We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a cave...”
Review of Cub Run Cave

Cub Run Cave
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Cub Run
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cub Run Cave, located in scenic Hart County Kentucky, was first discovered in 1950. It was then briefly shown to the public before being closed for the next 55 years. The cave reopened to the public in July of 2006.
Fl.
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A gem of a cave...”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

NO UNEVEN WALKWAYS,NO VANDALISM,only 14 stairs,wonderful wooden walkways,build by the Amish, so close to the cave ceiling it would be possibe to touch if you were allowed. There were many beautiful formations ,some not found in any other cave. Our guide,Linda loved her job and the cave. She was able to share a great deal of history and knowledge of the cave. I have been to most of the caves in the area. Cub Run is one of the best I have visited. We also loved the drive there through Amish country with a stop at the Amish store in Club Run. The cave property including the nice gift shop is for sale. I hope it can stay open. Take time to see this cave.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pettitt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    13
    0
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem near Mammoth Cave”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I visited this cave during our vacation at Mammoth Cave National Park. The park ranger actually told us about it otherwise we may have missed it. What a gem. It was the most beautiful of all the caves we visited because it has never been vandalized and it also has so many different types of formations not found in many of the other caves. Our tour guide was so genuinely attached to the beauty of the cave. Call to confirm their tour hours before you go. They have a very limited budget and sometimes the tour guide is gone on a tour and has to close the office and store. It is definitely worth the drive and you really will appreciate the natural beauty of this raw gem. Tours are $14 for adults and they last about 1 to 1 1/2 hours. You can take pictures too which is great! There were only 14 steps on the tour and you are in the heart of the cave.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I came to the area to see Mammoth Cave. We found that most all the tours require walking on uneven paths and many, many stairs, which I am not able to do. That's also true for the other caves in the area, except Cub Run. This was a great tour. The one hour tour has a total of 14 stairs and is on a boardwalk in the cave. Our guide was full of enthusiasm and knowledge of the cave and it's history. The walk was easy and enjoyable. The boardwalk is covered with screening to help avoid slipping. We highly recommend this tour for anyone who has mobility issues and families with children.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, KY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great cave!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

A very nice cave with lots of interesting formations. A nice change of pace from some of the larger more visited caves.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wolfe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Guide and Cave were the Highlights of Our Trip!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was a last minute addition to our week-long vacation because it was recommended to us, but was the absolute highlight of the whole week. We did the 4:30 tour and visited the gift shop. It was only $14 for the 1 1/2 hour tour (we stayed for 3 hours in the cave) each person. We traveled with couples, but kids over 8 or so would be fine. I would not do this if you cannot handle constant walking.

This cave is beautiful and peaceful with running water throughout. If you know nothing about a cave or if you've been to quite a few, this is a must see. The cave has beautiful colors, active formations, and is considered a miracle cave with lots of unique features. After seeing this, Mammoth Cave paled in comparison! This cave also allows for flash and we weren't rushed at all. We saw cave crickets, salamanders, spiders, and bats. It was nice to learn about the wildlife, the history of the cave, and understand the various features.

Aside from the cave itself, the guide Linda is worth the trip alone! She opened the cave for us and one other couple from the UK and gave us extra time on the tour. Linda was very knowledgeable, super friendly, and extremely accommodating. I honestly can't say anything that I disliked about this tour except that it's over!

Make sure to bring a camera (you can use flash) with a strap, close-toed shoes, a warm long-sleeved shirt and maybe gloves. I'd allow for at least 2 1/2 hours to visit the cave and the gift shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdventureLovinFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cub Run Cave also viewed

 
Mammoth Cave, KY
 

Been to Cub Run Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing