We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently while taking our daughter to an event at Miami University. We flew in on a red eye so arrived quite early at the hotel. Bell staff was quite nice about holding our car and keeping it available since it was way too early for check in. The front desk did a great job of getting us a room by noon which was four hours earlier than check in time.

The hotel is an open atrium style so there is some hallway noise. We were there on a Sat, Sun, and Mon night. Even though there were a few large groups, we were pleasantly surprised by the lack of noise.

The rooms are standard Marriott but nicely appointed. We stayed on the concierge level. The reason for the four star versus five star rating is because the lounge hours were quite confusing. We were offered breakfast vouchers for Sunday morning in the hotel restaurant since the lounge was closed.

The hotel is quite convenient to dowtown. We took a shuttle to the Reds game as well as to dinner on Monday night.

There is a charge for parking. We ended up using the valet because we calculated that it would be a break even with the in and out charges. The restaurant has a nice view of the river.

Overall, I would recommend it for someone who wants easy access to downtown for a football or baseball game or concert.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Candyice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina S, Manager at Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come to visit us again soon.

Thanks again,

Sabrina Skaggs
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    240
    84
    45
    25
See reviews for
126
188
25
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for a soccer tournament. The rooms were a nice size and the amenities were great. The hotel provided a wonderful hot breakfast for players and were supportive of the kids on the teams. You might want to bring snacks though as you might pay a pretty penny at the gift shop area for food and there is not a local grocery to get other food. Gas station down the road is your best bet.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the atrium towards the bottom may be loud. We did not here a thing on floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaptain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us at the Marriott Rivercenter. We are always appreciate and look forward to being able to host sports teams as they compete in the Cincinnati area. It was nice to hear that the room was well appointed and there was plenty of space for you to relax after a day of competion.

Hopefully it was a winning weekend for you. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our family planned a vacation outing for Cincinnati,OH Riverfront and Newport on the Levee. The Riverfront and Levee attractions provided excellent family activities but the Marriott RiverCenter failed in most all accounts. Upon checkin we could not get a luggage cart because we were told by the bellman "only valet parking receives a luggage cart". I spoke to the desk manager and he informed me that I could get a cart in which I was told again by the street level bellman that they were "locked behind doors and they were only for full service guests". We then proceded to checkin lugging our items and was greeted by Caitlin who tried her best to accommodate us for the bellman issues with an upgrade to the concierge level. But since it was a weekend there were no amenities at certain times. But she tried and we thank her for her efforts. Then we went swimming in the hotel pool that evening but had to evacuate due to a floating pool light bulb that broke loose from the pool side wall. (Electric and water doesn't mix too well.) We were tired guests and then went to wonderful beds in our rooms....but the celebrating hotel wedding party guest noise was very disturbing in the early morning hours of celebrations in the open atrium hallways. Sunday breakfast at 9:50am found us with no place to sit except for the lobby benches with our plates in laps because a wedding party had reserved the breakfast room. The food manager said he couldn't seat anyone even though 7 tables were empty at that time. (What about all of the other paying hungry guests I wondered?) I have always stayed at Marriott for business and pleasure...but this property needs some tweeking and other hotel offerings in the immediate area may be something to explore for future guest value and cost. Thank goodness they had Caitlin on staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiciPjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay with us. I appreciate your nice comments regarding our location to nearby attractions and the service you received from Caitlin.

Obviously we missed the mark in several areas where we were unable to meet your expectations as well as our own. It will be my priority to address your issues with our bellstaff regarding the luggage carts and assisting our guests. I will also look into the loose light in the pool and better ways of servicing guests when the restaurant is closed for private events.

I apologize for your stay not living up to everything it should have been. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I flew in for his high school Reunion in Cincinnati but best deal for hotel was across the Ohio river in Covington, KY. Wonderful view across the river. could see Paul Brown stadium. Large, quiet room, very relaxing. Convenient shuttle to the Horseshoe casino. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rmcdUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your high recommendation in your recent review of the Marriott Rivercenter! The view from our hotel is indeed the best in the area and the location is ideal. I hope you enjoyed your reunion, relaxing and getting out to visit some of our wonderful area attractions.

I hope to see you again in the future when you are in the Cincinnati area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Overall this is a good hotel that would be more than adequate for a business traveler or family. Rooms and housekeeping was very good. Concierge lounge was OK but there was a cleanliness issue that i wont repeat but grossed me out a little. The location is really very good, overlooking the river, close to the ball parks, a short walk over the bridge to Cincy and its action but overall a safer stay than the feeling you get hanging around the hotels in downtown Cincinnati at night. The bridge was always safe for me to walk across but late night alone i would think twice. You can also walk to the waterfront over by the purple people bridge which was very nice and has many things to do and places to eat. A couple local clubs in the Covington area short walk also very nice, good live music in a couple.

As far as the service issues, they schedule functions here that strain the capacity of the little bar/restaurant and the elevators, and, yep the staff. Desk staff was good though. they also close the bar very early and there is no other good option in the immediate area - you have to walk a ways. And, the functions can be very loud all the way up the interior atrium so if a good night sleep is on your list, check the functions schedule. Also, elevators were inexplicably broken to the top floor and this was a recurring theme over the several weeks i was there which leads one to think that either there is a staffing or an engagement issue.

All in, though, this is the place to stay if you are working near the ball parks.

Room Tip: I would go river front, high floor. RIverfront rooms have a small balcony, high floor is marginally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moparmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina S, Manager at Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come to visit us again soon.

Thanks again,

Sabrina Skaggs
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two day in July 2014 for work, my second time staying there. It's well located on the Ohio River across from Cincinnati and with a good view of the downtown, in right near a nice historic neighborhood, and it has a pretty good restaurant, especially considering it's in a Marriott. The staff was friendly, and the room was of decent size and quiet, and I had a good view (I'm a Platinum member). My main beef is with bathroom, especially with the tub area. The tub faucet was coming out of the wall, leading to more water coming into the tub when I was showering, and the staff said it couldn't be fixed (over two days?!!). Further the shower curtain was dirty, and this they replaced quickly when I reported it. Still, it was depressing using the bathroom. Too bad, as the rest of the room and hotel were fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank McGee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. I appreciate you pointing out the things you enjoyed about the hotel our friendly staff and it's location. I will address the issue with the bathroom with my maintenance team immediately. I am sorry you had a poor shower experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The front desk was especially helpful and friendly despite the fact that there was a large jazz festival in town and they were very busy. Everyone from the waiter in the restaurant in the afternoon at the bar area to the breakfast area was extremely nice and welcoming to my toddler. Very clean, great views of the city.

Room Tip: River view was great-saw fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redclock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina S, Manager at Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come to visit us again soon.

Thanks again,

Sabrina Skaggs
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter

Property: Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter
Address: 10 W Rivercenter Blvd, Covington, KY 41011-1463
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cincinnati At River Hotel Covington
Marriott Hotel Covington
Marriott Covington
Covington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing