We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place to stay outside Cochin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in this resort in February 2014 and can confirm most of the already existing comments. Hospitality and service were great and the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially with an injury of my girlfriend. The food in the restaurant was worth to stay there in the evening.
As an experienced Asia traveller I also can understand some of the 'not so nice' arguments but how long do you want to search until you'll find a place that fulfils all expectations for a reasonable price?
And if you're sitting on your balcony overlooking the lake some minor issues might be forgotten quite fast.
Short note: if you are planning to come back to this place by an autoriksha from the city you should be prepared to show the driver the way to this resort ;-)

Room Tip: if possible, take a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf_Hamburg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

I thank you for taking your time out to write a wonderful review. I have passed on your compliments to the team.

We hope to see you back here for a longer stay !

Suresh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 653 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice Resort in close to Nature, situated on the bank of back waters are the KEY highlight of this hotel. Quality of food and service is at its class and no doubt a best choice for a family vacation. I strongly recommend to experience this nature touching feel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Srinivas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Mr. Srinivas,

Namaskaram !!

Thank you for taking time out to write a wonderful review. Your comments have been passed on to the team. We hope to see you back again at the resort !

Regards,

Suresh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night at the start of our tour of Kerala.
Whilst some distance from Cochin airport and we did have to double back the next day it was worthwhile for the quality of the hotel and it's location.
It was very quiet and had excellent views of the waterways and a wonderful swimming pool.
We used the leisure centre which was perfectly adequate,although you do have to go exploring to turn on lights,machines and AC.
We used the main restaurant for our evening meal and were very impressed with the choice of menu and the food and service was excellent.
I would also like to praise the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff we encountered.
So if you are staying only one night or longer I would recommend that you consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a cottage overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorshamMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

I thank you for taking your time out to write a wonderful review. I have passed on your compliments to the team.

We hope to see you back here for a longer stay !

Suresh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Location is very important when you are looking for a 5 star hotel in Kochi.
Many of the 5 star hotels are located near busy roads. If you are looking for the perfect location Ramada Resort is probably your best option. The rooms near the swimming pool ( I think the largest pool in South India) are superb. Wonderful views over the backwaters over Kochi.
Quite and romantic Staff is very friendly - breakfast / buffet diners are great value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms around the swimming pool facing the backwaters are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

I thank you for taking your valuable time out to write a wonderful review. I have passed on your compliments to the team.

We hope to see you back at the Ramada Resort !

Suresh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The space at Ramada is absolutely beautiful and for the most part the staff really were absolutely lovely, especially the team at the restaurant and the hotel drivers. The other guests were quiet and kept to themselves. I enjoyed the spa, and the breakfasts were fantastic and I watched every sunrise and sunset from my balcony. It was spectacular. I had deliberately selected a quiet place far away from the city and for the most part got that. 5 stars on this aspect. We did not find the space worn out as others have said. The space is top notch and very comfortable. However, we there were problems: we bought a package (stay + food + other things) which was completely overpriced for what we got. Next time I would just rent the room and do ala carte on everything else. We were supposed to get a water view but got a tree view and had to request a room change. Room service comes quick (awesome!) but dishes aren't taken away the same day (ug). Biggest problem: The events. We were there 3 nights. One night a wedding kept us awake. Another night, they had an event in the center space which was so loud due to the sound system being used. We had to shout to hear each other in our own room. I had to pass through the center of the party to get to my room, and our tables marked "private for guests" were invaded completely. That evening was absolutely unbearable and very stressful. After our request, we got another room for sleeping in because there was no way we could have slept through the noise. We couldn't even think or talk it was so loud. We paid $250+ per night for stay, and were shocked to have something like this happen. Really it felt completely unprofessional for the hotel to book events right in the middle of the sleeping areas. This experience was a good reminder of what I already knew from years of traveling in this Country: traveling in India can be a challenge. While there are hotel gems, there are more often problems at every hotel. I might stay at this hotel again, I just should have much lower expectations about the experience I might have. Maybe next time I will stay at a less expensive place so I am more willing to tolerate problems. Or I will stay here and take my chances.

Room Tip: Lagoon view is best. You can ask for a lagoon view not near the pool. We liked that the best, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChefHaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

I apologise for the late reply.

I truly apologise for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We never take a function in the courtyard. This is the first time we had taken the function and this was due to certain unavoidable reason.

Let me assure you , that this is the first and last time we will ever conduct a party in the courtyard.

Regards,

Suresh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I went to ramada resort for a night stay with my husband and 6 yr daughter on jan 27 monday.we stayed at room no:106 lake facing cottage.At the same night when i entered into the bathroom i slipped on the tiled bathroom and fell down as a result my left ankle got fractured and my knee got dislocated.the slipper provided in the room was very skidy and there was no anti slip safety mat.the injury was reported to the hotel,the staff were ready to assist us and very co operative especially the cab driver who assist us to the nearby lakeshore hospital.I dont receive any co operation from the hotel manager.the hotel authorities did not refund the amount we paid.I am not satisfied with the attitude of the hotel corporate people.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank teenaanup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

We regret for the unfortunate experience you had in the resort. We had assisted you the best possible way in the circumstances.

Regards,

Suresh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Nair J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,066 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
5.9 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
931 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
805 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range: $50 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing