We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are expecting something like a Marriott property, you will be disappointed. This is an old lodge in a state park.....pretty dated but it has a rustic charm. We lucked out and it was "Bluegrass Jam" night in the lodge - this seems to take place every couple of Saturdays. Local folks come in and play music in the lobby and on the patio. Fun! We stayed in the lodge (there are also some cabins), and the room was adequate. Beds were not great, but we have had worse. At least the windows opened! Only one room in the lodge has a water view - so ask for a wooded view on the third floor (you have to climb one flight of stairs). The Falls are 1/2 mile down the road, but you can see the river from the outdoor patio and also from their restaurant area. The food in the restaurant was good for a state park. Buffet dinner and breakfast with some decent selections. They seem to keep the dining room really COLD, so take a sweater. I think the buffet price was $9.99 for dinner and $7.99 for breakfast. Don't miss visiting the falls - really lovely and if you go when there is a full moon - you will get to see "moon bows." We missed those but there was a rainbow around 10:30 AM there. Other than that I would say there isn't too much to do - might have to be creative in keeping kids entertained if you stay for more than one night. Oh, take shampoo and conditioner if you don't like "conditioning shampoo." They do have hair dryers and plenty of towels.

Room Tip: Try to get a woods view - not one of the parking lot or one near the lobby. People tend to be reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkaymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 395 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nothing fancy, but can make do.
Giant cob web at the entrance to the cabin.
Next you open the door to heavily stained carpet that needs cleaned or replaced desperately.
Would also recommend the living room couch and chairs be replaced with something nicer. Also maybe have 1 recliner for older folks to put their feet up ( due to swelling from travel) would be nice.
My daughter turning her bed down and finding a giant dead ant on the sheets wasn't inviting.
Lots of dead bugs in 1 downstairs bathroom .. (Also my daughters bath)
Overall could use a better cleaning, even if someone would have swept up the dead bugs before our check in would have been a start.
Beds were very comfortable, my pillows were nice although my daughter didn't care for her pillows.
Mentioned some things at checkout and was told there are bugs in the woods , that do get in cabins... It's rustic.

The lodge itself is nice. Love the views, love the falls. And the restaurant has good food on the buffet. You won't go away hungry. The Catfish, mashed potatoes/gravy, roast beef and vegetables were especially good.
Breakfast, love the biscuit /gravy, eggs, bacon and potatoes were our favorites.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank north2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a charming, stone lodge with fireplaces, wood floors, and a very nice terrace with a beautiful view of the river. The amenities are simple, in keeping with a relaxed, 1940's feel of the lodge. Our room was big enough for the 3 of us without feeling cramped. Yes, there were exposed pipes in the closet, peeling paint on the doors and water-marks on the ceiling in the bathroom, but to me, it wasn't a big deal as it lent to the older, rustic, simple, feel of the lodge. Our only complaint with our room was a saggy mattress which was not to our liking but still comfortable enough to manage to sleep on. We enjoyed our stay very much but at the same time felt like the cost of the room was very over-priced compared to lodge rooms at our state parks. Loved the big comfy hammocks in front of the lodge and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KKlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

this place is so peace full and relaxing and has the most beautiful views and close to the falls and many trails and also the food was great.Has alot of aminals to watch and the most friendly
people you will ever meet.

Room Tip: cabins are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 78Vicki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel has a lot of charm. My wife and I stayed here as part of our visit to Cumberland Falls. The hotels location coupled with its location made it a great choice for a one night stay. We walked to the Falls from the lodge. The main lodge where we stayed is showing its age, but overall it is in good shape. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I always love a trip to Cumberland Falls , but going to the Falls and visiting the Lodge is even better. My friends and I did not stay , but enjoyed an afternoon visit. There was the quiet of the area in the back of the Lodge where there are chairs to relax and enjoy the view of the Cumberland River. There are the hammocks to relax in out front and if you are interested a pool to be lazy. White water rafting and horseback riding are close by as well. This is a great place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentuckywild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you’re the kind that wants everything to be perfect than this place is probably not for you. It’s an old building that is showing its age in places. I liked it but I like the charm and history of old buildings. They have old picture of the building and the area in the great room with stories of the history of Cumberland Falls. Our room was fine and clean, the bed was comfortable. We were in a river view room. The view of the river would have been better in the late fall after the trees had lost their leaves. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. For dinner they have a nice buffet. It’s not advertised but you can ask for soup and salad bar only for about half the price of the full buffet. They have a nicely stocked salad bar so the soup and salad was plenty. For breakfast I recommend their breakfast sandwiches, they’re very good.

They have wifi in the lobby and great room but not in the guest rooms. The great room is nice so it’s a nice place to set and use the wifi. If other guests aren't letting their children run wild. One morning it was quiet and peaceful one morning we had noisy children running around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbin
13 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corbin
15.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Corbin
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Corbin
Hampton Inn Corbin
#2 of 12 in Corbin
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
#1 of 4 in Williamsburg
452 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Corbin Inn
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Corbin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge

Address: 7351 Hwy. 90, Corbin, KY 40701-8814
Location: United States > Kentucky > Corbin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
Price Range: $46 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Hotel Corbin
Dupont Lodge Cumberland Falls
Cumberland Falls State Hotel Dupont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing