We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I had a terrible experience in this hotel. I stayed one night for business and the room was filthy. There were hair pins everywhere and the bathroom wall appeared to be coated with dried vomit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNtravgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassyrc, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY), responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

We appreciate hearing your comments. We have a very high standard for attention to detail and for our levels of service. By reading your comments, it is obvious that we failed to adhear to these standards for which I truly apologize. Be assured that your comments will be personally reviewed with our Housekeeping staff for immediate corrective action. I am sure you will notice the improvements we have made upon visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Used Hilton Honors Points for a night here with my husband and toddler daughter. We were able to check in early which was a bonus with a child. We won the upgrade bid to a larger suite and it was much larger than the standard suite (rm 603) but it was in the corner (which made it quiet), dark, and musty smelling. The AC was not able to support the hotels needs so the room was stuffy and it just smelled like a cheap old musty room in the tropics. That was not enjoyable at all, especially when my daughter even said it stunk.

The service at the hotel was good, not above avg, but the staff was friendly. The elevators had sticky floors. Parking is not included but was included in the upgrade which was nice.

The hotel has a nice view from the breakfast room where the eggs are cooked, great omelette, not so great other choices. It was fine for a quick breakfast.

The bathroom has no place to hang a towel other than on the door or in the shower area. It would be convenient to have a towel holder near the sink to hang a damp hand towel.

The pool area was very humid (to be expected) and small. The pool was tiny for a hotel pool but was loved by all the children swimming.

This is an older hotel. It needs many udates and upgrades before I will return. There is a nice looking Marriott next door but who knows what that is like as well.

Room Tip: Try the Hilton bidding to get a cheap room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassyrc, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY), responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are upgrading the entire A/C system this week as the hot and humid weather has not allowed it to keep up. The hotel itself is on a continuous renovation program whereby we are making upgrades nearly every month. We value having you, appreciate your comments and look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We just returned from a 5 night stay here. Upon check-in, they didnt bother to tell us that the a/c was out in the rooms. We arrived to a miserably hot room, 82 degrees on the thermostat. After calling the front desk, they very quickly brought us a fan, but that only helped so much. I understand that this was beyond their control, and they were doing everything they could. We were there for a conference, so we were stuck and unable to move hotels. That aside, the breakfast and manager's reception were great, as usual. My daughter enjoyed the Macaw in the lobby area. The pool area is HOT and desperately needs some ventilation. The location is great. I felt very safe walking around with my three children in the area. It was also very convenient, right across the river from Cinci and across the street from the convention center. We also enjoyed having Noble Romans pizza in the lobby, very handy with kids. The a/c problem aside, I would stay there again. Employees were all extremely frendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradleybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesLisa, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY), responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you so much for your comments, and for your understanding of the situation. This was a completely unexpected occurrence, and we truly did our best to accommodate our guests during this air conditioning system outtage. We realize this was a big inconvenience to our guests, and we truly apologize. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Embassy Suites Rivercenter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

2 stars due to nice staff, otherwise 1.
Made reservations to stay @ Embassy Suites for Reds game. Hottest weekend of summer. Check in @ 3 - nope. AC in room after check in post game - nope. 85 degrees in rooms - many had their room door propped open for cooling. We left (luckily have family in Cincy) - no charges - very understanding desk staff, but chalk this up to bad timing, bad luck or bad maintenance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Muncie_IN_JohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesLisa, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY), responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are truly sorry for the air conditioning challenges you experienced, and appreciate your understanding that this was totally unexpected and unavoidable by the hotel. Please be assured that we had experts working through the weekend, and feel confident that the full repairs have been made. We welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future, and hope you will stay with us again.
Sincerely, Embassy Suites Rivercenter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very clean, up to date rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was good and manager's reception was very good. They were having a serious problem with air conditioning (resulting in a reduced rate) but bent over backwards to try and make the stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorettajeanNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I liked the outside of this hotel. Location is nice close to the river and stadium. Lobby area is also nice looking. The Embassy Suites dinner snacks and open bar is always good. But I just get so upset about paying more for a hotel and getting nickel and dime on other services. You have to pay for the internet. And you have to pay for EACH device. They did have two computers in the lobby and ONE where you could plug in, but most of the time I had to sit and wait. Also parking has a fee! I think I could have parked across the street in the parking lot cheaper than the hotel? Not sure but check. The rooms where out dated! They where clean but old. There was some funny air cleaner in my room that was suppose to be an upgrade? Maybe if they updated the hotel you would not need that air cleaner to hide the musty smells? The gym was a joke. The treadmills looked newer but both of them had things that where broken on the. There was no soap in the gym to wipe down the equipment and they looked like they had never been cleaned since they where put in there. I asked someone at the front desk the first day and there was still nothing in there when I left. There was a sign that they where going to be remodeling the gym in a couple of weeks. Cons are value...paid 190 a night to have to pay more for internet and parking. Then outdated rooms! And gym was in very poor condition! Pros location, beds where OK and a warm shower.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saaz801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at the Embassy Suites for a weekend away with my wife. We chose this hotel because of its location to the Reds stadium. When we arrived we saw a couple people with fans and really didn't think much about it. It turns out the A/C wasn't working in the rooms. It felt pretty good in the common areas, but it was between 80 and 82 in the rooms. We stayed that night because it was already late. In the morning they said they have no fix, so we asked them if they could find us another hotel. They called around and said all Hilton properties were sold out within 30 minutes from the hotel. I understand things happen and A/C breaks, but at least tell us when we are checking in instead of just letting us figure it out. Never again will I stay here. The hotel did say they will try reimburse us for our inconvience, but I still won't go back. They have to get all the reimbursements approved by the manager. There is a Hampton down the road in covington.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
0.0 mi away
Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Cincinnati Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Covington Cincinnati Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport / Cincinnati
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cincinnati Riverfront Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)

Address: 10 E Rivercenter Blvd, Covington, KY 41011-1508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range: $138 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Cincinnati area's only Hilton branded all suite, full service hotel. Awarded "best room with a view" of downtown Cincinnati and Ohio Riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Cincinnati
Embassy Suites Covington
Covington Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing