We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't like the changes..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
Fl.
Level Contributor
166 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Don't like the changes..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having worked at the lodge for three summers in the 50's,I was most anxious to be there once again. We were not spending the night,just a visit. The lodge has been remodeled so many times,cut up,added to and ruined in my opiinion. What was once a roomy beautiful dinniing room is totally changed. The new office area does not match the rest of the lodge in decor. The beautiful views are not there to see as they are renovating the patio area now. The cabins looked very much the same. I understand they have been remodeled on the inside. It was sad to see what some consider improvements and progress!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pettitt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    123
    83
    35
    23
See reviews for
119
145
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The only reason we even went here was that we were camping and there was a bad storm and it was raining so hard we couldn't build a fire. We got there with about twenty minutes before they closed and were told they had no power from the storm and the only thing we could have was the buffet. That was fine with us. The problem was that everything was old and luke warm because they had no power to keep it hot. Pretty gross but we were still happy to have some food in a dry room. And then we got the bill. $33 for old, gross food. And then when we paid, the lady asked us if we enjoyed everything. Like everything was fine and up to standards. I'm not usually cheap. I would expect to pay that or a lot more for a decent meal. But I just was appalled that they would charge that for nasty old food that they were going to throw out in a few minutes anyway. It just felt like a big waste of money.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corbin hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The only complaint is that the patio area overlooking the river was closed for renovation and this wasn't stated on the website when booking. The rooms were small but adequate. Everything was clean and the hotel restaurant was very good. The walls were thin, so you could hear conversations from the hall and other rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

A group of 20 or so family members met there after a wedding. We had rooms in the lodge, Woodland rooms and Cabins. The renovated cabins were the most popular. All other accommodations were a bit old, worn. The beds were good. I stayed in a woodland room, mini-fridge microwave included (not in lodge rooms). It was comfortable, but could have been cleaner. Found a large potato chip on bathroom floor and that was hard to miss. All had ac, but I had to change rooms to get one that worked well. No one else had ac issues. The walls in the Woodland rooms are a little thin.
ALSO: the lodge patio was under construction which involved jackhammers. ASK about this. I would not have stayed in the lodge.
The reception mentioned AAA discount right AFTER taking my payment. ASK first.
The cabins all had a strong fire smell from the fireplaces. Opening windows helped, but someone with asthma or breathing issues might prefer a room.
We ALL enjoyed the hiking, careful some of the trails are strenuous, and the pool. The fall is beautiful.
Picnic tables around the cabins were a great place to finish our day. Pack in what you need because the nearest grocery is about 30 minutes away.
The food at the lodge was good, not great. The food at the concession stand was awful and to be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: The lodge is under construction. Woodland rooms are big but not renovated. If you need 2 bedrooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
302 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Lodge is currently undergoing renovations to their decks and so there is no place to sit and look down on the river. To be honest, the view is not overly spectacular, although probably it is more beautiful during fall color season. Our "view" room was quiet and adequate, but the view was some tree tops, not scenic vistas. I thought the bed was fine, my husband thought it was awful. The room does have a funky smell, although it appeared to have a relatively new headboard and dresser, lamps and carpet, but older chairs and an ancient TV. It was reasonably clean. Wifi worked in the room when the hotel was relatively empty, but as people came in the speed went down and you had to go to the lobby area to get signed in at all. Obviously it is not adequate for today when everyone travels with a computer. There are lots of places where upgrades and repairs are needed, but it is very inexpensive and the Cumberland Falls are very attractive and less than a mile away. Our dinner was the worst we have ever had in a State Park, but some of that might be due to the re-location of the dining room and disruptions in work flow. At least it was not expensive. We would gladly have paid more for a better experience. The pool is a public pool located about .5 miles from the hotel and we did not check it out. Our room was at the end of a hall so we were pleased that we had no noise issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

we stayed in a woodland room, like a condo cabin, nicely furnished, small kitchen, no plates or silverware, microwave, fridge, no stove. grill outside, small setting porch, quiet, sits among trees, we have stayed in the lodge before, thought this woodland room was just as nice. short walk to the lodge for restaurant. restaurant was being remodeled but they improvised nicely. staff are friendly. Falls is always great, lots of hiking trails if that's what your in to.

Room Tip: woodland room is good for 2 people, more than that get a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcscriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited the resort a week ago for a three-night stay in one of the Woodland rooms. During check-in the young man at the desk actually asked about my request for a room with a view & accommodated us with one on a hill and it was beautiful. The room was very large and clean and the kitchenette was much larger than expected. It was extremely quiet and the cabin had a deck with two chairs and a table to enjoy the wooded view, which we did. They even have daily maid service in these rooms. We visited the restaurant a few times and thought the food was very good and the waitresses couldn't have been nicer. As a matter of fact, everyone involved in the running of the resort was like that. They were all very friendly and helpful and treated you like a VIP. We are definitely going to return, asap, for a short get-away and will be requesting a Woodland room again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusiRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbin
15.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Corbin
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Corbin
Hampton Inn Corbin
#1 of 12 in Corbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
12.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corbin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Cumberland Inn and Museum
Cumberland Inn and Museum
#2 of 4 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corbin Inn
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Corbin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge

Property: Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge
Address: 7351 Hwy. 90, Corbin, KY 40701-8814
Location: United States > Kentucky > Corbin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Hotel Corbin
Dupont Lodge Cumberland Falls
Cumberland Falls State Hotel Dupont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing