the time. The steam-room needed a lot more in the way of steam. The two saunas were great too. Had a very peaceful time sat reading next to the pool.
Returning to the room - the ice bucket had been delivered as requested at 6.30 sharp. We had prosecco and enjoyed more relaxing then went down to dinner. At first, we were told the offer only allowed the reduced menu at the back, but another enquiry revealed that we could pick anything. To think that the meal we had was included is unbelievable, it was truly fine dining. As a sommelier, I've had considerable experience in fine-dining settings and can honestly say that The Greenway restaurant was exceptional. The food was very well made, very finely presented, yet avoided the all-too regular mistake of fine-dining restaurants and actually gave us good sized portions. I would have paid £99 just for the meal, it was stunning.
The wine list is far too top-heavy, with very little entry-level choice and not much in the way of mid-range, but I really enjoyed the wine I chose (Saumur Champigny £28.50 - one of the lower priced on offer but very good standard none-the-less). I must say, to have such a top-heavy wine list, yet no obvious sommelier was a true failing, I would have really enjoyed a good chat about the list, and a discussion with someone that knew the wines. If a restaurant puts that many top-end wines on their list, it's essential that they have a member of staff to manage them on the floor. This said, I didn't feel that it ruined the experience as the food and waiter service was still spectacular.
Breakfast was delivered to our room at our selected time in the morning at no extra charge.
I would definitely recommend The Greenway, it's positives really outweighed the negatives and we had a marvellously relaxing escape.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perifex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a midweek break with our 11 week old baby, although we had to take it in turns in the spa, the stay was restful, extremely private, and revitalised us completely. The room was upgraded to a stunning master overlooking the gardens and rolling hills, supper was although small in portion size, still executed in Ramseyseque splendour, we will be rebooking for next month on my birthday!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katethewanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shurdington
5.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
872 reviews
21.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenway Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenway Hotel and Spa

Address: Shurdington road, Shurdington GL51 5UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Shurdington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Price Range: $119 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenway Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenway Hotel & Spa (part of the Eden Hotel Collection) located in the heart of the countryside yet minutes from Cheltenham, offers more than the other luxury Cotswold hotels because of the unique setting and stylish approach. A favorite with the Cheltenham cognoscenti, if you wish to experience elegance and luxury then visit this gorgeous Elizabethan manor and newly appointed Elan Spa. Upon arrival to this style retreat, you will enjoy award winning fine dining in the Garden Restaurant, relax in the new spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, alfresco hot tub and treatment rooms or just enjoy the beautifully appointed bedrooms and landscaped grounds. All delivered with the attention to detail and level of service that you would expect from an Eden Hotel Collection property yet with the individuality and personality for which the hotels are renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenway Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing