We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Cumberland Falls and the surrounding woodlands are beautiful and well worth a visit but the lodge restaurant is not good. The food was average and the whole place was grubby and run down and had a rather unpleasant smell but what really spoiled it for us was that despite the place being near empty we were told that we could not have a table by the window (the views are stunning) as they are for 4 people (they were not laid up) and we were 5 people. We said we were happy squashing up or could we push 2 tables together but the woman said no and was most unhelpful. I couldn't believe it - I thought US prided itself on customer service! Instead of it being an enjoyable meal out it felt like a challenge to get through as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    123
    83
    35
    23
See reviews for
119
145
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I just spent the weekend in the lodge, and were very disappointed. Our room was tiny, and did not have the queen-size bed that was advertised. The photos they post on their website are entirely misleading. The entire lodge is dirty and run down, and the staff is unprofessional. The dining hall is overpriced and the food was terrible. We were nearly sick from eating it for only 2 days. The falls and trails are great, but we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corbin hotels

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
482 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

If we were grading just the lodging and bedroonms, we'd give a 3 rating, but this resort is all about the setting. We wanted a few days away from the hustle and bustle. We were very pleased with the location near the Cumberland Falls. The lodge is quite aged, but some recnet renovations made it an enjoyable experience, For the sake of the location you need to overlook that it is a state park and operated by state employees.
The restaurant is convenient but overpriced for what is offered. The buffet should be avoided.
The observation deck overlooks the Cumberland river and is a wonderful scenic view. The dozens of goldfinches make it fun for the bird lovers and the family of racoons down below will come out and beg for snack offerings is entertaining.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms are okay, but Woodland rooms have more privacy and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BandB-Lovers_30-yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently spent a week at Cumber Falls Resort and Cabins (July 2012). It was very picturesque with lots of good hiking trails. Checking into the cabins is 4 PM even though the web site says 'late afternoon', this story changed depending on who we asked on our day of arrival (2:30 pm) and when clarification was asked on the different times, we were abruptly told that we should know it was 4 pm although it was not posted anywhere on the contract. We did eat lunch at the resort one day and we were very disappointed with the quality. All of the meat was fried (i.e.) fried pork chop, country fried steak and the potatoes did appear (and taste) to be instant but the salad bar had a of good variety. There was 2 types of soup, white bean and chicken noodle, but so watery that it was tasteless (and I love soup!) I did not have the fish but someone at the table did and while it was soaking in butter, he did say it was flavorful. The restaurant does over look the river, but the staff will not accommodate groups of great than four sitting at the windows, we had 5, and they would not put an extra chair at a window table even though the restaurant was only 50% full. The hotel in general needs a good overall, worn carpet on the stairs, and water leaks/falling dry wall on the restaurant ceiling. Getting a good customer service desk person was challenging as some of the staff in general are not very friendly. Be warned, it is mostly a DRY county (i.e.) no alcohol at all at the resort but some grocery stores do sell beer but know before you go that if having a glass of wine with dinner is important for you, call the establishment as some places are 'moist' (i.e.) can sell alcohol with food (I know there is a ratio rule but cannot quote it.) It's a good place for hiking and seeing the mountains but the resort was disappointing for both the staff and the food as we ended cooking more than we wanted to in the cabin. It is not on my list to return to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie_Travels_29601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Thomas, KY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband, myself and 2 teenaged daughters stayed in one of the cottages. It was very clean, attractive, and pleasant. We brought food with us and were able to cook in the kitchen. Only thing it lacked was a dishwasher, but that wasn't a big issue. There were 2 1/2 bathrooms, one in each bedroom and a 1/2 off the hallway near the front door. Girls didn't like the fact that there were no hair dryers in the bathrooms, but again, not a major problem.

This particular cottage was a 2-story, with the bedrooms downstairs and the living, dining and kitchen upstairs. There was also a hide-a bed in the living room area, so a large group could sleep 10 if needed. The stairway faced huge windows that looked out onto the woods, and I imagine it would be a breath-taking view in fall with the colorful leaves. We were there in summer, so everything was green.

Only other possible complaint was that cell service and WiFi was non-existent except in the lobby of the lodge, so be aware of that. Our one daughter had some business to attend to, and had to take her laptop to the lodge when she wanted to get online.

We cooked most of our meals in the cottage, but did try the restaurant one evening, despite some of the negative reviews here. Unfortunately, we also have to give a thumbs down for the restaurant. They appeared to be understaffed, and our waitress was very friendly and attentive, but simply stretched too thin. We tried 4 different menu entrees, and none was very good. Not terrible, but just ok. Maybe the buffet would have been better, but we thought it was pricey.

Overall, the cottage was great, and the best part is being in this wonderful park. We were very fortunate to get to see the moonbow, even though the day was cloudy and we didn't think our chances were very good. My advice on that, is be patient. The estimated timing of the moonbow was 11p.m. to 1 a.m. We arrived about 10:30, and FINALLY by 12:30 the clouds cleared, the moon was bright, and we did get the thrill of seeing the moonbow. Husband had a tri-pod and used a long exposure to get a great picture.

We did some hiking and went canoeing, so overall a great trip for enjoying nature.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunnyTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The setting is lovely. Bluegrass music on the porch Monday night--and the moonbow was really cool. You are close to great hikes, kayaking, fishing, horseback riding. I can't say the room was great and the wifi cut out at the end of our stay, but that wasn't the purpose of this trip. The stone lodge, built by the CCC, is beautiful. It was a true break from day-to-day.

The dining room is old style Southern food...good, not great.

Room Tip: We should have chosen the Woodland rooms with our two teens. It would have offered more space and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rekha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I went in Summer 2012. It had been a nice place to visit a couple years back. This last time was totally different. First off our room we were given looked like an attic. They had put two beds in a room that should of only had one. Then they had a tiny TV at the foot of the first bed that you had to walk by to get to the second bed. These are all things I could live with if need be. What got me worse than anything was the bathroom. It was absolutely pathetic. The toilet seat looked dirty, and actually was broken from its hinges. How could a maid miss that if she had cleaned it? There were hairs in the tub. The mirror looked like it was cleaned with a dirty rag. The counter had spots that looked like no cleaning had even taken place. My husband and I went to the front desk for help. The lady really tried to help us by putting us in a different room. We went to look at it,and it was dirty like the first. The commode seat looked nasty! The mirror also looked greasy. Even the carpet was nasty in their hallways. Needless to say, we told her we would be leaving. She told us that she didn't know if we would be refunded or not, and that the management would have to decide. I'm still not sure if my husband was ever refunded. It was all such a let down. I wouldn't want anyone to have to go through this on a trip. I would recommend staying in Somerset,Corbin, or London if you are going to Cumberland Falls.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank all_rdy2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbin
15.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Corbin
12.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corbin
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Corbin
Hampton Inn Corbin
#1 of 12 in Corbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Cumberland Inn and Museum
Cumberland Inn and Museum
#2 of 4 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Corbin
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corbin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge

Property: Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge
Address: 7351 Hwy. 90, Corbin, KY 40701-8814
Location: United States > Kentucky > Corbin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Hotel Corbin
Dupont Lodge Cumberland Falls
Cumberland Falls State Hotel Dupont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing