We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant without being pretentious”
Review of Horsted Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horsted Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant without being pretentious”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for just 1 night but found the facilities excellent and the location adjacent to a golf course very quiet. Service was impacable. Did not have dinner there but can confirm the breakfast was a cut above most hotels', served in a small but elegant dining room. Rather interestingly the hotel has no bar but does have a store of just about any drink that you might wish apart from a draught beer. Drink can be consumed in the very comfortable lounge whilst being entertained by a very competant pianist. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinAird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    40
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
84
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

As a frequent traveler we are not accustomed for a hotel to ask for our room key every time we decide to leave or even more so to inform someone every time we had to leave hotel. It was if she was appalled that we questioned why we couldnt keep room key with us. Since the hotel didn't have room safe in our room, your only option is the office safe. I didn't want to leave my personals about ( jewelry and monies etc.) I guess you have to just trust no one will enter your room when your gone after you give them back their key. The reason that was stated to us was "how will we know if your not in your room in case of a fire"? Uh ok guess that is the horsted place way of thinking. Also there is no room service after 9pm. If you are thirsty for something other then water. You have to travel down to main lobby and find porter to get a soda, juice, tea, etc.
The hotel is nice and has an old feel to it. The stairs crick when you walk down like a very old house. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. The lift was slow as molasses and super small but thank goodness it worked since we were on the fourth level. Loads of stairs to climb. Food was good and pricey. Parking is included and convienantly close to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Def32ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place such an interesting review. I am glad you liked the house and found the carpark convenient. I would however mention for other readers that we only have three floors - ground, first and second. Our lift is undoubtedly slow but reliable and we are lucky to have it in a grade two listed house built in 1851. We offer 24 hour room service and guests are welcome to call down to order a drink at any time - this information is readily available in our room directories but we will redouble our efforts to make everyone aware of this. For the security and safety of all our guests we do prefer that room keys are left at reception when leaving the hotel; the duty manager does of course hold a master key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Horsted Place was a total surprise......from the bluebell lined winding driveway, to the stunning facade, the relaxed garden and secret pathways, the discrete and totally professional staff, the food and wine, the fascinating history......it just ones on! I think the view from the bedroom window opening the curtains first thing in the morning looking out across the vast garden with wild flowers over to the South Downs, the blue sky and the sound of the cock pheasants - and not a car or house in sight......had to be one of the best hotel experiences ever! Totally recommended for a special occasion. There were 9 of us aged betwee 10 and 86 yrs and we were all totally indulged.
We will dinifitely be back for another game of croquet!!!!!

Room Tip: I booked the rooms during a promotional period - and worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your visit to Horsted Place so much and thank you for this lovely review. We hope to see you again and look forward to witnessing your prowess on the croquet lawn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is lovely, and our generously-sized room was extremely comfortable, but it was the charming and very helpful staff who made this such a wonderful place to stay. And despite the rain, the grounds looked wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dervorgilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We took my Mother & Father to Horsted Place Hotel for Afternoon Tea to celeberate their Wedding Anniversary. We went on Saturday 21st March, which turned out to be a very hot day. The hotel is lovely and set in very nice grounds. There were 10 of us in total, all with different dietary requirements - no sauces on some sandwiches, no fish for others etc. I phoned the hotel & this was all taken care of. There were plenty of cakes - fruit & plain scones (2 per person), blueberry tarts, meringues with chocolate butterflies, chocolate squares filled with chocolate mousse & covered in fresh fruit & shot glasses filled with pannacotta plus the tea and coffee pots were constantly topped up. Staff were very attentive. Good value for money, but we felt there was far too many sweet items & perhaps they could give you a few more sandwiches and cut down on the sweet things. Unfortunately, we were unable to take the chocolates cakes or meringues home, as they were already melting at the hotel. Overall, a lovely afternoon which was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebedee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here as guests of a wedding party, the staff were very attentive & friendly on the day. everything was very well organised. The catering was done very nicely & efficiently. The grounds are lovely & the perfect setting for wedding photos. The rooms are very comfortable & spacious. The bridal suite had four rooms & was very lavish. I would recommend this as a peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: we were in the Cottage suite which was near the rear entrance, was a little noisy with staff clearin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_mariev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thoroughly recommend afternoon tea at this lovely hotel. The best scones I have ever tasted, with selection of home made cakes and sandwiches. We visited in snowy conditions but the grounds would be lovely to walk in, had the weather been warmer. Will certainly come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
0.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
13.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsted Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsted Place

Property: Horsted Place
Address: Lewes Road | Little Horsted, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horsted Place 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horsted Place is situated on the A26 just south of Uckfield and within 15 minutes drive of Glyndebourne. Originally a private family house, it is now a luxury country house hotel with AA red stars set in landscaped gardens with extensive views towards the South Downs. A grade II listed Victorian gothic mansion, it has original architectural features designed by Pugin and historical links to the British Royal Family. The fine dining, AA 2-rosetted restaurant offers modern English cuisine with freshly prepared seasonal local ingredients whenever possible. Afternoon teas (served on the Terrace in summer or in front of the Drawing Room fires in winter)are extremely popular. There is a croquet lawn and hard tennis court and guests also have use of the spa and leisure facilities at the East Sussex National, 2 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Horsted Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsted Place Lewes
Horsted Place Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing