We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort at a great location, Excellent view, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Resort at a great location, Excellent view, Great Service”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited Ramada resort during Christmas holidays. The resort is right by the lake. We stayed at the cottages which have a brilliant view and a great interior. Service is quite prompt and staff is cordial. We have tw young kids so the play area was very helpful. Pools are excellent. Resort has a multi cuisine and a Mexican restaurant. Mexican restaurant opens only in the evenings which we we not told and that disturbed our plan a bit. Resort has a comprehensive Spa. Overall, a great relaxing experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

Thank you for taking time out to write a wonderful review. I regret that the person who escorted you to the room did not brief you about the timings of the Mexicana restaurant. I apologise for any inconvenience caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    241
    68
    22
    14
See reviews for
239
169
26
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel is over 1 hour drive from the interrnational airport, during off peak times and at rush hour it is considerably longer.We had reviewed a number of hotels in Cochin before we opted for this one.

Bad
The deluxe rooms are anything but. The views of the gardens are an exaggeration as it is not a pleasing view.

The Mexican restaurant is mexican in name only. My food was served cold twice despite it being a hot meal. The drinks never arrived, and the waitress did not understand english nor did she send anyone over to take the order despite giving the impression she had taken the order. When I tried to complain there was no management in to take to our compliant.The chef waived our charges.

The games room is accesses through a dark and tight corridor. The room is most unwelcoming. The games consisted a broken chess board, a darts board with no darts, a table tennis table and bats with no balls. PS 3 with 2 games ( I did not test to see if it worked) as i left the room quickly.

The gym is unstaffed and just adequate for a small hotel.It is not state of the art, my home gym is equipped just as well. The cd machine worked although there was only one cd and the amplifier was broken.There is only one multi gym apparatus, small number of free weights and a few cardio machines.

The children's play ground is joke but not amusing.Thank god they did not go with us as they would have been bored after 5 minutes

We asked the front desk for details of some excursions that we could take, these never arrived although we did not chase either,

The hotel is at least 30 minutes drive from the heart of cochin and is accessed by a short drive through an unsavoury lane, thank god there were two tiers of perimeter secuirty check points to provide the reassurance of safety.

Good.

We opted for the cottage after seeing the size and view from the deluxe room. The views from the cottages are fantastic, the balcony is great for lounging on and the room size is great for a couple. The staff were tight on replacing the free toiletries but we had taken our own.The satellite tv provides access to indian channels only. We requested an iron and ironing board which arrived promptly.

Wifi is free and speeds are great. There is no mp3 connectivity in rooms for guests to plug in their own audio / visual equipment.

The pool looks greats but we did not use it. The jacuzzi was switched off most times and the pool bar was not attended.

We dinned in the fennel restaurant , this is a gem. We had advised the hotel that we required gluten free, gf, meal choices at the time of booking, but this was not acted upon thus we ended up having a rice accompaniment most nights and mid way through our stay they made some gf bread for us. Service is brill.Wine price list is extortionate.

We used the spa for a head massage, which was great and we wished we had used more of it.

Despite the comments by the management to other negative reviews that they will act upon them to improve matters, having been there i have no confidence that they will.

Its is a real shame, with some minor changes, not involving great expenditure, this has the potential to be heaven on earth but alas mid way through our five day stay we were looking to check into other hotels.

Room Tip: opt for the cottage or stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhupinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

I regret that your stay in our resort was not as per your expectations.

its true that all our Deluxe rooms dont have a very good view of the gardens. But the interior space is slightly bigger than the cottages and the appointments are the same.

I apologise for the bad service at the Mexicana. I have taken up this matter with the F & B manager. The games room is in the same block as the deluxe room. Sometimes guest take away the bats and balls kept there and we replace it as and when we come to know. The PS3 works well and more game titles are kept at the front desk as we have the same problem of missing games after a few days.

Due to the space constraint and being only a 42 room hotel, we have tried to equip the gym as best as we could. We have 2 treadmills, one cross trained, one cycle, one abdomen bench, a multitrainer, bench press with various weights. All the equipments are supplied and maintained by Precor.

Due to the same space constraint we could manage only a small playground with a double swing, a roundabout, a slide and a bar swing. We had to keep it close to the restaurant as a lot of town people with families visit us on weekends and it was from their feedback we had installed this a year back.

I will look into the TV issue and why the signal of the other channels was not receiving in your room. From News to Movies we have all the international channels : BBC, CNN, CNBC, Travel and LIving, Fox Traveller, NG, Fashion TV, Animal Planet, Discovery, History, VH1, MTV,Cartoon Network, Nick, Disney, Disney XD, Star world, AXN, Comedy Central,Sony Pix, Moview Now, HBO, World Movies, WB, MGM, Star Movies and all the Star and Ten sports channels.

We take the feedback of our guests very seriously and where we can implement the change immediately we do it. But some changes that has to do with aesthetics or building will take time.

I do hope you visit us again when you come back to India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at Ramada resort 3 years back on our wedding night. You may wonder why it took so long for rating this place. A recent bad experience at a Ramada in a different city brought back my wonderful memories at Ramada resort. I have only good things to talk about this Ramada. Other than our wedding night, I have been to Ramada for attending business meetings & seminars. A great place for spending a romantic night as well as a very professional setting for business!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artgok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

Thank you for taking time out to write a wonderful review. It is a rather pleasant surprise when a guest writes a review after a couple of years.

I have passed on your comments to the team who will be thrilled to read it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is one of the best maintained and run resorts that i have been to. Kudos to the entire management team for top notch service. The lake facing cottages are picture postcard. The view from your balcony is worth spending hours together.Great place to unwind. Food at the restaurant Fennel is simply awesome. Housekeeping is perfect.
The pool maintenance can definitely be improved. Though regular cleaning is being done the person doing the cleaning is not doing a proper job since a lot of floating insects etc in the water.
The resort is out of the way so if you want to go around and visit places of interest then you will need a car/cab.

Room Tip: Go for the lake facing cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMITD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

Thank you for taking time out to write a wonderful review. I have passed on your comments to the team. We hope to see you back here again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DULIAJAN, ASSAM
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. We enjoyed very much here. Staffs are gentle front manager is verry good. Very beautiful views. Buffet breakfast was very good. Swimming pool was very clean. Also from back a nice view of backwater

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CHANDAN_DUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

Thank you for taking time out to write a wonderful review. I have passed on your comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here as a part of a business offsite. The resort is not very far away from the airport, a BIG advantage. The property has a nice paeceful feel to it. It is on the banks of the back waters which makes it even more beautiful. The rooms facing the pool are awesome and the barbeque arranged for us on the pool side was fantastic.

The rooms and the meeting rooms are well equipped with the modern amenities. Overall a nice place for a business meeting, though nothing much to do for kids(I'm assuming)

Room Tip: Pool facing is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

Thank you for taking time out to write a wonderul review. I have passed on your comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is about 20 mins from Cochin Fort by Taxi. The hotel was more than happy to arrange transport. They also arranged tran.sport for a full day trip to Mannar. The hotel driver was amazing friendly and really tried to make the day one to remember- which it was. The actual hotel is located in a very quiet location with stunning lake views. The hotel is clean with great staff and a very useful restaurant which again is of high standard. This hotel is a great place for a holiday

Room Tip: Try to stay in the bungalows they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakefield_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

Thank you for taking time out to write a wonderful review. I passed on your compliment to the team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,971 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
846 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
772 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Property: Ramada Resort Cochin
Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing