We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent an mind blowing place with lakes and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
bangalore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent an mind blowing place with lakes and excellent service”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

really a cute and quiet place with spacious rooms and everything is worth mentioning.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    235
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
227
164
26
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2010

It was an awesome experience .. mystay at ramada Cochin. truely dedicated staff along with the amenities provided by the hotel makes it a must stay place in cochin. there is also a pool with a floating bar that makes the stay there more enjoyable.the staff there takes good care of us and makes us feel that we are staying at our own home.

it give good value for the pricing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin_iB4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2010

What a great hotel. Too bad we were there only for one night. One of the nicest hotel rooms I have seen. The surroundings was great with a nice lake. Nice and big pool with a bar that was closed during our short stay.
During our stay it was almost no one else staying there. So it was kinda akward in the restaurant with probably five different young waiters who stumbled around trying to make our dinner the best. Thank you guys:)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ztiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai Indian
Level Contributor
781 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

One of the finest locations for a hotel.On the banks of a beautiful lake and the rooms having a fantastic view of the lake. unbelievable for a city hotel.
the property is nicely spread out and the rooms are all on the first level---a great way to create rooms with a view.
Very long and impressive swimming pool running along the lake is great.
The rooms are well maintained.
But the switches system can be more user friendly---difficult to locate switches for lights in some of the areas.

the stafff are very very courteous ---some times one feel that they are so courteous that they have lost speed/agility ,when needed.
There are small disappointments like no shoe mint in the rooms, sugar is aked etc. But overall a fantastic experience.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed at the Ramada during the fag end of our Kerala trip (after doing all the 'touristy' bit). In Kochi, we had stayed at the Koder House, which we though was impressive, so when we moved to Ramada, the awesomeness hit us full-on.

The guys at Ramada were extremely professional, right from the start - from booking to even calling us up in the morning at our previous hotel to find out when they should pick us up. They were very accommodating, and made changes to the intinerary to suit us without a single question asked. They even let us check in more than an hour earlier than was scheduled.

While driving to the resort from the city, when we almost reached, it appeared that I had made a wrong decision: we seemed to be in the middle of nowhere, going thru thin dirt roads... but then suddenly, as if my magic, we entered this massive place (it's built on 8 acres).

The huge lobby, and the efficient people, greet you with so much warmth, it begins to sink in that we're going to be pampered. Then one of the guys takes us to the room, and the beauty begins to unfold. The location is simply beautiful, with greenery everywhere, and bits of modern sculptures thrown in for effect. The rooms are all built on concrete stilts, and a row of them (the one we had) overlooked the pool and further on, the lake.

The room we were taken to (lake view cottage), was a crisp, very chic, modern room, unlike any other we've been to. It was a technical marvel too, there was a control panel and a remote to control everything in the room, from the foot lights to the aircon to the balcony lights. The room was wood paneled, and they had obviously turned on the aircon while we were walking to it, because it was already cool when we entered.

There's free wi-fi in every room (and not just a common one - they actually have a wireless router in every room)... not that we intended using it, but good to know that it's there in case one wants to send out pictures (and it's so lovely here, that you will!).

Stepping out into the balcony, we saw the pool. And what a view! When we saw the pictures on their website, we dismissed them as pictures that are anyway shot to make things look good, but in this instance, no picture can do justice to what lay before us. A huge, long, serpentine pool, with a kiddie pool by the side, and beyond that a huge lake (which stretched as far as the eye could see) with totally still waters. In the night, it was so quiet that you could hear leaves dropping in the lawn. If you want to be meditate, or think, or write a book, this is the place to be. The wife's been to resorts in Bali, and she found this one much better.

The restaurant is a large one, with live music in the evening (only on weekends?). The food is simple amazing, the best we had in Kerala, The preparations were authentic, and they cooked up stuff on request (my four-year-old is a bit finicky with food, but they put up with his tantrums very well!).

The bar is very well stocked with wine, and serves very good cocktails (the ingredients could've been of better brands). There's an island bar in the pool, but it's towards the deep end, so it's best to go there if you know how to swim, or at least to be in a tube (like I was). There's nothing in the bar, as such, so when you place an order the drink comes in from inside, so it can take a while.

They have an ayurveda spa, where we got a complementary head and neck massage. The one I had (given by a guy) wasn't all that good, but the one my wife had (a lady did her's) was pretty good according to her. Some other guests also shared my view about the guy not being all that great. Give the wife a treat, get her a full-body massage. You might need to book one a few hours in advance. There's a fully-equipped gym as well, free for use by the guests (at least it was for us!)

The Ramada can't be beaten, be it in sheer size, the quality of service, the rooms, the pool, and the amazing pool. I'll surely like to visit again. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtybluejeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I stayed at the Ramada Resort. House keeping was good, on time and food was really nice. I like food at star hotels but this one was really nice, breakfast was the finest selection of continental, north and south indian and they made the most, room service or the restaurant staff they were all simply great and with a genuine smile. I will Surely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syamir87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This was our first stop in Kerala after getting off the plane around 11 at night from Melbourne. The hotel had sent a driver to collect us. In the crowd of many colours, we spotted a sign being held up by a tall man sporting a traditional Indian Kurta but his hairy long legs gave him away as Gerry, a friend of ours from the UK! Somehow he had persuaded the driver to swap stations! With the real driver at the wheel, 40 minutes later we were sitting outside our room with a Kingfisher in hand! Though the hotel is a little off the beaten track, the rooms are superbly designed and appointed and although they don't necessarily reflect the culture of Kerala they're certainly not formulaic or sterile. The hotel is relatively new and modern but it does its best at blending in with the landscape. This was the perfect place to catch our breath before launching ourselves into the helter-skelter world of Kerala. Breakfast too was excellent and we feasted on freshly made dhosas and tall tales of cricket before heading off to the superb pool for a swim. This is certainly a place we would return to.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0bbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
9.3 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Property: Ramada Resort Cochin
Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing