We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Ubud, friendly and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiing Gading Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiing Gading Bungalows
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in Ubud, friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The owner runs a cookery class and her skill at cooking Indonesian, Asian and Western food is amazing - definitely worth enjoying dinner there at least one night than just having the complementary breakfast. The location is good and only 10 minute walk from the shops / bars. The rooms are comfortable and clean and excellent value. The staff are friendly and helpful. Free welcome drink, tea, breakfast were provided as well as a slice of cake when I left ! :P

A tip for Ubud and no reflection on Tiing Gading - Ubud get's very quiet after midnight and I got chased by some dogs walking home one night. This could happen wherever you are staying as it was on one of the main roads. Advice: if you are going to go out late, get dog repellent spray !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomsksquidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My first trip to Bali and I stayed at Tiing Gading Bungalows. The owners and staff are gracious, kind, warm, and welcoming. They were a huge part of my overall enjoyment in Bali. The rooms were very clean and offered a view of the beautiful gardens and swimming pool. We ate at some of the restaurants in Ubud and I have to say my favorite and most delicious meals were made at Tiing Gading. Siti is an outstanding cook, and I would highly recommend taking one of her cooking classes. You will not regret it. Outstanding hotel for reasonable price. You will be well taken care of here. I miss waking up every morning to the chorus of nature, and a carafe of hot tea waiting for me on my balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamP488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just picture ... sitting out on your deck enjoying the early morning tropical bird calls and a tray with a thermos of hot tea and fresh lime arrives to gently nourish you into the day. A leisurely breakfast in the open-air dining room awaits with a menu full of local choices. Hmmm... should I have the "to die for" banana pancake today? Or the exotic black rice pudding? Spicy mie goreng? Or am I missing home and want fresh scrambled eggs with home made bread? No matter the choice, the breakfast is absolutely "delish" and is served with fresh squeezed juice and hot Balinese coffee or tea.

Dinners were equally sumptuous and the best that I had anywhere in Ubud. By the end of my two week stay I was ready to move in permanently. The attention of the owners, Siti and Allan were non-stop and their staff were all very helpful, always smiling, always available. Both the owners are amazing cooks. Allan even went so far as to bake an amazing Birthday cake for one of our group.

Cooking lessons with Siti proved to be one of the BEST Balinese cultural experiences we had and we now know how to cook a very mean chicken green curry and nasi goreng.

The experience at Tiing Gading is very much a "Personal" one. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. You are within a reasonable walk of Monkey Forest and the main shopping streets of Ubud, but beware, the Ubud streets are not easy walking with their uneven pavements and dangerous holes. Taxis make the journey easy and are inexpensive.

Refreshing afternoon dips in the pool are heaven in the Ubud heat. A cold beer or juice is always available as is FREE drinking water. You need only refill your bottle. Tips and advice on what to do and see are always available.

This is not a "posh" place. At Tiing Gading you leave those kinds of expectations behind and instead bathe in the richness of Balinese culture, food, friendship and hospitality. Your well being and safety are paramount. You are nestled in comfort and your Balinese cottage begins to feel like home as you become part of this Balinese family. This is the kind of place a good, world traveler really enjoys.

You are well cared for from the moment you arrive until you finally (regrettably!) depart.( I'm definitely coming back!)

And yes, the neighborhood cocks do crow early in the morning and yes, they may wake you ... just in time for that hot thermos of tea. It's all part of the local, cultural experience.

Wonderful value for the money ... you don't easily find this kind of complete hospitality out there in the travel world today.

Room Tip: Upper rooms ... sitting out on the deck is lovely!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Gibsonspeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

One of the best hotels we stayed in in Indonesia and in Asia in general. It consists of two-storeyed cottages standing in a beautiful tropical garden. The rooms are large and beautifully adorned in the traditional Balinese style. They have all you need (ac, hot water, free wi-fi, a fridge even, a large balcony with armchairs, a good bed) and are furnished with an extreme attention to detail and to guests' comfort, which is very appealing and touching. The lady who met us was very welcoming and friendly, and the breakfast she made was filling and delicious. It is a bit noisy during the night (on account of roosters and frogs) but I used my earplugs and slept like a baby. I wish I could spend more time in this lovely place and cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Such a welcome change from busy commercial hotels of Kuta and Seminyak! The rooms were cool, traditional and very clean, but the best and most memorable thing about Ting Gading was the service - all the small things, welcome drink on arrival, a hot thermos of tea outside your room very early every morning, a mosquito coil lit outside your room at 5pm... You just didn't have to ask for anything!
It's not situated in the heart of Ubud, but everything is still a walkable distance, including some of the better hidden local restaurants.
We did a cooking class with Sitty, an amazing experience, we cooked 6 or 7 things, we were so full we couldn't fit in dessert so she let us do it the next morning!
Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Slight disappointment with Tiing Gading, we decided to stay here after seeing reveiws on trip advisor.
I'm afraid it didn't meet our expectations.
Firstly we got a great deal on two nights stay so cannot complain about that!
& the lady that saw us to our room was the loveliest.
The room was very traditional with beautiful wood carved doors & surrounding nature! Felt quite private.
Breakfast was good too.
So the disappointment came with the pool cleanliness,which we did not even entertain & sun lounges are not mobile & covered in ants.
You need a pool in ubud as you are not close to a beach.
The walk was quite far to the main strip for places to eat & very dark walking back in the evening.
So location wasn't great.
We also woke in the night to find our room had been invaded by giant ants which had come in from the drain in the bathroom!i have never seen so many!!This was not a pleasant experience & ment we did not sleep well this night!
The cockerels next door started calling as early as 3am in the morning sometimes so would avoid If a light sleeper!
But I surpose all part of the experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel-Cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed in Tiing Gading Bungalows for 6 days/5 nights in august 2012. Very nice small hotel for reasonable prices. Well, if you are used to stay in top-level resorts, this is definitely not your choice (i agree that all luxury amenities have their price), but if you are looking for something quiet and home-like feeling, this is it. Very clean (roomservice every day in the morning), tea and drinking water facilities free of charge, and the best authentic indonesian food in Ubud. But who makes the whole place so special is the proprietor, Siti. She really does her best to make the guests feel like home and she works hard for that.
The place is very small and cozy. I recommend to book the second floor room just near the reception - other rooms sometimes have problems with water pressure. And actually this is the only small minus about this home-like hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celtmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
0.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Inn
Ubud Inn
#162 of 192 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oka Kartini Bungalow
Oka Kartini Bungalow
#176 of 192 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desak Putu Putera Homestay
0.0 mi away
Desak Putu Putra Hidden Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiing Gading Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiing Gading Bungalows

Property: Tiing Gading Bungalows
Address: Tebesaya, Peliatan, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Peliatan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small secluded resort close to the main road of Ubud. Meticulously clean Rooms are equipped with a/c noiseless ceiling fans, bathroom, refrigerator, original art, large balcony, swimming pool, excellent Indonesian restaurant, cooking lessons, privately conducted tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tiing Gading Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiing Gading Bungalows Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing