We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Buckingham International
Nearby Hotels
$86
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Brighton Savoy(Brighton)
$123
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$69
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$82
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
105
101
36
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
101
36
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnepean highwaytrain stationfree wifisouthland shopping centrerecommend this hotelexecutive roomrestaurant barshort drivewould stay againstayed for nightsaround the cornerbed was comfortablehandy locationreception staffexcellent motelfull buffetbuckingham
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 258 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Although only one night, you can tell that this motel is worth staying at. The room No 49 was upstairs and was more than adequate. Good size flat screen TV - very clean bathroom. The breakfast - full one had excellent choice and the poached eggs asked for were perfect. Reception staff very friendly. Bar was busy but friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insearchofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Buckingham International, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Insearchofit,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback on Trip advisor. I can see you had a wonderful time with us. Our whole team is happy to see your comments and hopes to welcome you back soon.
We appreciate your valuable time sharing your experience.

Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A good motel with clean rooms and service of a reasonable standard. Quite far from the city but a convenient train station is only 5 mins away. I could not find a tram station nearby. A Js Bistro
is the restaurant and yes Wilson is a bit of a pain. Not being into breakfasts I normally have only
coffee. When I told Wilson this he exclaimed " Is that all ? " in a voice that barely concealed his disappointment at making so little cash from me. The second day having asked a waitress for only a coffee I was told I would have to sit in the bar area if I was only having coffee ?????
I might add the bar prices are a bit on the heavey side , $9 for a glass of mediocre red. The accommodation is good value just don,t eat or drink there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nudgerHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Buckingham International, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear nudgerHongKong,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip advisor.

We are located in south eastern suburbs of Melbourne and unfortunately, Melbourne tram network hasn’t been stretched here as of yet, however we are quite convenient to trains. Our staff did not intend to make the cash of you. Normally all the people who comes for breakfast, enjoy either continental or full hot breakfast on daily basis and it was quite different of you having only coffee. We apologize for any misunderstanding and any convenience this may have caused.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you had overall good stay. We hope to see you in future.

Kind regards,
Dinar Malek
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on 11 & 12 Aug 2012. We were giving room no. 64 which is at the end of the row. The room was in a quiet corner and we enjoyed the small garden fountain leading to the room. The room size is decent and amenities in room is in good conditions. Except only the shower as the heater is a bit difficult to control and frequently cold water came on. It took a few freezing shock to predict when to re-adjust the taps. Bed was a bit soft too.

Receptionists were polite. Parking is free and situated along one of the major freeway (Nepean highway) it's easy to drive down to city or St. kilda / Mornington area.

Recommended for budget travelers looking for non-frizz night stay and slightly more.

Room Tip: Room 64 is quiet as it is away from the road.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lpulitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Buckingham International, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear lpulitude,

Thank you for your time reviewing us. I am glad to know that you had a chance to stay in one of our executive room with lovely view and am happy to know about the information provided to us.

Thank you for bringing our attention to the water pressure in Room 64. I will inform our maintenance team to act on it as soon as possible.

I am thankful for your constructive feedback which will help us improve our service quality and standards. We appreciate valuable time and hope to see you back in future.

Best wishes,

Dinar Malek
Front office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Dined here last Saturday night with family for my wifes birthday and a family catchup.

Food is of the "big plates small servings" variety but good quality and pretty good value for money. The side serves of chips in particular stood out.

The service however, we found far too overbearing.Our Maitre' d "Wilson" who has been mentioned as excellent in other reviews we found to be attentive to the point of really annoying. Yes its fine to make sure everything is OK, but to ask each one of our party individually every 15 mins "is everything OK?" was just far too much and ended up getting on our nerves, well-meaning as it no doubt was. He also made a point of announcing he was going home at 9.30 while w were still eating dessert (having only been there since 7pm) The longer the evening went the more we felt we were being rushed so they could set the tables for breakfast the next morning, as we were the only diners by this stage.

Enjoyable enough meal but the service we found far too over-zealous

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Located in the suburb town of Highett, the Best Western is good value for its cost but be prepared to travel 30-45 minutes to get to Federation Square in Melbourne. The rooms are a good size and clean and the free wifi is a plus – though be warned, it is rather spotty at certain times in the day. Sometimes it’s quite fast, sometimes it’s a slow drip. The hotel is a convenient 5-8 minute walk from the nearest tram stop and then it’s about 10 more stops to Federation Square. The money you do save on the hotel, you may need to use for tram passes, as the Highett Station is considered zone 2 and the inner city is in zone 1 – so you need a combination pass at about 12AUD. Besides that, there is no means of public transport into the city. The walk to the station takes you on a nice tour of the town of Highett; its delis, four Chinese restaurants and a handful of convenience marts. Booking tours is a way to see the sights of the Victoria region but you will need to go into town to do that – and the hotel pickups don’t come all the way down so you will need to travel the 45 minutes up to the city in order to get picked up for a tour. Be warned, a late tour to see the penguins at Phillip Island may get you back to the city too late for the last tram down to Highett Station at midnight.

On-site there are quite a few perks to this hotel. As mentioned before, the free wifi was an absolute plus – free wifi is hard to come by in Melbourne (as well as all of Aussie). Free printing is available near the front desk for those last minute itineraries. There is a pool to cool off in during the summer months and a laundry room on-site for guests. AJ’s Bistro was also an excellent restaurant located on-site and had good portions. Because it is located in a lazy suburb, there isn’t too much noise if you need a quieter environment to unwind and rest.

We booked this place because of its value (as well as the fact that with the Aussie Open in town, most of the other places were fully booked), but we were able to see a slice of real Australia besides the usual tourist sites. An early morning check-out left us with no option but to take a taxi to the airport – costing us nearly 100 AUD for the ride.

Overall, the stay at Best Western was more than satisfactory, the facilities made a comfortable and nice stay and the service was quite helpful. Stay here for good value and great hotel amenities, just be ready to travel if you want to see the city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews