We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not worth the price!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Alsio Viejo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the price!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a below average Holiday Inn and definitly not worth the price. We found the bathroom smelled of urine, the shower curtian was dirty, the windows were old and worn out.
While getting ready in the morning, the bathroom light burnt out and they told us that it would be 40 minutes before it could be fixed...they did let us borrow a room at the other end of the hotel to get ready - what a pain.

There are much better hotels in the area that are in the same price range... find'em and go there!

Room Tip: No city view for most of the year - only the winter time when the leaves are off the trees, and even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OCswimmerAlsioViejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDruso, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept our sincerest apology for any disappointments you experienced with your guestroom accommodations. This is definitely not a typical stay at our hotel. Please be assured, we work hard to meet and exceed customer expectations and we take it seriously when we fall short. We will use your feedback to fix this issue and make sure that this does not happen to another guest. We truly hope you will afford us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    126
    62
    24
    22
See reviews for
66
80
19
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I traveled here from Virginia to attend a wedding. The hotel is conveniently located just across the Ohio River from Cincinnati, in Covington, KY. The hotel was obviously and older Holiday Inn but was nicely maintained and the staff was outstanding from check-in, to the lounge and restaurant and the catering.

Our bartender Jess was great. She's a huge Cincinnati Bengals fan for those of you who might follow the NFL.

The hotel rooms could use a bit of an upgrade to include thermostats to control the room temperature but the room was very comfortable, though a bit noisy. The hotel is nested between a motor vehicle bridge and a railroad bridge, both of which are quite busy.

There were a lot of utility trucks with cherry pickers parked in the parking lot which made it just a bit difficult to navigate the parking lot to enable you to stay away from trees, which contain lots of birds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uscwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend. We went to a Reds game (which I highly recommend) and the Bunbury music festival (also highly recommend). There is a shuttle from Covington to downtown Cincinnatti to Newport for $1 outside the hotel. The route is a bit confusing at first (one of the bus drivers told me I was not alone in thinking that) but after a ride or two it will most likely be your weekend transport.

The pool was almost vacant during our stay (mid July), very clean, plentiful towels, and just overall nice for a hotel close to the city.

I wish I knew the waitress's name in the morning for the buffet, she was wonderful. She made you feel at home, nice as could be, and If hotel mgmt sees this and wants info on her let me know because she is the most pleasant sight to see in the morning. That being said... The breakfast is worth the time. Buffet style and fresh from what I saw. (FYI They give out coupons for breakfast so don't pay for it.)

We stayed in a king non smoking. We enjoyed it; however, we found out on our last day someone peed the bed and we slept in it for few nights before realizing it. Gross for sure, but finding out about that just before you check out doesnt help much.



The bar was nice. Jess is the greatest bartender, period. We hoped she worked every night but unfortunately, she has time off. Typical hotel bar prices (tip your bartender, they can give you the best advice for city life).

Overall, the location of this hotel is where the price comes from. I look here (tripadvisor) before booking anywhere, so it's about time I posted something. There are a bunch of places to eat (walking distance) from the hotel.m Elevator is slow and didn't open on the 4th floors sometimes. I feel the price is a bit to high for where we stayed; but overall, I'd stay here again for a weekend. Anymore, I'd look for a better value..


Tips: free breakfast buffet. Free drink with reservation(check your email). Use google maps to check out restaurants and anywhere you plan to travel.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank City S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was very clean and the staff were great! Darlene Tribble was our waitress in the hotel restaurant for breakfast on Saturday, and she was terrific - very personable and provided excellent service. Also of note was Jason Cambron, who provided us with wonderful customer service. The front desk staff were very helpful and accomodating as well.
The only negative note was the cleaning staff. Unfortunately our room (on the main floor) was not cleaned regularly (completely missed on the Saturday). Towels weren't replaced, and we ran out of both kleenex and toilet paper (in a room with 4 women! - NOT good). Overall, though, the hotel was very pleasant, and there were several places to grab a meal if the restaurant wasn't to one's taste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our stay here was for 4 nights. When we first arrived we were slightly disappointed in our decision. Our room was kind of small with a small bathroom and our A/C didn't work very well (it was about 100 degrees every day we were there). Also, The view was not what we expected with "riverfront" in the name. However, by the end of the night we realized that the hotel is in a great location for everything we had planned in the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky area. The staff was very helpful with everything. Our room was kept very clean. And, the hotel staff were very accommodating to our requests. A bit pricey for the room, but the service and location make up for it.

Room Tip: A tip if you want a good view. Don't ask for a river view, because there really isnt one. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmead7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel is an older holiday Inn. The room was clean but had a older worn look. The sofa and desk chair looks dated. Overall, a clean room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Hotel is nicer than the impression from google maps. The location is good for attending games at the Great American Ball Park. The rooms are large and comfortable and very clean. The bathroom is clean and modern but a little tight. Water pressure in the shower was a little low.

Breakfast is not complimentary and if you are not in a hurry there are other options nearby.

All in all a fine option for attending sporting events.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Turnturnturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Covington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Cincinnati Covington
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)
0.5 mi away
Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Cincinnati - Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
Address: 600 W 3rd St, Covington, KY 41011-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is located in the heart of Covington, Kentucky s business and entertainment district. Our Cincinnati hotel is within walking distance of downtown Cincinnati and features free downtown Cincinnati parking and free wireless high-speed Internet access.The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is the place to stay when attending famous Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky events, such as the WEBN Fireworks, Oktoberfest, Maifest and the Flying Pig Marathon. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel is the perfect place for your Northern Kentucky and Cincinnati weekend getaway. A centrally located Cincinnati hotel on the Ohio River, we are a Cincinnati Reds hotel near Great American Ballpark and a Cincinnati Bengals hotel near Paul Brown Stadium. We are also near MainStrasse Village, Newport on the Levee, the Newport Aquarium and the Cincinnati Zoo. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront hotel is also a favorite among companies such as Ashland Marathon, Duke Energy, UPS, P&G, Sara Lee and Kroger because of our close proximity to their offices and Cincinnati s central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing