We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky smell, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Smoky smell, good location”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed with some friends for the night to enjoy the Main Strasse area. Although my husband and I have not stayed in a Holiday Inn for several years, this location was recommended by our friends. The location was very convenient and the room was clean and fairly well equipped. There was a very strong smoke smell in our room and a slight mildew smell in the bathroom. Also, our remote was not working. We called to ask for a new remote or have the batteries replaced and were told someone would be up right away. After waiting around for a while, nobody came, so when we went out, we expected to come back to a working remote. It did not happen. We did report the smell to the desk so as not to be charged for damaging the room.

When we checked out and mentioned these things, the clerk was very apologetic and offered us free breakfast coupons. Since we had already had breakfast and were leaving, we are hoping these coupons will work at another Holiday Inn Express.

This was not an inexpensive room at about $136 per weekday night, with taxes, and no breakfast included, which makes me think that is why we have shied away from Holiday Inns.

The area is great with lots of character and unique restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Mayreen,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the smell of the room and the remote control issue. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    147
    68
    26
    23
See reviews for
79
94
25
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent a evening there in order to catch 2 baseball games..Convenience of location was excellent, but it is in Covington...Found the hotel to be clean,the room and bed comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful..also as with other reviews the Southbank Shuttle stopped directly in front of the hotel..1USD each way for a 9 minute ride to and from GABP(mega Kudos to TANK)..As a bonus it was a mangers special and there was free beer(yes free beer) and appetizers in the lounge that evening....it is not the Ritz Carlton but then it does not purport to be...they will have my business again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Where do we start!
We arrived to a smelly, dirty, spider infested first floor to our room.
The room was outdated, dirty and small. Basically it didn't look like a holiday inn at all.
The toilet seat was almost falling off so we called front desk for that and pillows and we're told they had ran out of pillows! And that they would send a maintenance worker up for the toilet seat. After an hour and another call to them maintenance showed, he couldn't fix and after he left and came back again he still couldn't fix it. Probably because the small bathroom you couldn't even open the door up and sit down, it was unbelievable. The room mirrors were filthy. Also the shower came out in a trickle. Plus we get home to find out that we were charged thirty dollars over. Just a terrible experience, don't bother

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tannerbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Tannerbeanie,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your visit with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for we fell below your expectations on our level of cleanliness and for the inconvenience you had with some bathroom fixtures.

It is only through valuable feedback we receive from our valued customers that we would be in a position to know where we go wrong and rectify the circumstances or incidents, in order to ensure that we do not repeat the same in the future. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a pretty good location. Highway and restaurants close by. The trolley stops nearby were a great convenience; easy access to Newport and Cincinnati. I booked by bid online on the drive there and due to the short turnaround I was accidentally double charged. My payment hadn't posted in the system from the 3rd party site but the staff at the front desk was very apologetic. The room was basic. Clean and comfy though. You can hear a bit of highway noise. No fridge or microwave in the room. Very old hotel except the front exterior has obviously had a facelift. Pool area was clean and gym was also clean and well equipped. No hot tub. I likely wouldn't stay again but it wasn't terrible just ended up here because I was looking for a deal so next time I'd prefer something a little fresher.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roshaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear roshaykay,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a business meeting (not held at hotel). Everything perfectly fine. Great check-in, check-out. Rooms large and clean. Quiet location. For those who complain that this is in a less-than-good location, wake up! It may not be in the ritzy part of town (there isn't one) but it's central and, if you can bring yourself to walk 5 minutes, it's real close to the ever-improving 'Mainstrasse' with its boutique bars and restaurants (the Cock and Bull Pub especially good). Would stay here again in a heartbeat! You need to know Cincinnati / Covington area to understand that this is a great location without paying $$$$ prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is an average hotel. A little dated, but for the most part clean. The problem we had was with check-in. Despite it being at 3pm, we weren't able to get into our room until after 5 because it was a busy weekend and the rooms hadn't been cleaned yet. They weren't able to discount our rate, but we did get free breakfast coupons for the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat_arit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear kat_arit,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the service you received. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, I regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lackawanna, New York
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for 5 nights during the Cincy Tennis Tournament. When I booked it I knew it was near the highway but I didn't realize what part of town.kind of in a seedy area all walking distances of fine dining establishments like Waffle House,White Castle ,McDonald's, Burger King , Skyline and Big Boys. Cholesterol city here we come. We normally like to walk around cities, but there really wasn't an easy way to get downtown. They do have a shuttle that takes you here for a dollar. Upon arriving our room was ready but when we looked at the bed there was a huge stain where our heads would be. I called house keeping in and was told it was a stain and alot of their sheets have stains on them. Told her regardless they needed to be changed. The toiletries were barely enough for one of us to wash our hair. We asked for a wake up call and never got it. When we returned to our room in the afternoon there was popcorn all over the floor.the final straw was coming back from a hot day at the tennis center around 5:30 in the evening to a room that had not been serviced yet. So much or a shower and getting ready for an evening out. When we told the front desk no one even Sid sorry or we will get somebody up there immediately. Dint et in the hotel so can't comment on the food. If I was to come back to this area if I int stay downtown Cincinatti I would stay down Riverfront at the embassy suites or Marriott. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDEbDDS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear DrDEbDDS1964,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay.

I apologize that our housekeeping services did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to ensure all of our guests are provided with a clean, comfortable room. Please be assured that cleanliness is of the utmost concern to us and feedback such as yours is taken very seriously.

We appreciate your feedback as this allows us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write your concerns.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
Address: 600 W 3rd St, Covington, KY 41011-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is located in the heart of Covington, Kentucky s business and entertainment district. Our Cincinnati hotel is within walking distance of downtown Cincinnati and features free downtown Cincinnati parking and free wireless high-speed Internet access.The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is the place to stay when attending famous Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky events, such as the WEBN Fireworks, Oktoberfest, Maifest and the Flying Pig Marathon. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel is the perfect place for your Northern Kentucky and Cincinnati weekend getaway. A centrally located Cincinnati hotel on the Ohio River, we are a Cincinnati Reds hotel near Great American Ballpark and a Cincinnati Bengals hotel near Paul Brown Stadium. We are also near MainStrasse Village, Newport on the Levee, the Newport Aquarium and the Cincinnati Zoo. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront hotel is also a favorite among companies such as Ashland Marathon, Duke Energy, UPS, P&G, Sara Lee and Kroger because of our close proximity to their offices and Cincinnati s central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing