We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Responsive staff trumps shortcomings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Beaver Dam, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Responsive staff trumps shortcomings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel in early June. From the moment we arrived (well before the appointed check-in time due to flight schedules) the entire staff went out of its way to be friendly and helpful.
Our king sized bed suite was spacious but clearly dated. It was clean. The lighting outside the bathroom is poor at best (especially for those of us who have a number of years' wear and tear on our eyes). We did have very small ants in the bathroom which we discovered shortly after check-in. Appropriate personnel were promptly dispatched to rectify the situation and we were offered a different room which we declined. While we did see a couple of ants after that but the treatment applied clearly was working.
The complimentary breakfast and cocktail reception were both more than we expected for "free". The bartender the first night and "Miss Mary", the egg and omelet cook, were particularly helpful, friendly and accommodating.
Our room did not have a river view. In truth, we spent no less time gazing out at the parking lot across the street than we would have had we had the river to view. We were there to enjoy Cincinnati, Covington and Newport, not the view from our window.
We would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    356
    237
    116
    59
See reviews for
393
264
25
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice hotel. Rooms were good sized. Our room over looked the Ohio river and the beautiful bridge. Circumstances placed us in this hotel. The price plus the cost of parking it was a big more that we would spend, but is was nice. The beds were good. Bring your own pillows if you need neck support. The breakfast is amazing. Made to order omelette is just one if their offerings. As my son said if you added up what the five of us would of spent on a similar breakfast, especially with three teenagers we probably broke even.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Supposedly the only room left for a confirmed non-smoking room was a stinky smoking room. And they did not even offer (and later said they could not) pay for the cab to a new hotel with a room. And the manager said----well we didn't charge you for the room !!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank dlpfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassyrc, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY), responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Good afternoon...thank you for your constructive remarks concerning your recent visit. Im terribly sorry that on the day you arrived the hotel experienced guests that did not honor their scheduled check out date. This regretfully put us in an overbooked situation. I am glad however that you and I were able to converse back and forth and we were able award you with additional Honors points in an effort to compensate you for this inconvenience. We value you and regardless of who caused the issue, we accept responsibility. Thanks again for your candid remarks. Should your future travel plans include this area, we again welcome and respect the opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very clean, open, airy venue, on banks of Ohio River. My King-size bed suite overlooked the road, not the river. Morning buffet was bountiful; plenty of seating area. Evening has a "manager's reception" which had drinks and snacks. Lobby was 2 levels above street; I could see some struggle to get luggage up there when bell staff was unavailable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

After reading reviews on here saying the rooms need updating I was expecting the worst. They're dated but not quite as bad as one might think reading reviews. The rooms were perfectly adequate. It's well worth it to spring for the river view because it is excellent.

The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is largely adequate. The rubbery eggs, industrial pancakes and basic continental breakfast were at best mediocre. The omelets were excellent, perfectly cooked by a very friendly cook. Especially so on 6-6-13. I was hoping for country ham considering the hotel is in the south (ok borders the south) but alas we were given serviceable bacon and tasteless sausages that needed to be browned more. The pizza at the Nobel Roman restaurant in the lobby was among the worst I've ever had. Don't bother with it.

Over all the hotel is quiet. The location is excellent. If you've got a gaggle of kids like I do, this hotel is very accommodating. One final comment, poor Emmy the Macaw in the lobby needs a bigger cage. I'm no animal rights nut but poor Emmy looks like she needs more space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notliberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Everyone, from Sara(?) who checked us in, to the bellmen, to the bartender, to the omelette maker, to the people who cleaned the lobby after Manager's reception were so nice. The staff here rocks! We were in town for a wedding (as were alot of the other hotel guests) and we congregated in the lobby on Friday and and Saturday nite. We were from all over the states so it was nice to catch up over a few cocktails. I watched the staff clean, clean and clean again the lobby area from the mess some of the other guests left behind. They ALL had a smile on their face even though it was so late. Great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank JanetJohnElmhurst_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Embassy provides a great value, with free drinks from 5pm to 7:30 along with a complimentary breakfast buffet. The rooms were very spacious, but lacked adequate lighting were in need of updated carpets and bed comforters. Location is great if you are attending a Reds or Bengals game. Parking is $14 for in and out privileges.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryonG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)
Address: 10 East Rivercenter Boulevard, Covington, KY 41011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Cincinnati
Embassy Suites Covington
Covington Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing