We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Security Guard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude Security Guard”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed with family at this hotel right before Christmas 2012. Rooms were average for a Hampton Inn. There was snow on the ground. When we walked out of the hotel to our car we were followed 2 separate times by a creaper person. Turned out it was the security guard, he looked like he was up to something, I considered calling the police. Then the third time 2 persons in our group threw some snow at each other on the far end of the parking lot (no cars around) and the security guard comforted us and said dont touch the snow. He proceeded to stand there on a power trip and gave the 10 year old the evil eye for thinking he should touch snow. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtheusa1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with some aspects of our hotel including our security guard being rude towards you. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that I have personally spoken to our staff regarding your comments. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve.

Again, I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope that next time you are in town, you give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments.


Thank you again,
Amanda Hagood
Front Office Manager
859-581-7800
amanda.hagood@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    223
    113
    62
    32
See reviews for
283
143
32
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Avon, IN, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a family getaway. The staff was WONDERFUL; however, the rooms are quite small for the price and the pool area is in need of serious attention. In the future, we will definitely choose another hotel based on what you receive for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I was delighted to read from you review that you found our staff to be wonderful. I do however understand that you were unsatisfied with our prices and that you found them to be too expensive. I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that we do all we can to create a great experience for each one of our guests. We are actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for your comfort and convenience and will definitely keep you review in mind.

Again, I do thank you for your review and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have gone through. I hope that the next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us at again.


Thank you,
Amanda Hagood
Front Office Manager
859-581-7800
amanda.hagood@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here to go to the quilt show in Cinn. It was really close to the show. The staff were great and the rooms were nice and clean. You have to drive a ways to find eating places, but the best pizza place will deliver.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your great comments. Our Hampton Team works hard day-in and day-out to insure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. I did share you comments with our team and they were very excited to hear such positive feedback. We do look forward to your future stays with us.

Thank you again!

Amanda Hagood
Front Office Manager
859-581-7800
amanda.hagood@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chciago, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was the best Hampton Inn I ever stayed at and I would highly recommend this hotel. The Lobby and Breakfast Area are very modern and comfortable. The Breakfast offerings were very plentiful and tasty. Beth, The General Manager was very freiendly and professional and you can tell she is very well respected by her staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly enjoy sharing such positive comments with our Hampton Team, you made our day! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us when you’re in the Northern Kentucky/ Cincinnati area again.

Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Amanda Hagood
Front Office Manager
859-581-7800
amanda.hagood@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family stayed at this Hampton Inn four times last summer for trips to see the Cincinnati Reds and returned again this past weekend for what will be the first of five or six stays this summer - that should tell you a great deal about what I think of this property! If you're a Hilton Honors member and looking for a Hilton-family hotel on this side of the river, please know that this Hampton is FAR superior to the Embassy Suites located in Covington.

There seem to be lots of comments about the area, but I can tell you that even walking to the hotel from the bus after a night game we have never felt unsafe. Yes, it's a city and there is a liquor store next to the hotel, but it has never been an issue for us.

The front desk staff is outstanding. Each interaction that I've had with them both at the hotel and over the phone has been excellent. They are attentive and get the job done.

The hotel offers the excellent Hampton breakfast. They recently renovated the breakfast area which limited seating but the hotel was packed this weekend and we didn't have to wait for a seat either morning because the breakfast staff had adjoining conference rooms open for dining. The breakfast staff did a great job keeping everything hot and full despite the high demand!

The rooms are consistently clean and comfortable, and to me, that is what you're paying for when staying at a Hampton.

If you're staying here, make sure to take advantage of the trolley service that runs a loop that includes stops in Covington - Cincy - Newport. Much easier than driving and the large bus service to the games is cheaper than parking at GABP and saves the hassle of navigating post-game traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elykremraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Yes, we were very busy this past weekend but, did enjoy seeing the hotel buzzing. We are very excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared you comments with our team and they were delighted and so thankful to hear the positive comments. We look forward to your future stays with us! GO REDS!!!


Thank you again and have a great day!

Amanda Hagood
Front Office Manager
859-581-7800
amanda.hagood@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hampton Inn Cincinnati is very well located for visiting the Newport Aquarium and Newport Levee as well as the Cincinnati Museum Center that is currently showing Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit.
Check-in was quick and easy. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful with maps and directions. Their morning breakfast buffet was great and convenient. Their indoor pool was fun for the family. I would recommend to all on business or leisure travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the double decker bridge going over the Ohio River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioJamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share you kind words with our team. Hopefully you will come see us again for your next getaway!

Thank you again,

Amanda Hagood
Front Office Manager
859-581-7800
amanda.hagood@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading so-so reviews but reviewers commenting on the updated lobby. What other reviewers neglected to mention was the liquor store in the parking lot. Not only was it a liquor store, but it had bars on the door and windows. Next to the liquor store there was "discount cigs".

Not a good first impression for a family travelling with tweens. It was a slow check-in due to a computer problem. When we entered the elevator, we were greeted by wet pool towels and lots of water from the pool. We should have cancelled the reservation then. But we were tired after a long drive and it was late. Our room neighbors did not understand courtesy and slammed their doors throughout most of the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area), responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your taking time to write a review about our hotel. I understand that you had some issues that inconvenienced you and I truly apologize for this. I am so sorry if you and your family did not feel safe and did not receive a good impression of our hotel. Our main concern is for all our guests’ safety and I appreciate you bringing this issue up to my attention so that I can follow-up with our security team. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that we are taking your comments into consideration.

Again, I truly regret and inconveniences you went through and hope that you give us another chance of staying with us if you are every around our area.

Thank you and have a great day!

Amanda Hagood
Front Office Manager
859-581-7800
amanda.hagood@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Cincinnati Covington
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport / Cincinnati
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Covington Cincinnati Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)

Property: Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)
Address: 200 Crescent Ave, 3rd & Crescent, Covington, KY 41011-1002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront … situated along the scenic Ohio river near all the Cincinnati action and just minutes from the new Horseshoe Casino and always popular Newport on the Levee Entertainment District. Hampton Inn Cincinnati- Riverfront is within walking distance of many restaurants and a tourist favorite - MainStrasse Village; Minutes from two (2) major Convention Centers Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront is also the perfect location when visiting for Cincinnati Bengals’ and Reds’, BB Riverboats, The Banks Entertainment District, Cincinnati Zoo, Creation Museum, horse racing, multiple casinos,and all the most popular wedding venues in town. Start your day at the Hampton Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront with the most important meal — breakfast. All guestrooms now include a refrigerator and microwave, free internet access (throughout the hotel!) and 37'flat screen TV with expanded channels. We have a fitness room and indoor pool for you health and enjoyment. For business or pleasure visit us soon and often at the beautifully renovated Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area) Hotel Covington
Hampton Inn Covington
Covington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing