We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception with 150 guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our guests from around the UK and abroad were delighted with the facilities and the attentive service received from your staff. Not easy to cope with hundreds of visitors in one party. Quite excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious, but the suites are massive.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWissle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

It was pleasure for us to be part of a very special day. With best wishes from all the team at ESN.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for East Sussex National
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for one night for our anniversary. Cant find any faults. Our suite was one of the best we have stayed in. Bathroom was superb ,wet room shower, all the fittings was first class.Bed was very comfortable.One little let down was the tv, only 4 channels. Still we must not moan. The restaurant was lovely, made to feel very welcome.The Menu was very Good, varied choice. The Breakfast was excellant. helpful waitress. They even had fried bread.The views were great I even saw a woodpecker. Lovely and quiet. Would go AGAIN.

Room Tip: Corner Suite. The Best.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for your review and thrilled to hear you had a good time for your anniversary. We hope to see you with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here a few months ago...we made the booking as a last minute decision so didn't arrive at the hotel until about 10pm. We had a few drinks in the bar which was nice and had a great nights sleep (the blackout blinds are fantastic!), then had a really yummy breakfast the following morning. There was plenty of choice and we enjoyed a cup of coffe on the balcony overlooking the fields. When we checked out we asked if we were able to use the swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi in the health centre next door. We were given the impression we weren't overly welcome to do this...there is only set times this can be used which we weren't aware of. The lady on reception had to ring the manager and ask if we could use it, considering we had just paid £130 for a room I didn't think it was too much to ask for!! Eventually we were given the all clear and enjoyed a couple of hours to relax (apart from noisy children!). I'm not entirely sure I would stay here again. I think it is mainly for golfers and business purposes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MISSLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

As part of a golf society of 2 players, we have just had a very good weekend at East Sussex National, despite the freezing weather.

The accommodation was fine, the check-in and check-out process was flawless. I can recommend the buffet evening meal, and the hearty breakfast............. well done.

special mention to the golf staff, who had the course open in very trying circumstances, even cleaning each players clubs after each round.

I look forward to going back next year............. hopefully in better weather

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for posting your kind comments, I will pass them on to our golf hospitality team. Fingers crossed your next stay will be in glorious sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Trying to book a room for a wedding - first we were told to contact the bride to release rooms, then we were told our room was booked. Then we were told our room wasn't booked - 2 weeks later after we had booked a hire car and confirmed our wedding invitation. We have been offered no help, support or compensation, the hotel has not been proactive. What hotel asks the guests to contact the bride?!!! We haven't told her as I'm sure she would be mortified her guests were being treated like this. We live overseas and have spent a fortune on calls trying to sort this. The staff have no customer service skills and no willingness to help. Awful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewG38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
I have spoken to the team involved in your booking, with who I understand you have been in regular contact.
Whilst I appreciate the situation has been frustrating, I do not feel that the comments you have regarding our customer service are either fair or representative of the efforts our reception team, in particular our senior receptionist, have gone to, to try and resolve your issues.
Due to the hotel being fully booked, we endeavoured to seek alternative accommodation within the local area on your behalf; however you found this unacceptable due to the additional costs involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

this is the third time to this hotel and i never tire of coming here. the rooms are lovely, some have huge balconys, some have small balconys but they all have fantastic views. on the drive up to the hotel you can sometimes get held up by the deer standing on the road. lovely. they have the most fantastic spa in this place and a huge pool which is just brilliant. the bar meu is very tasty and well presented but you just cannot beat the delicious food that is served in the main restaurant. as usual, the food was of superb quality and do try the wood pigeon, mouthwatering and of course, a lovely selection of wines to go with the most mouth watering desserts. i would always recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a spa weekend or even a golf weekend. fantastic all round. i have yet to stay here when it has been hot but hopefully that will happen one day.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good here, the more you pay, the larger the room. my favourite room would be the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loubuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for posting your review and your kind recommendation.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have now stayed twice at this hotel while visiting relatives.Despite its size it is a place where you can relax.The lounge and bar area is warm and comfortable and the menu ideal after a busy day. Rooms are comfortable and breakfast is substantial.The swimming pool looks amazing but that will have to wait until another visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for your post - come and visit us again and make sure you give the pool a try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
233 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
16.8 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,646 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range: $130 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing