We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essence of Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suly Vegetarian Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you want to feel the spirit and depth of Bali, this is the place to be. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. It's affordable but livable. I really love this place. Friendly staff. Good food. I'm surely coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinaosrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

The first thing to notice was how beautiful the grounds are. Stone carvings, lush plants and trees, gorgeous buildings... The grounds are set far enough back away from any roads so there is no noise from the loud beeping traffic.

The second thing to note, if you didn't already know, is that the resort is staffed by children. From reception to the spa to housekeeping, children will be ready to help you with a smiling face. They are extremely polite and are always a pleasure to deal with.

We were a little unfortunate in our timing to stay here (Late August 2012) as one of the two pools was emptied out and out of order for most of our stay, and there was some construction taking place in our block of rooms. This meant we could hear drills and hammers banging away throughout the day. This hopefully won't last too long and others won't have to be woken up with such noises. I suppose it has to happen some time...

The room overall was fine. The bed in our standard room was great (room 203). AC was a little noisy but the cool air outweighed the noise. The room was tidied daily with two bottles of water provided for free. Basic things such as a fridge, tv (with HBO, Nat Geo, Disc etc.) and kettle. The bathroom did smell a little bit, as well as it being really small. Body wash and shampoo were provided. We had free breakfast included with the room.

There are two main wifi routers (free) around the resort and overall the internet was great.

The location is about a 10 minute drive from the centre of Ubud and there are free shuttles throughout the day. If you fancy a walk it is doable if it isn't too hot, and a taxi at any other times outside of shuttle hours is fairly cheap.

There are two restaurants; a main large one and a smaller one to the back of the resort. Our experiences with the second smaller restaurant weren't very good. They never had any change to give us when we paid and this resulted in them running around the resort looking for some while we stood and waited. The larger restaurant proved to be great overall, some of the dishes being great, some not so much but still edible.

The spa was a little overpriced (a massage costing 200,000 compared to in town where it can be 70,000). Especially when you consider that it says they are trainees, it should be cheaper.

There is a nice restaurant directly next door, and another restaurant and a deli/shop the opposite way (about a 3 minute walk).

There are meditation and yoga classes every day for around the same price you'd pay at home (UK, Aus, US).

Overall the place was a great stay. You can make it a relaxing retreat with massages, yoga etc. The staff are amazing and are always smiling and polite.

I'd stay again and recommend others to stay (providing the construction is completed, but this won't last forever so I'm trying to be unbiased and not let this affect the review too much).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night on August. First, most parts of the building look old. The hotel lobby and rooms are at the back while the front building is tourism school. From parking we have to walk a couple minutes to get to lobby. The hotel is sorrounded by garden, and ricefields view at the restaurants, that makes it nice.

Check in was quick, they gave us a voucher of 10 minutes free massage for 1 person only ( but we did not take it). We stayed in room #308, the standard one, the floor is spotted and it is really not looking nice. They should remove the spot. Our room view was like overlooking the garbage disposal, nothing to see but the old building across. It's really terrible.

The hotel had 2 restaurants and 2 swimming pool. We chose to book the hotel because we saw a nice swimmingpool on its website, but unlucky the pool was under maintenance. A bit dissapointed. But it's OK they have another one.

The hotel location is about 5-10 minutes from the heart of Ubud by motorbike. If you stayed here you better have your own vehicle/motorbike so you can explore Ubud on your own, though the hotel provide free schedlued shuttle to the town,like 4 times a day.

We did not like the breakfast menu,it was buffet breakfast (Indonesian food) and the food were yellow rice, bean sprouts cooked with carrots,fried chicken. IT is good that they had toast/bread,sliced steam potato and scamble eggs so we had that for breakfast instead.

The summary is : the building is old need repairmen, the hotel furniture also old, they should also pay attention to the back of the hotel as it is very dirty and full of garbage. Also the staff should at least have uniforms or at least dressing tidy and good appearance.

If you stay for 1 night, it's good but if you intend to stay up to 3 or 4 nights with budget $40-$50 better go explore other options which are so many in Ubud.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryJC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A little bit far from the city, but free shuttle bus is provided 4 times a day.
Room clean and spacious, equipped with hairdyer.
Friendly staff.
There are two restaurants, one with continetal breakfast and the other with just 2/3 options (pancakes, fruit salad..) but you cannot choose where to have breakfast, and i didn't get why.
Value for money (42$/night with breakfast).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1ch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had such a good time at Suly Resort last month that I am already saving to go back to Bali and stay at Suly Resort again. Suly is unique in being mainly staffed by smiling, genuinely happy and enthusiastic hospitality students from impoverished backgrounds. Any request I had was met with a timely response. The management are committed and passionate to the vision of giving these students skills in both English and hospitality that will set them up for life.

If you are after something a little different to the standard Western-style resort and love the idea of organic food, wonderful fresh juice combinations, daily yoga, a really spiritual feel and great spa massages, all presented with a friendly smile, then you should really consider Suly Resort for your trip to Bali. It was just lovely waking up each morning to roosters crowing as well as being surrounded by rice paddies and lush tropical gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveller550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and have mixed feelings.... The grounds were beautiful and the service was good . There is an old building and a new building, our room was in the old one. We had cockroackes and ghekos in our room. The hotel is mainly serviced by the children who are friendly and pleasant. The views of the rice fields are nothing like the website, they are flat and difficult to see. The food was bland and the breakfast small. There is a free shuttle but the hotel is not within walking distance to anything, but rather on the outskirts of town. This made it quiet and away from the traffic..the pool pump was broken and the water dirty, and those who did swim in it got sick, but that can be fixed...... All in all i dont think id stay there again, as my overall thought is that there are better deals elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights, its a lovely area, very peaceful and its great if you want a relaxing holiday with just sitting by the pool all day. The location is ok, not great as you cannot walk to anything, the centre of Ubud is 15 mins drive. They do however offer a free shuttle on the evening and a couple of times in the day.
Although the evening shuttle when coming to pick us all up only had 7 seats and there were 15 people waiting, so we had to wait over 25 mins for the driver to return!
The room was very old fashioned, in need of updating (they are updating some parts at present) the bath is quite dangerous, it has a few steps up to go down and you have to hold the showerhead! the walls are also very very thin, you can hear the tv next door v loud! the breakfast is also quite annoying, as you have to order from a few choices, not buffet and it takes a while for food to come out.
all in all im glad we only stayed a couple of nights! although it is a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
1.3 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
775 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#129 of 199 in Ubud
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#155 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ubud Raya Hotel
Ubud Raya Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sayan
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suly Vegetarian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suly Vegetarian Resort & Spa

Address: Jl.Cok Rai Pudak, Br.Yangloni, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Suly Resort Yoga and Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range: $17 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suly Vegetarian Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suly Resort offers an oasis of tranquility with extensive tropical gardens and views out over Ubud’s rice fields. Suly is the perfect place for retreats and getting away from the pressures of everyday life. Under new management since May 2017, the resort welcomes guests who are looking for the perfect place from which to explore Ubud and the surrounding areas. Suly Resort serves exclusively vegetarian and vegan cuisine, reflecting our emphasis on health and well-being. We have two pools and extensive yoga and meeting facilities. Experience our special 10,000 steps walk through the rice fields as well as one of our guided meditations in this magical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Suly Vegetarian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suly Hotel Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing