We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly expensive but a beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slightly expensive but a beautiful hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights and found the hotel to be beautiful. The staff are also extremely friendly. The breakfast buffet is also a plus point.
Amazing views of the backwaters. I did not find any negative issues with this hotel apart from the fact it is slightly expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinni1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful feedback. I will pass on the comments to the team at Ramada. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    234
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
227
164
26
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on business so I didn't get to explore the area much. We arrived late and the restaurant was closing but the front desk alerted the restaurant of our arrival and they stayed open for us. The service was above and beyond, I was so impressed by everyone that worked at the resot.
The food was AMAZING. I had a fish curry and my friend had grilled fish. It was some of the best Indian food we have ever had.
My room was incredible, stunning bathroom, flat screen tv and a view of the water. The only problem was the complex remote control system for all lights, it was a bit confusing trying to get the closet light to turn off!
I wish I could go back to this hotel for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful feedback. I have passed on the comments to team at Ramada.
We are in the process of replacing the control panel to a more guest freindly system. We will be replacing this in the off season.

The closet light is switched off by firmly closing the two sliding doors as it is controled by a pressure switch at both ends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This resort has been designed with lot of care be in decor, or in room layout or the pool. The location is extremely beautiful with overlooking the back-water channel very close to the main road to the city or to the airport. A team of young staff are always ready to welcome you and to help you around. The verandah overlooking the back-water is extremely relaxing with the swimming pool strip below. Romms are spacious as also the attched bath. The multi-cuisine restaurant offers tasty food and reasonably priced. One of such places where one would like to revisit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back-water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoraDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I have passed on your feedback to the team at Ramada Cochin. We hope to see you back again at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed one night at the Ramada. First impressions were that it was not really a qualty hotel. The grounds and pool area are nice but the public areas feel in need of refurbishment. Our main issue was that we were given a room next to a lift and close to the function suites and below the spa. There was a fucntion on in the evening which finished early enough but the staff then proceded to move stuff throughout the entire night. There also appeared to be spa cleaning going on during the night both of which kept us awake and made our stay unpleasant. Food and service in the restaurant was good but slightly pricey. I mentioned the noise disturbance to the receptionist in the morning but this was just accepted without any comment. There are several new hotels (crowne plaza) which we passed enroute to the ramada and this maybe worth consideration.

Room Tip: Choose a pool/waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. I have spoken to the F & B Manager and the Housekeeper about the noise during the night. We have taken corrective action so that it is not repeated again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for about a week at the Ramada Cochin. The pool side and lake side rooms are outstanding and have awesome views. On the 25th and later days, the beauty was added by the hymns being sung in the church across the lake. Also quite a few Chinese fishing nets around. The rooms with a 'garden' view where we shifted to later do not have any view at all. So stay at the lakeside villas - the other rooms do not have a view. The pool is nice. The restaurant (Fennel) is quite good. The service is excellent and the chefs very accomodating. The front office could be better as they took time to get things organized at times. Overall, a very enjoyable stay with good food (did not try the Mexican restaurant) and lovely views. But note again, the rooms that are not the villas have no views at all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for a wonderful review. I do appreciate the time you have taken out to write it. Our team will be thrilled to hear your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel property is very beautiful. We stayed there only for one night but had a good relaxed stay. The service was a little slow initially but the politeness of the staff totally made up for it.

Food was excellent.

the only downside is that it is not very near to the main city. It took us a while to get there from the airport specially with the traffic in Cochin. Also, the staff wasn't very knowledgeabel about the local sight seeing options.

Room Tip: Pick lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GhazalS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back. I do appreciate the time you have taken out to write it.

I will look into the issue why the staff were not able to provide the information about local sight seeing. Even though we have the information in the Guest Service Directory in the rooms, every staff including the housekeeping are trained on the basics of local sight seeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ramada is definitely a top class hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The property is gorgeous and the lake view rooms are well-worth the price with a lovely view of the backwaters and few boats quietly streaming along. Was able to revel in the beauty of the sunrise every morning from the balcony. On the whole it is very quite since it is located away from the bustle of the city. On the other hand, this makes it quite a drive if you want to visit anywhere at all and there are not restaurants or supermarkets nearby. However, the cab service offered by the hotel (a little pricey) was very efficient. The pool is very well kept and watching the sunrise while taking an early dip is another treat that Ramada Kochi offers! We didn't have meals so much at the hotel as it seemed a little expensive and we were keen on trying more of the Cochin flavors from street hawkers :-) And the room service is prompt and super efficient and you can be guaranteed to return to an absolutely perfect room no matter how messy you left it! We did wish we had gone on the village tour as it seemed quite interesting. The ayurvedic centre was not all value for money but was ok. On the whole hats off to Ramada, Kochi - we will definitely visit you again! Strongly recommended to anyone who wants to take a relaxing trip.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view rooms - GORGEOUS VIEWS of the backwaters and the pool too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GothaiGanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wnderful feedback. I do appreciate the time you have out taken to write it. Our resort is one of best located in Kerala. Its unique in one way, and that is you see the sunrise rather than sunset !

I will pass on your feedback to my team , who will be delighted to hear it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
9.3 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Property: Ramada Resort Cochin
Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing