We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Blackmore's Heritage Manor
Nearby Hotels
Restland Motel(Clarenville)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarenville Inn(Clarenville)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Jude Hotel(Clarenville)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaport Inn(Port Union)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bird Island Inn B&B(Elliston)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
158
7
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening teawonderful hostsother guestsbonavista peninsulaget togethersheritage manorhelpful tipsbalcony overlooking the harbourtwo nightshistoric housewonderful visitevery morningold friendsan easy driveevery amenitycaptain blackmore'slarge deck
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 166 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Captain Blackmore's historic house has been beautifully restored hosts by Garry (4th generation) and Shelly, with loving attention to detail. Spacious house, bedrooms large and comfortable. Delicious multi-course cooked breakfast, your choice from menu. Guests are invited to gather for home baked evening snacks and chat, and our hosts proved to be wonderful sources of local information and intelligent explanations about all aspects of Newfoundland, past and present. Port Union's historic past is well worth exploring, with century old houses and museums within a 2 minute stroll of the B&B along the sea walk. Best |B&B we found on our trip along the east coast of Newfoundland. Great hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in the Daisy Kean Room for two nights in July. This was easily our favorite place to stay during our two-week NFLD trip. Every aspect of this B&B was excellent and immaculate. The comments on tripadvisor are accurate. Gary and Shelly were wonderfully warm, kind and friendly but not intrusive. We would definitely stay here again.

If you have a chance, do try the cod au gratin at the restaurant in the Seaport Inn. The cod au gratin is really delicious and is Gary's step-mother's recipe. We also tried the garlic scallops which were very good. The restaurant is not fancy but the prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toots812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed August 30th-Sept. 4th, we had a wonderful visit in the area, and were out and busy each day. Was so nice to come back "home" as that is what the B&B felt like, great breakfast, nice meeting up with other travellers in the evenings, to share the days adventures, and great hosts, Garry and Shelly, thank-you!
This B&B is ideally located for visiting, Trinity, Bonavista, Terra Nova park(all of which we did).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Port Union is midway between Trinity and Bonavista and is a good place to stay to visit both. Garry and Shelly do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A freshly made fruit salad and muffins followed by your choice of bacon and eggs, pancakes, French toast, etc. all perfectly done, begin each day. The coffee is excellent too.
The rooms were clean and very comfortable with good quality sheets and towels.
Each evening we were invited to visit in the dining room with fellow travellers as well as Garry and Shelly. A nice dessert, fruit, cheese, crackers and tea/coffee etc was offered at that time. We will definitely go back to this comfortable home with gracious hosts when we next travel that way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just got back from a romantic getaway to this amazingly beautiful B&B in Port Union. The place was absolutely spotless, the hosts were so warm and welcoming, the view is breathtaking and the hot breakfast huge and delicious (no charge for breakfast, included in rate)!! Can't say enough good things about this place!! Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews