We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, moving soon”
Review of Europa Bistro - CLOSED

Europa Bistro
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Europa Bistro is an enchanting Restaurant located in the heart of Covington with a focus on European recipes and preparations. Europa Bistro is able to integrate the European philosophies of using the very freshest and the very best ingredients that are prepared from scratch with meticulous attention to detail. Our dinner menu changes every two weeks, so there’s always something new to discover. Find out why our customers are eager to return time after time to engage in yet another culinary experience in this unique restaurant.Come and relax in our dining room or our outside patio and let the taste of Europe and the warm decor sooth your spirit and relax your mind. Europa Bistro is a great place to gather with friends or family for a special occasion or just for a night out. Europa can accommodate parties small or large not to exceed 100 people. We also offer Catering to your special event.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
278 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 655 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, moving soon”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for Saturday brunch and were very pleased. I had the thin eggplant slices rolled around a creamy ricotta and linguini topped with a sublime marinara and mozzarella. My husband enjoyed a frittata with shrimp. Both dishes were served with terrific potatoes and fresh fruit. Fresh coffee was served in oversized mugs. We had fun talking to chef Nicola discussing food, wine and Italy. We also learned that the restaurant is moving soon to the Newport area where they will have much more space and parking and wine dinners on Sunday! Great for them!

Helpful?
4 Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in dining experience in Covington, KY”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just wanted to compliment the owner/chef and staff on an outstanding dining experience at the Europa. The menu is unique and delicious - serving goat, lamb, or wild boar with lots of vegetarian options. Guests are treated like family and the ambiance keeps us coming back! On weekends there is usually a musician playing in the background. I'm looking forward to visiting this restaurant again towards the end of March at their new digs in Covington, KY - closer to the Embassy Suites and the Ascent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 620Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
281 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant has been in Mainstrasse in Covington for 5 years. Why I hadn't been here before Jan 2013 still baffles me. It's certainly a loss that I hadn't experienced this on a frequent recurring basis.

Chef Nicola personally oversees his ever-changing creative menu. There are several recurring dishes, including the wild boar and lamb chops and pastas, but much of the menu is adjusted to fit seasonal ingredients. Chef is an original and he has a knack for blending tastes and spices in an original, and unusual way---a refreshing approach. The desserts, particularly the homemade cannoli, were fresh-made by Chef's wife. Superb food outing!

I particularly enjoyed the fact that the restaurant is a BYOB restaurant. I hadn't prepared for that, but Chef indicated a package store about a block and half where we could purchase the wine of our choice.

Because this was a new visit to his restaurant, Chef spent a good deal of the evening stopping by the table and explaining the courses and the preparation and checking on things. Service couldn't have been more spectacular or enjoyable. Loved it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NKyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
257 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Disappointed with not honoring Restaurant .com Coupon”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to this restaurant for at least a year. The chef is super nice and makes tasty dishes.

However, we had purchased a coupon from restaurant.com and it stated on the website it was an active coupon effective immediately. When we got our check and gave the waiter the coupon, he said "sorry but we don't honor restaurant.com coupons any longer and you need to contact them directly to get a refund".

First of all on the restaurant.com website the coupon was valid and active. The owner of Europa should be the person handling this issue and not the customer as this is a valid coupon and an inconvenience to the customer.

Strike number 2 was we wanted to order the dinner for 2 package and we had already ordered the appetizer so the waiter stated we could not order the dinner for 2 because we had ordered the appetizer first. This is ridiculous.

Even though the chef is great we won't be going back. Be aware of restaurant.com issues.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food by great chef”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A great little place with gourmet food. First time there and the meals were outstanding. The menu changes every 2 weeks with the favorites staying the same. Had the caprese, wild boar and filet mignon and all were outstanding. The chef (and owner?) visits all the tables and will explain in detail all the menu items if needed. It's a BYOB some be aware of that. Only negative was the wait staff seems to lack experience but not enthusiasm, not a big negative for us. We will be going back, Note that they only have about ten tables so reservations are a must on the weekends. Don't pass up the desserts, it's very convienent to pick them up to go as you leave.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europa Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing