We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for honeymooners!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at Maya Ubud for 4 nights at the tail end of our honeymoon trip to Bali and Lombok, Indonesia. While the hotel is one of the larger ones in Ubud, the staff consistently did a very good job of making us feel like we were one of the only couples staying there. The fact that the front desk remembered our names throughout our stay was very impressive! We stayed in villa #407, which was very nicely appointed with both a touch of modern flair and classic Balinese style. The only potential disadvantage to having a "garden view villa" is that there wasn't much of a view at all, and bugs often made their way into the villa. However, the hotel does fog for mosquitoes on a weekly basis, and housekeeping did a good job of making sure our villa was as clean as possible. The hotel is surrounded by lush jungle though so the bugs are kind of expected, especially in a villa.

From the moment we stepped on the grounds of Maya Ubud, the staff catered to our every need and wish with a smile. We also partook in much of the hotel's offerings, including its Balinese cooking class (which we highly recommend), arranging a tour of the area by private car (our driver whose name escapes my memory was amazing), and arranging for a massage at Maya Ubud's award-winning spa. The only other potential downfall was that the restaurant was very expensive; we did try the wood-fired pizzas at the bar which were both reasonably priced and delicious tasting, and the hotel's buffet breakfast each morning was also very good. The bar does have a happy hour from 6-8 PM and the drinks become a little more reasonably priced during that time frame.

While located a bit more on the outskirts of Ubud Center, Maya Ubud also runs a complimentary hourly shuttle bus service to the center of town. We used the shuttle quite a bit, but it does stop operating at 5 PM, meaning that we often had to take taxi cabs back to the hotel late at night.

Our expectations of Maya Ubud were consistently exceeded throughout our stay, and we would recommend it to anyone! However, for honeymooners we would recommend a pool villa because it seems those have a better view. Our garden view villa was a little more isolated than the pool villas, which seemed to be built much closer together, so ours was good for privacy.

Room Tip: Garden view villas, while ours (villa #407) specifically lacked much of a view at all, appear to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skigal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Let me start by telling you that all the awards in the reception area are true !!!! The level of service of this hotel is off the books.
First the room, or better the villa. We had a private pool villa that was amazing. We arrived at the hotel late evening so we didn't quite grasp the beauty of this place. We woke up at 6 am with music from a temple, it was a ceremony in the village below us, the sun was rising so there was a mist and with the music, the mist and the jungle view, it felt like we were on a magic story:)
The private pool and the outdoor shower were a great addition to the villa. I still regret that we didn't try the bath menu in that beautiful sunken bathtub, as it looked great.
The breakfast had a great variety of food and drinks. The transfers to Ubud was reliable and also the service for calling a transfer from any restaurant was amazing. The standard fee was 50000 so no worry about being about outside of the city.
The also took a bicking trip into the village, the guide was amazing and the whole experience was worth the 25 usd/person for 3 hours
I've enjoyed this hotel and it was a great experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was told that the word "Maya" means invisible in Bahasa Indonesia - but this is anything but the case! The Maya Ubud is a beautiful and comfortable hotel. I stayed in a room in the building -large, well-equipped bedroom and bathroom. There are numerous chalet rooms which I did not see. The grounds are huge and incredible with acres of lush vegetation and if one is energetic, there is a path leading to the river far below. The food served for lunch and dinner was truly excellent - my compliments to the chef!
An over-all wonderful experience and a hotel which I won't forget!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It has been 21 years since we have been to Bali and Pam had her first trip there in 1975.
Bali has certainly changed.
We booked for four nights at Maya Resort before heading to Seminyak.
We chose to stay at Ubud and, in particular, Maya at the beginning of our holiday with the sole purpose of relaxing.
We both work, together, in a stressful business, being our own legal practice in the suburbs of Melbourne, Australia.
Upon arrival, we had the usual welcome and were then taken, by golf cart, to the garden villa we had booked. We left it too late in booking to get a pool villa but decided we needed some time sitting around a pool with others to enjoy a holiday in the sun.
Our time at both pools at Maya; walking around the grounds, (although I did find the nature walk a problem as I have had two hip replacements and the lack of handrails on moss covered steps stopped me there); breakfast at tables overlooking the jungle and the incredibly friendly staff were everything that could perfect the word 'relaxation'.
The villa was not large but was incredibly comfortable and totally private.
In the four days we spent at Ubud, we went into the town on one day for shopping and lunch, again in the evening for dinner on another day and, also, a next day trip with a driver to Kintimani.
Knowing that we were heading to the shops and restaurants at Seminyak, we spent the rest of the time at Maya with dinner on one night by room service, after cocktail hour in the bar and, on two nights, just eating in the bar during and after cocktail hour chatting with who, in effect, was our personal waiter as well as other guests.
Our villa overlooked the rice paddies where there was always some activity, from workers waving away birds in the morning, to others thrashing rice husks during the day. This was mixed with wandering through the grounds of Maya chatting occasionally to the groundsmen who, again, were incredibly friendly and welcoming as were all of the Maya staff especially the pool keeper at the lower pool and the breakfast chefs and waiters - top quality service.
We read the offers for cooking classes, bike rides through the paddy fields etc. and intended to do these but just got caught up with enjoying the experience at Maya. Maybe next time.
We achieved our main goal of relaxing, before heading off to Seminyak.
Would we stay again at Maya Resort - absolutely, yes.

John & Pam Willis
Beaumaris,
Victoria,
Australia

Room Tip: Choose a garden villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willisfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My partner & I travelled to Bali to get married. We stayed here prior to our wedding for 3 nights in a superior room. The surroundings were beautiful & like a few other reviews mentioned the weather is a little cooler & cloudier in the mountain area. This did not spoil our enjoyment of the area. The room was lovely & spacious & fresh fruit & drinking water was provided as a courteous touch along with various toiletries in the bathroom. We enjoyed the extensive breakfast selection & the complimentary afternoon tea on the terrace. All the staff were lovely & friendly & free transport is provided into Ubud on a regular basis, but bear in mind the last returning bus is 17:20. The area is perfect for relaxing & the peace & quiet in beautiful surroundings breath taking. My only criticism would be that the restaurant was quite expensive (not compared to home) as were the speciality evenings & as there is no where to walk to on an evening we felt the hotel had the monopoly on a captured audience. Saying that you could travel into Ubud & get a taxi back if you so wished. Overall a really pretty picturesque & relaxing romantic start to our married life.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Spa Reception Pavilion is nestled in an ideally pastoral setting, surrounded by an eyeful of lush trees and flowers. The Ayung River flows down under, gurgling all the time to the great joy of human ears. Sitting upon the wood-framed sofa with a blue-and-green tinted cushion, your eyes savor a divine restaurant under which the renowned Relaxation Pool lies there, as perfectly as you can imagine. It is a scene of peace, joy and inspiration.

The package I chose was named “Summer Escape”, starting with a 60-minute full body massage of Balinese style and ending with a rejuvenating floral bath. All I can say is wonderful, gorgeous and soul-soothing. The spa pavilion features an open-air design, and the air in mid-September is so refreshingly cool. Bird chirping, the river singing, trees swaying, wind soothing, and the therapist working wonders on your fatigued body parts like a magician. To top it off, the floral bath was such a delight since you have a petal-covered tub of sea-salt-enriched water to yourself. Those 30 minutes were so tranquil and mind-blowing, as I could tell.

The Maya Ubud is visually stunning in landscaping and greenery. It covers a vast hilly lot of land and hosts scores of pretty villas, each embosomed in beauteous trees and flowers. The path leading from the Lobby to the Spa Reception is absolutely worthy of foot walk, since your mind will be much pleased by the heavenly grandeur of this paradise of greenery.

I booked a re-visit immediately after the end of my first massage here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

this is our first visit to Ubud, Bali. surely Ubud has cooler climate compared to the beach areas. on the way to Maya Ubud you will pass thru all those green sceeneries, the paddy fields and a lot of gallery.

upon arrival in the resort, we were amazed how quiet it is, we could here the wind blowing and the birds chirping. we stayed in the a pool villa, and check in was swift. we were then escorted to our villa.

the villas themselves has 2 choices, overlooking the paddy fields, or the river. our villa faced the river (though we could not see it). the pool itself is not a swimming pool, but more like a plunge pool to cool down on a hot sunny day. the room was reasonable in size, and bathroom was nicely designed.

you must try the SPA , and it is every penny worth spending. my wife took a 120 minutes package and she definitely loved it. the SPA itself is located high on the cliff overlooking the Petanu river, and you could hear the waterfall and the birds singing during the treatment.

the Resort premises is huge.... and Green.....

The YOGA session is not to be missed, and they have the session every morning from 7am for about 1-1.5 hours or so. it really did give a peace of mind and tranquility.

one downside though, is the dinner buffet. it did not have much variaties for the price. However Breakfast is lovely, and we could have any coffee/ tea we wanted.

about location, the hotel is very strategically located. it serves a shuttle bus, Every hour from the resort to Ubud main area. distance is only about 7-10 mins by bus and they also have return shuttle bus from Ubud area to the Hotel, but keep in mind they only operate until 5 or 6 PM.

however if you do need a taxi, the hotel can provide for Rp 50,000.00 (USD 5) which is very cheap. There are a lot of restaurants and shops in Ubud and you will need a whole day for just strolling in the main Ubud area. dont forget to pay visit to the famous MONKEY FOREST.

Overall we love this resort very much and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: pool villa will be nice, but a bit expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 196 in Ubud
1,061 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 196 in Ubud
1,317 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 196 in Ubud
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Ubud Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Gunung Sari, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range: $177 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maya Ubud Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort located in the central of Bali, between the river valley and rice terraces of Ubud. Rooms and villas with all the comfort and conveniences you would expect. An ideal choice for those looking for luxurious facilities, peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings with personalized service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maya Ubud Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Ubud Hotel Ubud
Maya Ubud Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing