We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a good surprise in Cochin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Generally I am careful with Ramada hotels as they are privately owned and managed for most of them and the quality can vary a lot from one to another. The Ramada Resort Cochin is on the right side, means it is a good hotel. Comparing with what I consider the best hotel in Cochin (the Taj Malabar), the Ramada has a much better view and location. I really enjoyed the view from my room terrace and the pool lay out is really nice. Good to have a mexican restaurant, spa is ok and food average, but good enough. Appreciate the free wifi and the modern bathrooms. Don't book if you do not have a backwaters view.. Room comfort is ok as well as amenities. I recommend several things however: change the exterior terrace chairs cushion covers, they look too old. Same for the pool daybed mattress covers, too old and dirty. Also change the bathroom towells by new thicker and white ones. The desk lamp of my room (116) was not standing straight. The hotel lobby needs more attention in term of decoration, it is not of good enough standard. Staff was very nice. Maintenance of the gardens just perfect. I would go back certainly although I was there for business meetings.

Room Tip: Room 116 or 117 just perfect and calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful as well as critical feedback. Feedbacks like these helps us to maintain and improve our standards. I have conveyed your observations to the Ex. Housekeeper and she is already working on it.

We hope to see you back in our resort soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 666 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

The view of the backwaters was fantastic. The pool was grand. The staff were outstanding in terms of service. The hotel itself clean and modern. The restaurant was awesome, happy to eat there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All in all I wished I had more time to spend there!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jmiller980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review. I will pass on your comments to the entire team. We do hope to see you back at the resort for another relaxing holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A pool view room is worth it, most rooms are pool view anyway. The most unusual thing being that almost all rooms are on the first floor with nothing to block the view or the breeze as you walk on the ground. Im not too sure about whether any rooms are wheelchair friendly so you might want to ask in advance if you cant climb stairs. On the whole this is a safe bet for a short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratyush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a great review. I will pass this on to the entire team. The resort is uniquely designed so that the view is not blocked by the cottages. We do have wheelchair friendly room. We hope to see you back again at our resort for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

One of the "Must Visit" resorts if you are in Kochi, its got an amazing view of the backwaters and spacious and well maintained premises and garden area that is just perfect for a lovely walk in the evening by the waterside walk way and the pool side area. Good dining options to choose from - Mexican, Indian, Oriental etc..
Cheerful, warm and courteous staff and good management. Overall a luxurious and beautiful place you would want to revisit and also recommend to your friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priyatahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review. I will pass on this to the entire team. We hope to see you back here for another great holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was my first trip to Kerala so was not sure of what to expect. Like most tourists from the northern part of India, I just envisioned backwaters and the massage

I stayed here 2 nights and it was great. Initially they put me in a regular room and the room was boring to say the least. Anyways I checked in and laid down all my stuff and then I get a call that we are upgrading you to the cottage. I was excited. The cottage was a everything I imagined. The view, the room, the bed.

The staff at the bar and the breakfast were very courteous and friendly. Pricing is definitely on the higher end side but the view from the cottage makes it worth and the fantastic pool as well. An ideal spot for honeymooners but this was by far the best business trip I made and I plan to visit it again.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhruv84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review. I will pass on your feedback to the entire team. We hope to see you back at the resort for another great stay !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights and found the hotel to be beautiful. The staff are also extremely friendly. The breakfast buffet is also a plus point.
Amazing views of the backwaters. I did not find any negative issues with this hotel apart from the fact it is slightly expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinni1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful feedback. I will pass on the comments to the team at Ramada. We look forward to seeing you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on business so I didn't get to explore the area much. We arrived late and the restaurant was closing but the front desk alerted the restaurant of our arrival and they stayed open for us. The service was above and beyond, I was so impressed by everyone that worked at the resot.
The food was AMAZING. I had a fish curry and my friend had grilled fish. It was some of the best Indian food we have ever had.
My room was incredible, stunning bathroom, flat screen tv and a view of the water. The only problem was the complex remote control system for all lights, it was a bit confusing trying to get the closet light to turn off!
I wish I could go back to this hotel for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful feedback. I have passed on the comments to team at Ramada.
We are in the process of replacing the control panel to a more guest freindly system. We will be replacing this in the off season.

The closet light is switched off by firmly closing the two sliding doors as it is controled by a pressure switch at both ends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,093 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 32 in Ernakulam
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#14 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
884 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
830 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#4 of 32 in Ernakulam
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range: $66 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing