We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Friendly Staff, Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
Reviewed July 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed here as a mid-point drive from Atlanta, GA to Portsmouth, OH.
Our original reason in choosing this hotel was to simply to have a nearby hotel to see Cumberland Falls. However, this hotel was a pleasant surprise and a great value in its own right. I didn't expect too much originally when I made the reservation because our room cost was only $79.
The room was exceptionally large and well furnished, with a California king size bed, large closet space, a table, a desk, two easy chairs, wireless internet, cable TV, and a very large bathroom. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean. Two large windows provided a beautiful view of the park.
All of the staff that we dealt with (resort manager, front desk personnel, resaurant manager, restaurant staff) were exceptionally friendly and helpful. This hotel has a great nature program, with about four different presentations every day. The park ranger's evening presentation and demonstration of local owls was particularly good.
We are planning to return again, next time with our grandchildren.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrMissile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 396 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2008

This comment is for the dinner at the restaurant. The ladies Group from our church, went out to the lodge on Sat. night. One of the co-chairman, called a couple weeks earlier to see if we need reservations, because we were going as a group. They told her no we did not need reservations, come and they would make a area for us to all sit together. We got there around 5 p.m. and told the hostess there was 12 of us, and could we sit together as a group, She said, "No that was not possible, it would create too much confusion." So we sat at two tables. The food was terrible, we all got the bar, which was $12.00 with a drink and tip was $17.00. The chicken was dry and no flavor, the carrots tasted like water, the potatos were cold, fish and frog legs were ok. They did not have the roast beef. One of our ladies is a cook for the school, and she made the comment whoever was cooking this food, didn't know much about cooking. Some of us never got a refill on our drinks, and those that did, only got one refill. The only thing that was good was the dessert and the view. Our group will not go back, and they took in a nice piece of change from us. The hostess was not pleasant at all, and all of us will definetly tell our family and church friends, not to go out there for dinner.

Stayed: April 2008
4  Thank baglady08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Stayed here for a week at an Elderhostel program. The Lodge retains the charm of a 1940's rustic, with gas fireplaces in the public areas, however the lodge rooms are very modern and comfortable. There is a second large lobby area with a big screen tv and board games. People gather to make puzzles provided by the front desk or just chat without disturbing other guests. There is Wifi service in lobby, however cell phone service is limited in park (you are 20 miles from Corbin). If you are on a budget, ask for a cabin where you can cook, since the restaurant is a little pricey (dinner buffet is $12) and the drive to town is not feasible for every meal. The staff is wonderful, will accomodate every request they possibly can. Prices are very reasonable. Saw the moonbow on 3/20/08!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Slotmachinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We ate here recently on our visit to the Cumberland Falls State Resort Park in Corbin, KY. The restaurant is located in the Dupont Lodge, a historical hotel complex in the state park. The hotel is lovely, and the restaurant has lovely views of the Cumberland River. There is a nice patio/deck outside, but I don't know if they serve meals out there. One of us had the Saturday night buffet, and 2 of us had a pasta dinner. All were okay, nothing to give a good comment about however. There was a dead fly in DH's iced tea glass, at the bottom, which was not noticed til late in the drink-lol. A yellow jacket accompanied the arrival of my pasta, and the waitress was afraid of it and back away, where as DH had to get up and kill it, which drew a number of eyes towards our table-again lol. I thought at this point the waitress would have offered us a dessert, or had a manager come by our table, or not charged my DH for his meal, but no, she refilled his iced tea in another glass and said sorry, once, very quietly. She did not show herself much, and we had to ask for the check, twice. None of the restaurant staff was that friendly, so I would not bother coming back again to eat, though again, the lodge is an enjoyable place to stay.

4  Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

My husband and I decided after 22 years of marriage and no honeymoon that it was time now that the kids are grown to get away. He asked me where I wanted to go and I told him I would love to see a waterfall. The rest is history. We passed the Dupont Lodge by the first time because we were sure it was not in our budget. On the second pass we decided to stop. We went in an inquired about the cost of a room. When the lady behind the counter quoted the price we thanked her and were going to disappointedly leave. She said wait, maybe I can do better. Better she did and we got to stay. My husband went to sign the receipt and realized he didn't have his glasses. The sweet woman behind the counter took hers off and handed them to him with a smile. What awesome service! Our room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable and the bedding was spotless. The dining area offers a wonderful view of the river and varied wildlife right outside the window. This is an awesome place to stay and I would recommend it to any and everyone!!!! I will never forget it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We stayed in one of the Woodland rooms after checking with the Park the morning we were supposed to leave and found out they had a cancellation. The Woodland rooms are nice and are actually a duplex type building. Each "side" of the duplex has its own little porch and a city park type charcoal grill close by. Most of the Woodland rooms I saw close to us also had a picnic table near the grill. We used the grill the first night we arrived to cook some hamburgers and hotdogs and it worked well. However, in order to use the grill I had to jump a 4 foot fence/railing used to get you down the steps to the front door.

The Room was clean as a whistle everywhere. I was impressed that the rooms were as clean as they were considering the building is very old. The bed was really comfortable and we slept really soundly the 2 nights we were there. The Woodland Rooms also have a small kitchen area with a fridge (a little bigger than a dorm type fridge) a microwave and a small coffee maker. It also had a couple of coffee cups and 2 glasses and a small sink with some dishwashing soap for doing th dishes. If you have one of these rooms make sure you bring everything you need if you want to cook. This includes knives and forks as there is NO silverware whatsoever.

I was not impressed with the dining room food or service in the lodge dining room. The food was OK but nothing to write home about and the buffet will cost you 13.00 about any time you eat there. Some of our family ate almost every meal in the dining room and ordered off the menu because the buffet did not look to good. The lodge and cabins were solf out and you have no other option but to eat at the lodge for meals unless you bring food or want to drive 30 minutes or so to Corbin to eat.

The pool was nice but was just a pool. Nothing much for the kids to do except just swim and splash each other. Reminds me of the way pools used to be 25 years ago. The park was nice but everything was really spread out. Cumberland Falls is a short 5 minute drive away down a mountain or you can take the "steps" down the side of the mountain from the lodge...but remember...you have to climb back up those "steps"!

We would stay here again but be much more prepared to fend for ourselves with food next time. If you want to stay in a Woodland Room or one of the bigger cottages plan your stay in advance as far as you can. This place stays booked when the kids are out of school.

Our family members that stayed in the lodge echoed some of the reviews I have read here...You can hear everything going on in the hallways. If somebody is having a conversation you will hear every word they say. Also the slamming of the doors seemed to go on all night. If you are a light sleeper you may want to take some ear plugs.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mcftlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

We stayed one night at the dupont lodge and we LOVED it.It was VERY clean(VERY VERY clean bathrooms)and the beds slept wonderful.The food was good and the staff very friendly.It was a beautiful place with lots of flowers.We would love to come back again for a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank spellbound_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbin
15.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Corbin
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Corbin
Hampton Inn Corbin
#2 of 12 in Corbin
530 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
#1 of 4 in Williamsburg
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Corbin
13 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corbin
12.6 mi away
Best Western Corbin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge

Address: 7351 Hwy. 90, Corbin, KY 40701-8814
Location: United States > Kentucky > Corbin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
Price Range: $70 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Hotel Corbin
Dupont Lodge Cumberland Falls
Cumberland Falls State Hotel Dupont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing