We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel - Excellent location - Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Myself & my husband have just spent a most enjoyable 3 days at the East Sussex National hotel. The hotel and facilities far exceeded our expectations, the rooms are large and the decor is lovely, the beds are so comfy & spacious. The bathrooms have both a bath and walk in shower and are also very spacious. The rooms are sound proofed so it is very quiet, you can't here any outside noise even when next to the golf clubhouse and golf buggy station. The views from the windows have a lovely view of the golf course and countryside with various wildlife showing themselves occassionally. The staff were extremely friendly & efficient even when busy, Carlos gave us brilliant service in the bar lounge and was very friendly and attentive. Breakfast service was also good, Lorraine gave excellent service even when everyone in the hotel seemed to come down to breakfast at the same time! Both breakfast and evening meal were delicious, breakfast was buffet style with a choice of traditional English or Continental, plenty of choice was provided. The evening bar meals were also of a high standard and a good portion size. We also tried afternoon tea with fruit scones, clotted cream & strawberry jam, they were gorgeous! Compliments to the chef for all the meals we enjoyed, they were great. The hotel reception area is very attractive and the staff are very welcoming & approachable. During our stay we used the swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna which were all very clean and well kept as was the whole hotel and grounds. The hotel is a good base for visiting Lewes, Brighton & Eastbourne. If you are looking for a relaxing break you couldn't find better than the East Sussex National! We will definitely be back..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyQ064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

BRILLIANT and thank you so much for a great review. I will ensure that all your comments are passed to the team whom i am positive will be delighted.

Yes i totally agree we are an ideal location for visiting, Brighton, Lewes and Eastbourne and with the beauty of the facilities to ensure it is a totaly relaxed enviroment.

We do hope that you visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our party of 12 were impressed by the quality of the hotel and it's golf courses. What really set the resort aside from others that we have stayed at was the attitude of the staff. They were very polite and helpful. This helpfulness started from the moment we arrived until the time we departed. Well done to them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Great Review

Many thanks it is so lovely to read comments not just about the hotel and golf but the team, they will be delighted to read your comments

Once again Thank you and we look forward to bing of service again to you in the near future

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

East Sussex National is a beautiful facility located in Southern England. The hotel facilities are fantastic especially for the price. Rooms are very large for Europe (American size rooms). The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. I had to check out before the kitchen was open for breakfast. The front office staff was kind enough to bring me some fruit and make some coffee for me while I waited for the cab. That was pretty much par for the course for this very friendly and affordably priced resort. By the way, the golf course is fantastic as well.

Room Tip: It is only two stories and very long. It's a long walk down the hall depending on where your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Great Review

I am so pleased when our guests take the time out of there busy schedules to give us great feedback on our facilities as without constructive feedback we are unable to monitor and strive to maintain our standards

The hotel is split on three levels and sometimes i agree the corridors can seem a little long however all our rooms have fantastic golf course views so hopefully what can seem a long walk is well worth it

We do hope that you will visit us again soon and we lookforward to being of service to you

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed on business for two nights in July 2013. The location was lovely with views across the South Downs. It was nice to be able to use the onsite gym and spa facilities after a long train journey. The room I stayed in was clean, spacious and modern as you would expect given the age of the venue.

Business conference facilitates were pretty standard as you would expect. I have seen the food come under criticism in previous reviews but from what we tasted over two nights it seems to have improved. Not as spectacular as a top restaurant but perfectly enjoyable. Breakfast had the standard choice of hot and cold fare. If you still want to eat our you could always check out Brighton which is a short car journey down the road.

Overall a very pleasant place to do business. Bring your golf clubs if you are into that kind of thing!

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room. Try and get one overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Lovely Review Thank you

I am so pleased to read that your stay with us and hopefully when you are next on a business trip we will be your first choice

Regarding your room tip, All our rooms face the golf course, maybe when you stay with us agin you request a balcony room as it is so relaxing after a long journey to sit back on the balcony and appreciate the great views

Look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we went to a friend's wedding in the area. The service was fantastic from the start as they confirmed that we could use the health club changing room to get ready for the wedding before our room was ready. The changing rooms were top of the range and so it was easy to get ready. The lady behind reception also arranged a taxi for us to take us to the wedding and sorted out our bags so that when we came back late at night they were in the room ready for us.

When I booked I got the last twin room and put a note asking if they could switch us to a double if available and were delighted that they managed to do that. The rooms themselves have been recently refurbished but the decor is a bit naff. However they are quiet and huge, the bed is huge and we had a balcony with a beautiful view. That was particularly welcome with the good weather this weekend. The bathroom deserves special mention as like everything else, it is huge! It has a stylish clean bath as well as a walk in powerful shower.

Breakfast in the morning finished a bit early (10am) for a Sunday, after a few drinks at the wedding the night before. It was very hectic and disorganised, which didn't help those of a delicate disposition! Food was standard hotel breakfast.

We were able to use the pool even after we checked out and would recommend it. A very quiet, clean, beautiful pool at a good temperature, complete with jacuzzi.

The hotel itself feels corporate and soulless but the service, bathroom and swimming pool make it worth the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 83blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes our bathrooms are huge and the showers are the best. Having a balcony room certainly adds to experience especially when all the rooms look out onto the golf course. I am sorry that you felt breakfast was a little hectic and please be assured I will speak to the relevant departments

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the East Sussex National in April 2013 and it couldn’t have been a more perfect day. As well as being a stunning, spacious and versatile venue with beautiful countryside views, the food was excellent and the service incredible! Their weddings co-ordinator Charlie could not have been more helpful and accommodating during the planning stages - and she bent over backwards to ensure that every little detail was taken care of on the day. All of the duty managers we dealt with in the lead up to the wedding and on the day itself were extremely professional and helpful and they served our 170 plus guests superbly and efficiently. Not only did we have a perfect wedding day, followed by amazing memories and photographs on site, but many of our guests commented on how wonderful the venue and staff were. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue for weddings, functions and events, as well as for a lovely country break or weekend away. Some of our guests loved the place so much that they booked themselves in for a weekend break away there - which we will be sure to do ourselves in the future. We spent one night there and were looked after very well - the food is wonderful and the spa facilities are a great bonus too.

Room Tip: All their rooms have stunning views; some of the luxury suites are situated just opposite the spa en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

A truly special review thank you

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have taken the time to give there feedback

Please be assured that all your feedback will be reviewed by them and i am positive they will also be pleased especially Charlie

We do hope that you visit us again soon

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Spent the day at Horsted spa at the East Sussex National on 29/06/13 for my hen.

Generally happy with my day, everyone that had treatments at the spa said that they were lovely and felt really relaxed after.
We used the spa facilities at a cost of £10 each which was reasonable, however gowns and towels are not provided to users of the spa unless there is at least a £100 spend per person on treatments, a little bit pricey we thought.

My party was unable to use the retreat as there were 10 of us and we were informed the retreat holds up to 7.
However as people were having treatments it was felt that no more than 7 would have been in the retreat at any one time.

I had been in contact with the spa via email and telephone prior to the date and arranged drinks for our arrival, which were not ready when we arrived and took a further 30 mins to obtain.

We had a late lunch in the Hotel which was beautiful and the staff in the hotel were very accommodating.

Overall enjoyed our day and would return, however the spa could use a little more organising and to be a little more lenient on use of gowns and towels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S4t4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the East Sussex National.
I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas. Please be assured I have investigated the points raised with the Health and Spa manager and he send his apologies for the confusion regarding the drinks. The confusion apparently occured due to there also being another party booked in the spa and certain members of the parties that had arrived early were asking the team if they had drinks booked and the team wanted to ensure that the correct party received the drinks.

Thank you for your positive comments and i will ensure that these are also communicated to the team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to comment and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

With Kind Regards,


Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
241 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,505 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Hellingly Eastbourne
9.7 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range: $128 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing