We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A haven in the jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for a week with our two little boys (9 & 3). From the moment we arrived we were blown away. The resort is gorgeous, we found the staff always helpful and friendly and the location stunning. There are two pools, the kids are only allowed in one, which is fine, its big enough. There's lots of space for them to run around and my husband and I enjoyed taking turns to visit the spa and the adults only spa pool. The food was good, although very western. We also had a great driver who took us to a bunch of places. It's worth staying in one of the villas. Our villa was beautiful and very clean.
The only thing we found disappointing on our trip was the Ubud town centre, which was really just set up for tourists, it was hard to get a sense of the real Bali.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oms04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,627
    346
    91
    17
    9
See reviews for
343
1,216
83
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Let me say when we booked this and arrived for three days its looked great and as you approach the reception is all that you think its going to be. The reception staff were polite but to the point. We were shown to our paid for upgraded room which over looked the paddy fields. it was a nice room but had a massive stain on the floor around the waste bin area. this looked like a tea stain that had not been cleaned up. upon opening the main curtains there was a used plaster on the floor. THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A 5 STAR. Speaking to reception and a flip of the hand we were informed it would be cleaned. NO apologies made.
The grounds the hotel is set in a great and neat. As you walk down the hill away from the reception the villas and on either side looking over the valley or the paddy fields. As you get to the far end you can either walk down many steps or take the lift to the second pool in the valley near to the stream. This is also where the spa is.
The infinity pool near to the reception looks great and could be if the hotel fixed certain things like a lot of loose pool tiles which could and did cut people. ants ants and more ants.
The breakfast was great and there was a large amount of choice. The evening meal choice was not great as it was mostly European and we came to Bali for the local food. get a taxi into UBUD and try the local places they are cheap and great.
For two days we were there they were chopping trees down with a chainsaw from 8am to 5 pm so not a great relaxing finish to the holiday we had paid for or expected. Many people complained to reception and all they got was a sorry and shrug of the shoulders.
Would i stay here again. Not on your nelly.

Room Tip: Get a villa for the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

we stayed her for six nights in June 13 on honeymoon. really clean well kept hotel in an amazing setting, the grounds are amazing and it was worth while taking a walk through them.. we stayed in a superior room but all through the grounds are garden and pool villas which look unbelievable. we made use of the hotel spa which was very expensive and there are many cheaper alternatives in ubud. this also the case for food and drink. the restaurants in ubud are brilliant and a lot cheaper. the staff here could not have been more attentive and were very pleasant and helpful. the breakfast here is fantastic and has everything to cater for all tastes. one point to note is that if you are looking for nightlife or entertainment this is not the place for you. most evenings the bar was cleared by half 10. wifi around the pool area could be improved but im being picky!

Room Tip: upgrade to villas if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f1334602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

As soon as we got here this place smacked of a honeymoon resort, and sure enough there were lots of couples here. That in itself isn't a problem but it isn't really set up for larger groups. we were a family travelling with adult children. Although the poolvillas were nice, they had no outlook and felt quite hemmed in. Also other than for meals, there was nowhere we could be together when at the hotel. The pool villas were too small to seat us all; if you weren't at the pool by 8am you had no chance of getting a lounger. That was my biggest gripe. There seemed to be a total of about 40 loungers at the 2 pools, only a small proportion of which were ever in the sun. Not a great start if, as we were, you are looking for some time to relax by the pool. Also they kept changing the time of the yoga class in the morning without telling us-although the teacher was so awful it was hardly worth the bother. The food was good and the staff friendly, but i wouldn't bother again. It could have been a resort anywhere in the world. Lots of things forgotten by housekeeping-3 calls to get a kimono, 4 to get ice and the promised mosquito coils didn't arrive so I was left itching for days....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This resort is one of the best I have stayed with fantastic grounds and very well presented rooms. When we initially arrived we were given a ground floor room witha small garden however it had no view which at this price I would have expected. The management was very helpfull and moved us immediately to a similar sized room with a far better outlook. Food was of a very high calibre and the offer of free afternoon tea was well received. The resort is a reasonable distance from Ubud so it is unlikely that you would walk to the town. Taxi fare is $5.00.
Ubud is situated about 2 hours drive from the airport and about 1.5 hours from Seminyak. The climate is pleasant in July with less heat and humidity than the coast.

Room Tip: Try to get a non ground floor room facing the pool side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJack53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I've travelled a decent amount, and can honestly say that my Pool Villa at this resort was the stand out in accommodation.

The resort is impeccably planned - from the gorgeous infinity pool, perfectly manicured gardens to the stunning Day Spa by the river.

Whether you are honey mooning or traveling solo and want to treat yourself, you can't go past the Maya for class, service and tranquility.

Pay extra for a villa tho, it's not that much more as the standard rooms are a little basic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spicy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here in Ubud for 3 nights. Grounds were very scenic, including forest and a waterfall. I imagine its great for families with children as you can literally never leave the grounds if you want as there is much they can offer on premise including gym, tennis, spa, kids classes, yoga, pools, etc. For a traveler who prefers a smaller / more personal feel, I’d recommend other locations in Bali.
We stayed in a bungalow suite which was spacious and nice though needed more natural light.
Also, note that all the activities they can arrange out of the hotel – biking, cooking class, treks – can be arranged outside of the hotel for about 1/3 the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.0 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Ubud Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Property: Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Gunung Sari, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maya Ubud Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort located in the central of Bali, between the river valley and rice terraces of Ubud. Rooms and villas with all the comfort and conveniences you would expect. An ideal choice for those looking for luxurious facilities, peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings with personalized service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Ubud Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Ubud Resort And Spa
Maya Ubud Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing