We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, United States
1 review
“Decent experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Employees were very nice. Pool was down during stay. Our heating/cooling unit in room wasn't working properly and the room stayed hot, even though it was below freezing outside. I kept trying to cool the room down and it didn't work. Breakfast we received was impressive. Hot foods with lots of options. Breakfast staff was very friendly and conversational.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your stay with us. I apologize the pool was under renovations and heater was too warm in your room. I am very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and the newly added items. I truly appreciate the very kind comments on our staff too. I hope you have a Happy, Healthy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    222
    112
    62
    32
See reviews for
280
141
32
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel literally shares a parking lot with a liquor store, and there's another one right across the street. There's also a discount cigarette store around the corner.... so the neighborhood is not great. And of course people coming and going from the liquor store are loud at night. And the trucks delivering the liquor make for early loud mornings.

The hotel staff is nice. The room I was in was also just starting to show its age. Nothing horrible, but stains in the carpet were evident.

The breakfast is good, kids will love the waffle makers and everything is good except the eggs which tasted pretty fake.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room, on the side of the hotel away from the liquor store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. You are correct, there is a liquor/cig store on almost every corner in Covington, KY. It used to be a lot cheaper to buy in Kentucky then surrounding states, now with new taxes it isn't as large a savings. I agree, it doesn't make the best first impression though. I appreciate the kind comments on our staff and breakfast. Happy Holidays to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I am consistently impressed by the quality of this chain. They are always clean, and comfortable with good customer service. We had a great night's sleep but had to leave early before the breakfast started. To accomodate travellers like us, they had pre-made bag breakfasts for us to take with us. A very nice touch.

I would stay at Hampton Inn and Suites anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for the awesome review from your stay with us! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and the Breakfast on the go Bags. I hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euclid, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We always stay at Hampton's when possible. There are never any real problems. Breakfast was OK, Love the waffles, but the Scrambled eggs don't taste "real" and the sausage could be better. Just have to remember that breakfast is a extra.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Hampton is getting ready roll out some new breakfast items before the end of the year and scrambled eggs is one of them - we are excited to get them in and very hopeful guests will be pleased :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed a few nights here recently - the hotel is right on the river across from downtown and takes are few interesting turns to get out of the neighborhood (it is right under the freeway/bridge). The hotel was very nice and clean - usual free hot breakfast options which were as good as any other Hampton. Room was exactly as expected and rates were very reasonable, and considerably cheaper than you would pay in downtown Cincinnati just 5 minutes away. The only real issue is the area - there are 2 liquor stores in the same parking lot, and with the freeway and bridge - the neighborhood is dark and seedy. There are a few restaurants in the area, but I wouldn't walk under the freeway to get to them, even if they are only a few hundred miles away. So - if you want an inexpensive, clean Hampton - this place is great, just expect to drive out of the area for meals and entertainment...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review. I realize the liquor stores do not create the best first impression :) I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilliard ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Turkey Bowl for Flag Football Fanatics was being played at Paul Brown Stadium so our team found Hampton Inn to be in a convenient location at a reasonable price. As a Hilton Honors Member, I always find Hampton Inn to be family friendly and clean and comfortable. This one was no exception. Kids ESPECIALLY loved the great breakfast before a long day of playing football!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank mrhunkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments on your stay with us! We enjoyed having the flag football kids and families stay at the hotel. I spoke to some of the kids and they were having a good time and what a thrill to play in at Bengals Stadium!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is the oldest Hampton I ever stayed, really could use some update. The night we stayed was pretty cold, but I couldn't turn the AC on, because it blew out old cigarette smell when it was on. The good part is that, the staff are welcoming, plus wifi is stable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. Our property was opened in 1997 and even with renovation projects we complete each year, we do not always compare evenly with newer properties. I apologize the ac wouldn't stay on for you, when the seasons change and it is warm in day and cold at night the units do not perform the best. I appreciate the kind comments on our staff. Thank you again for taking the time to provide valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Cincinnati Covington
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport / Cincinnati
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Covington Cincinnati Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)

Property: Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)
Address: 200 Crescent Avenue, 3rd & Crescent, Covington, KY 41011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront … situated along the scenic Ohio river near all the Cincinnati action and just minutes from the new Horseshoe Casino and always popular Newport on the Levee Entertainment District. Hampton Inn Cincinnati- Riverfront is within walking distance of many restaurants and a tourist favorite - MainStrasse Village; Minutes from two (2) major Convention Centers Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront is also the perfect location when visiting for Cincinnati Bengals’ and Reds’, BB Riverboats, The Banks Entertainment District, Cincinnati Zoo, Creation Museum, horse racing, multiple casinos,and all the most popular wedding venues in town. Start your day at the Hampton Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront with the most important meal — breakfast. All guestrooms now include a refrigerator and microwave, free internet access (throughout the hotel!) and 37'flat screen TV with expanded channels. We have a fitness room and indoor pool for you health and enjoyment. For business or pleasure visit us soon and often at the beautifully renovated Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) Hotel Covington
Hampton Inn Covington
Covington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing