We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tepi Sawah Villas - Quiet Balinese Hotel close to Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tepi Sawah Villas - Quiet Balinese Hotel close to Ubud”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My family and I have decided to spend our latest holiday closer to Ubud in Bali. We wanted to explore the Mount Batur and do a day of cycling in the paddy fields. We choose Tepi Sawah Villas because we wanted to be outside of the center of Ubud.

The hotel is located at 10 minutes drive from Ubud and a shuttle bus, free of charge, will take you to the Center of Ubud and pick you up under your request from 9:00 am till 10:00pm. Around the hotel, it is not very interesting but knowing the shuttle service is available, it is not too important.

Our villa called “Bituan” was located on the second floor allowing us to over look the paddy fields. If you choose a first floor villa, it is surrounded by a wall providing you some privacy but you will not enjoy the beautiful view. The room was clean but a good layer of paint would have helped to look a bit better. The beds were very comfortable and we were able to sleep well.The hotel staff was very nice, polite and efficient.

The breakfasts were excellent and the menu offered a wide variety of choices. The pool was small, clean and beautiful. They were expanding during our stay building a new pool but the noise was kept at a minimal volume to not disturb the guests.
The gardens were peaceful and we had enjoyed two evening meals at the main restaurant. The food was excellent, the staff very kind and the atmosphere was extremely relaxing.

We were not disturbed by mosquitoes as the hotel pay good attention to provide insect repellent in the room, terrace and at the restaurant.
When we were there, the Spa was not opened and the only way you could get a massage was in your room.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Tepi Sawah Villas and if you are looking at a mid-range hotel close to Ubud, this might be the one!

Mylene & family

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mylene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    188
    52
    14
    6
See reviews for
79
282
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I chose this hotel specifically as it was advertised as a spa, and I had planned a holiday which involved lots of pampering of myself after a busy couple of years. When I arrived, I found out that it does not have a spa, although they could arrange in room massages. I was not comfortable with this. I ended up having a massage in Ubud, but would have like to avail myself of more 'spa' services inhouse.

The hotel itself is located a fair distance from Ubud (about 10 minutes drive), again something I wasn't expecting, although they do provide a shuttle service.

I stayed in the 'Ubud" room. The room was very large and quite nice, except there were drip marks all around the toilet in the bathroom, which I suspect hadn't been mopped. I tried not to think about what they were! The hot water in the rain shower did not work the first night I was there, but that was fixed the next day. The shower was a nice experience though. I also had a lovely balcony room which overlooked the rice fields.

Due to its location, it was difficult to eat out at night, so I relied on the menu at the restaurant. This was adequate and varied for a short stay, and in keeping with Bali prices, very reasonable.

On one occasion I ordered a caffe latte which arrived and was very sweet. I suspected it was made with a liqueur, and when I asked about it, they showed me some syrup that they had made it with. It tasted awful and was undrinkable, and I told them that it is not how a caffe latte is made. Even though I complained, I was still charged for it, but given it was only about A$2, I didn't worry too much.

Overall, with the exception of a couple of staff, they weren't overly friendly or helpful - not in keeping with most Balinese hospitality staff.

The breakfasts which were included in my room rate were more than adequate with a choice of options. The mixed fruit juice was great.

Overall, even though I didn't get to stay at a 'spa' facility, and was a long way from town, it was pretty good.

Room Tip: An upstairs room with a balcony gives great views over the rice fields and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I would give this property 3 1/2 circles due to few drawbacks.
Let me start with good aspects. The property is located 10 min away from the centre of Ubud so it is away from busy town centre. You can get free shuttle car and you can arrange a pick-up too.
I was impressed with gardens and rice fields, they were nicely maintained and lush. Pool was stunning too, very nicely and tastefully decorated, it had few sun-lounges around it,some table with chairs and awesome big day-bed. Make sure you spend at least one morning or afternoon there relaxing, swimming and reading your favourite book/magazine!
Reception staff was friendly and helpful, except they told us that it will take just an hour to reach airport, but in fact it take 1.5 hours (we were a bit stressed out thinking we might miss our flight).
Rooms were big and they had nice balcony, big storage/powder room and bathroom. They had modern flat-screen TV mounted to the wall, mosquito-repellent plug-ins (insects could easily get into your room through openings in your bathrooms and through sliding doors) and mosquito coils on the balcony. It had restaurant menu for room-service but prices were significantly more expensive that restaurant prices. The bedding was washed but grey and stained. I saw it in couple of other hotels and I believe Bali water is too hard and therefore detergents don't work properly to wash out stains.
Sleep quality was unfortunately poor. Mattress was extremely hard and we just couldn't get comfortable. Ducks, chickens and roosters were cute but some of them would start making noises from 1 am till 6 am. Small insects could easily get into our room despite the fact in was located on the second floor and would crawl on me at night. Air-conditioner filter was very dusty so every time we turned it on we would get respiratory problems.
Restaurant was hit and miss. Serving sizes were smaller than in other restaurant in Bali but prices were higher. Famous crispy duck was nice but nothing special, my local Chinese take-away does it better. Plus we got an upset tummy after eating it, maybe we weren't just used to that type of food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_TravelAddict_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Would like to express our utmost gratitude to the Tepi Sawah Resort and Staff. We stayed 3 nights (only wish it had been longer) 17th Sept - 20 Sept 2011. Our room (Batuaan Villa, reasonably priced), balcony, view, was superb. The meals and resort facilities excellent. The staff, Reception, breakfast, dinner and room staff, driver, and complimentary shuttle, were of the highest standard and excellent. We were unable to fault anything at Tepi Sawah and enjoyed our stay and our room was beautiful with lovely decor and clean with the spacious balcony and view of the paddy fields. We had a lovely relaxing time, the pools and gardens are amazing. Very peaceful. Would definitely recommend. Thank you to you all, such great staff and beautiful resort, and hope to return one day to your lovely resort and island of Bali.

Many thanks

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony second floor Batuaan room, with Lounge suite and coffee table, decor beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in an upstairs Batuan villa with a small balcony overlooking rice paddies. Large room generally clean, but the walls could do with a good scrub. Beautiful gardens with a great pool area. A new spa was being built while we were there, so massages etc were not available. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and more than adequate, but I wish they knew how to make toast! We thought the restaurant was delightful. The tables out by the rice paddies offered a unique and somewhat romantic experience. The food was delicious and the portions adequate.
We found Ubud itself rather disappointing as it is so busy and not the quiet relaxing place we read about before going. Tepi Sawah is about 2kms from the centre of Ubud along busy streets, but the hotel provides a free shuttle service until 10pm. The countryside around Ubud is beautiful, so if you like walking and/or cycling, you will still be in for a treat.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have views of the rice paddies, so choose carefully or ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Lovely big open setting. Salad Nicoise was poor - unrecognizable ground 'tuna', small quantity and little taste. Thai spaghetti was OK but small quantity and little flavor. Prices were OK though. Did not lodge there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed in a lovely villa at the end of the property, with a large balcony & sunbed overlooking the neighbouring rice fields. Room was clean and roomy, good aircon unit and a bath/shower. TV only had 4 stations and 2 weren't viewable due to the reception, but who wants to watch alot of TV on holiday.

The restaurant seemed to be very popular with locals and tourists, and their specialities of crispy duck and bbq ribs tasted good. The "western" breakfast options weren't too great, but the local options were nice.

Free internet & computer use is available at the reception area which proved to be very handy. Also the shuttle service was great - they only required 20 minutes notice and would drop you off/pick you up anywhere in Ubud. More flexible than other hotel shuttles who would have set times and drop off/pick up spots.

Staff were all very friendly and happy to answer any questions. Would happily stay at Tepi Sawah Villas again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#25 of 198 in Ubud
737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 198 in Ubud
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.3 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa

Property: Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Address: Jalan Raya Goa Gajah, Br Teges, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas is located south east of ubud, about 2 km to the citi center, and 27 km from the international Denpasar Ngurah Rai Airport.25 units exclusive luxury villas, mix design of traditional with modern touch facing to the rice field and beautiful tropical garden view.Free shuttle service to ubud citi center at anytime from 9am until 10pm, provide you with 2 public big swimming pool, arts gallery, spa, and the most famous restaurant of Bebek Tepi Sawah Restaurant and the Crispy Duck menu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepi Sawah Villas Hotel Ubud
Tepi Sawah Villas And Spa
Tepi Sawah Hotel
Tepi Sawah Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing