We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sense of Solace in between the hustle and bustle of Ubud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiing Gading Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiing Gading Bungalows
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Sense of Solace in between the hustle and bustle of Ubud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I booked my room online from Canada and did not know what to expect. However, the quick replies from Allan and Siti reassured me that all will be well. My numerous confirmations as the days got closer had a turnaround reply of less than a day. Marvelous communication!
When we arrived at Ngurah Rai airport in the evening, we were promptly greeted by our driver; as pre-arranged with Siti. Once we got to Tiing Gading at around 9pm, Allan, Siti, and Wayan were waiting for us and we began to chat about our travels so far.
The Bungalows are cute and were akin to what many Balinese villas look like. The bed was comfortable and the washroom was clean and functional. There might be some pressure issues with the shower - a minor issue considering all the pluses. As it was a bit gray during the 3 days my family and I were there, we did not get a chance to try out the swimming pool. It did look like a very welcoming area for hot Bali days.
Heading into town was very easy. A quick walk and my family and I were in the hub of Ubud. Do go and see at least 1 of the Legong, Barong, Kecak, Wayang Kulit performances in town. All of the performance places are no more than a 20min walk from Tiing Gading. If there were any mobility issues, Siti would gladly arrange transportation. She had also arranged our short day trip out to Kintamani and it was quite exceptional. Definitely worth it, especially the lunch at the rice fields.
Wayan and the rest of Siti's helpers were none short of awesome - always a smile. Definitely try the Mee Goreng with a lime juice from the kitchen - Some of the best cooking I had in Bali.
For anyone that is looking for 5-star out of this world luxury, you've not found it. However for one that wants a true Balinese/Indonesian experience with great home comforts and great service, Tiing Gading is the place! Thanks Siti, Allan, Wayan et al.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Tiing Gading was a great little surprise. We were greeted with a cold drink and sat down immediately with the owners to ask questions about our stay in Ubud. They answered all of our questions and introduced us to the resident monkey. Our bungalows were adorable, clean, with a lovely view. We had hot tea prepared for us daily on our balcony and enjoyed an excellent breakfast (all included) in the very reasonable price. Alan and Siti were very helpful and accomodating. We ate great Indonesian food at the restuarant and were frequently served delicious appetizers throughout the week as we congregated in the commmon area. The location is the best- off the BUSY, and I mean busy main streets of Ubud, but only a 10 minute walk to the main areas. The showers can use a little updating, but that is my only negative. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripster60622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

I had a great time at Tiing Gading. The atmosphere is magic, the bungalows are set in the middle of the forest, surrounded by birds and butterflies. You get your breakfast outside your room and can just chill out. It is really intimate and cosy. Allan, the owner, is lovely and friendly, and very happy to share his best tips on Ubud.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Tiing Gading is a small friendly place with neat bungalows. You can have your tea or meals looking out into the treetops or in their excellent restaurant. We enjoyed our conversations with Allan and Siti so much. They introduced us to markets, shops, special dishes and took us several special places.

We won't forget our time with them or the Bali they showed us. Other guests had great cooking lesson with Siti and massages in the Spa she recommended. The Monkey Forest is nearby as well as the Yoga Barn and many restaurants, shops etc. Both Allan and Siti prepare fabulous food from traditional Indonesian and Balinese cooking, to Montreal bagels, and apple crumble with homemade crystalized ginger. They also make an excellent gin and tonic! All in all, a great place to stay while visiting Bali.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

magic - you are coughing, a pot of ginger tea arrives at your room. It's raining- there's an umbrella outside. Fancy a bike ride or a motorbike for the day? You have barely though of it and it appears. You want a cup of tea late in the evening? Oh yes says the girl and one arrives a few moments later. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Allan, his calm and friendly wife Siti and their staff. Lush gardens - good food, a pool, a characterful monkey, It goes without saying that it's clean and comfortable. Felt like going home....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suefeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armidale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

I stayed here recently with some friends and you couldn't ask for a more hospitable hosts than Allan and Siti...they go above and beyond to help you. Siti also a great cook.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Very nice place with lovely and helpful owners, Alan and Siti are super, they answer all my questions and help me plan the rest of my Bali trip. The room are comfortable and clean, the staff is efficient and friendly. The food is excellent. I tried the Rikstaffel with some friends, a real feast for not much. Only 10 minutes walk to the famous Dirty Duck restaurant in Ubud and 15 minutes walk to the action of Ubud.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jipi0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
0.1 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
0.5 mi away
Ubud Inn
Ubud Inn
#165 of 193 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oka Kartini Bungalow
Oka Kartini Bungalow
#177 of 193 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santana Bali Home Stay
0.1 mi away
Desak Putu Putera Homestay
0.0 mi away
Desak Putu Putra Hidden Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiing Gading Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiing Gading Bungalows

Property: Tiing Gading Bungalows
Address: Tebesaya, Peliatan, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Peliatan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small secluded resort close to the main road of Ubud. Meticulously clean Rooms are equipped with a/c noiseless ceiling fans, bathroom, refrigerator, original art, large balcony, swimming pool, excellent Indonesian restaurant, cooking lessons, privately conducted tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tiing Gading Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiing Gading Bungalows Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing