We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
125
130
88
39
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
130
88
39
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice fieldsbabi gulingbalinese danceair consuckling pigpeaceful placeubud centreevery afternoonmin drivebusy roadnice breakfastpeace and quietvisit ubudyogapoolsfoundationspa
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 425 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A little bit far from the city, but free shuttle bus is provided 4 times a day.
Room clean and spacious, equipped with hairdyer.
Friendly staff.
There are two restaurants, one with continetal breakfast and the other with just 2/3 options (pancakes, fruit salad..) but you cannot choose where to have breakfast, and i didn't get why.
Value for money (42$/night with breakfast).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1ch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had such a good time at Suly Resort last month that I am already saving to go back to Bali and stay at Suly Resort again. Suly is unique in being mainly staffed by smiling, genuinely happy and enthusiastic hospitality students from impoverished backgrounds. Any request I had was met with a timely response. The management are committed and passionate to the vision of giving these students skills in both English and hospitality that will set them up for life.

If you are after something a little different to the standard Western-style resort and love the idea of organic food, wonderful fresh juice combinations, daily yoga, a really spiritual feel and great spa massages, all presented with a friendly smile, then you should really consider Suly Resort for your trip to Bali. It was just lovely waking up each morning to roosters crowing as well as being surrounded by rice paddies and lush tropical gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveller550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and have mixed feelings.... The grounds were beautiful and the service was good . There is an old building and a new building, our room was in the old one. We had cockroackes and ghekos in our room. The hotel is mainly serviced by the children who are friendly and pleasant. The views of the rice fields are nothing like the website, they are flat and difficult to see. The food was bland and the breakfast small. There is a free shuttle but the hotel is not within walking distance to anything, but rather on the outskirts of town. This made it quiet and away from the traffic..the pool pump was broken and the water dirty, and those who did swim in it got sick, but that can be fixed...... All in all i dont think id stay there again, as my overall thought is that there are better deals elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights, its a lovely area, very peaceful and its great if you want a relaxing holiday with just sitting by the pool all day. The location is ok, not great as you cannot walk to anything, the centre of Ubud is 15 mins drive. They do however offer a free shuttle on the evening and a couple of times in the day.
Although the evening shuttle when coming to pick us all up only had 7 seats and there were 15 people waiting, so we had to wait over 25 mins for the driver to return!
The room was very old fashioned, in need of updating (they are updating some parts at present) the bath is quite dangerous, it has a few steps up to go down and you have to hold the showerhead! the walls are also very very thin, you can hear the tv next door v loud! the breakfast is also quite annoying, as you have to order from a few choices, not buffet and it takes a while for food to come out.
all in all im glad we only stayed a couple of nights! although it is a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Suly Resort for 7 nights in room 402 - a beautiful room with a generous-sized bathroom and a balcony with a view to die for over the lush green rice fields. After the week, we both agreed it was a really great experience, especially considering the relatively low cost and the fact that we were supporting a school for poorer adolescents to continue their education.

Suly should pride itself on the architecture and gardens - they really are beautiful and well-maintained. The resort also supports a hospitality school and ashram, so there's always a lot of fresh-faced students around who are very friendly and seemed to enjoy practicing their English. Because a lot of the staff are young and still learning, they're very eager to please but sometimes have difficulty understanding complex requests in English and they might struggle to think outside the box - be prepared to be patient and speak slowly and simply. Meals were really nice but my partner reports the coffee was a bit dubious.

We also indulged in some of the massages they offered. The girls there were very friendly and did a great Balinese-style massage, but I'd stay away from the hot stone one, 'cause one of the girls placed a too-hot stone on my partner's back, resulting in a minor burn.

Morning yoga was done by a very friendly Canadian girl who took us through a relaxing and energising routine. I'd also recommend taking the afternoon yoga at 5pm. A very friendly Balinese student puts you through a complex regime for $5 for two hours. Her English is workable, and she'll be a really good yoga teacher once she's finished her studies. We turned up to two afternoon sessions and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The room was large, pleasant and clean, and the students provided us with water, tea, and coffee every morning. The only real complaints are that the bathroom occasionally had a faint smell of sewerage and there was a glass window above the room door so light streamed in from the hallway all night. There was also no elevator and we were on the fourth floor. We didn't mind the extra exercise, but some might.

Also, this place is a hefty distance from Ubud, so unless you want to walk for about forty minutes, take the free shuttle service offered four times a day by the hotel.

All in all, a relaxing experience of yoga, massage, and nice food in pleasant surroundings with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamderLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews