We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,450)
Filter reviews
2,450 results
Traveler rating
1,924
392
102
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,924
392
102
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature walkthe rivergarden villaour honeymoonlower poolplunge poolmain restaurantmorning yogaevery hourafternoon teasuperior roomheaven on earthrice fieldsshuttle buscooking classoutdoor showershuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
1,178 - 1,183 of 2,450 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We took the 8 day spiritual package at the Maya Ubud and it was everything we hoped for and more. One to one yoga sessions in the pavillion by the river,spa treatments and selected cultural and spiritual visits were exactly what we wanted. More than anything knowing what we were doing before we arrived so not having to plan/think about it again, meant we could have the rest we needed. The resort itself is quite beautiful - green and lush and wonderfully laid out so that you never feel there are many other people there - lots of space in which to relax. The staff were attentive but not intrusive - the breakfast was incredible and meals we had there were excellent. Our villa with plunge pool was a true luxury retreat - comfortable, spacious and with incredible views. This was the holiday of a lifetime for us!

Room Tip: We felt the extra cost of the deluxe pool villa was worth it for a truly relaxing private holiday retreat
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a real thrill to arrive at such a beautiful retreat set in the most glorious gardens. We arrived too early for our room to be ready but this was not a problem. We were warmly welcomed and invited to enjoy looking around and may be have lunch. We walked through the grounds to the end where you look down at the river and the River Cafe. We were quite speechless with the natural beauty in which we were surrounded. Our first meal was delicious on the verandah of the garden restaurant, what a view, it was like being in a giant treehouse! There is a regular free transport into Ubud, so we planned to explore Ubud on our first evening. We enjoyed the fun hustle and bustle of the small town, and found quite moments in the antique shops. We bought tickets for the Legang Balinese Dancing and ate at a pleasant restaurant on the street which was full of tourists. We felt this was a safe choice, but this was not be the case sadly.
The Dancing was a real thrill in such a spectacular setting within the Palace grounds and was much enjoyed by all. Safe taxi drive home and a good night.
Next day we planned a gentle day to soak up our glorious surroundings, after an excellent breakfast with an amazing choice, we spent the late morning and afternoon at the River Cafe. We cheated and went down in the lift, to the most glorious setting, and relaxed by the pool. We enjoyed a fruit drink for lunch, we returned to our rooms not feeling too well.
My wife became frighteningly unwell and I went to reception for some help, they immediately called a doctor who came within half an hour. He was very good indeed providing medication straight away. The staff at the Maya who became involved continued to give us extremely kind, warm and sincere help, the Room Service providing dry white bread and banana late at night which was all she managed to eat until we arrived back in New Zealand.
Our last afternoon she was determined to see something, we had a good driver from the hotel who took us to three museums of art which we appreciated and enjoyed very much the architecture and settings of each place. We drove to the Rice Paddies which is an incredible view of the ancient rice paddie terraces. Our last stop was the village of Petulu where the Herons and Egrets come back to roost every night, as one of our interests is Ornithology.
We left the hotel at 4.00am and the kindness of our Waitress "Dewi" to arrange Breakfast Boxes for us to take with us with the Dry bread, Banana and Guava was incredible. The reception who had helped so kindly with the Doctor were so kind in following through with the Breakfast Boxes for us. What a special special place and one we would truly like to return to.

Room Tip: We so loved the whole resort but we imagine that a superior garden villa would be the tops!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is really amazing. We booked the deluxe pool villa and were upgraded to a duplex pool villa with a private swimming pool and an outdoor jacuzzi, wich was pure heaven.
The service was espectacular and the staff very helpful. We wanted to see the rice field terraces and the surronding vilages and the hotel provided a private car with driver immmediately for a reazonable price, witch was great.
It also provides a free shuttle service to Ubud.
The facilities are above expectations, it has free wi-fi , gorgeous grounds in natural setting and impeccable service. I truly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria2010Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My hubby and I had a short weekend stay @ the resort. The spa was the reason for our resort choice. It really exceeded my expectation. This is my first spa visit to a spa set amidst a river setting and the ambience/atmosphere was great. I loved spas set in natural environment setting, it really enhances the spa experience.

The couple spa villa was spacious, set in a Balinese villa with high ceiling, open yet private, with a small river running beside it. The feeling of having a massage with the sound of rushing river waters is absolutely therapeutic. The masseurs were also very skillful. We took up the spa package with came with a couple massage/scrub and a 2 course dinner - very value for money for such an excellent spa/location.

We stayed in a deluxe room. The resort setting is nice, with lush spacious greenery and rice field views from our room. However, I feel the rooms are overpriced, as they look very aged, the floor tiles were marred and furniture look really jaded. The breakfast buffet selection was also very minimal, and surprisingly, not much Asian selections - food was mediocre.

Overall, would still recommend the resort for those who enjoy spa treatments as it's really a unique river spa experience. Best spa I enjoy (better than Andaman @ Langkawi, my next favourite).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluewaterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place is amazing.
We were upgraded to a superior garden villa... which was pure heaven. It was very tranquil and relaxing experience. The villa was so perfect and charming. I truly loved the sunk-in tub and the very comfortable outside seating.
The inside/outside bar was great. The staff knows how to serve very well.
The Garden Cafe was amazing! I can't decide if I liked the atmosphere or the food quality better.
The Spa was very nice the "Tree-House" like treatment rooms were unique and beautiful.
I can not wait to return!

Room Tip: The villas are a special treat!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifuhadwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews