We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An outstanding Hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were at Ramada for 13 nights with our little baby. This hotel is breathtaking. The cottages were outstanding facing the river and on the plus side the hotel is situated away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The hotel provides outstanding performances from all areas. The breakfast was amazing and although we never had a chance to eat in the restaurant room dining was exceptionally quick and prompt and an absolute delight to have. The staff were absolutely brilliant and having met some lovely people there we made friends with them all especially my son who adored all the staff and the staff loved him.

When staying at the resort you can opt for a boat ride which is a must as it really takes you away from the hotel and into areas of small islands. Another thing which is a must is the relaxation spa which was amazing. I would recommend this hotel for families and Honeymoon couples. One thing that you must take into consideration is the hotel is located away from any main sopping centres. A taxi can be booked from the hotel which is only 15-20 mins away.

I would like to thank our driver Anand who was an absolute delight to be with for 13 nights and was very helpful in showing us around Kerela and Nitan who worked in the restaurant who was always helpful.

Thank you to all the staff and Reception for making our stay pleasant and very memorable. This is a must Resort to stay.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and river - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. I will pass on this to the staff concerned. Reviews like this are a great motivation for the staff of Ramada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    241
    68
    22
    14
See reviews for
239
169
26
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Patna, India
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2012

we were at Ramda Resort for a conference. We had a excellent time. THE reception people wewre so nice anld friendly. All quries wre politely answered and addtional informations given, In fact karthiyan at reception was so helpful and gave good address of Good Ayurveda Centers. Than the route to different places wre explained.by her
The rooms were very good and the housekeeping was so prompt.he .Thel lay out of Resort was memborable.IThe food served was very good and the dinning hall was well kept. The food had number of variety and cooked so well.. I ;liked Breakfast so much.
Overall a good cosy and comfortable place. A highly recommended place.

Room Tip: it should facing poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishwa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadacochin, Corp Chef Ramu Butler at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review. I will personally inform Kathika about your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at the Ramada Resort, Cochin.
Chef Ramu Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Me and my wife were at Ramada Resot for our honeymoon had an excellent time. Lake facing cottage was a great. Views of the lake from our bedroom were amazing. Booked the 2 night three days package with all meals. Weekend buffets were good. Situated on the edge of Kollam backwater , you can opt for a short boatride which can be booked at the reception. Overall its good cosy place for honeymooners, Would come back

Room Tip: Lake facing cottages are preferred dont go for deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhitmkhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadacochin, Corp Chef Ramu Butler at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review. I will pass on this to the entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you once again at the Ramada Resort, Cochin

Chef Ramu Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerala
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

we(with family) have been to ramada twice.our experience were really nice .the rooms were very clean,the staff were really friendly.they treat us as someone special.staff alwys had a nice smile.the food was only average.a place to relax( away from your busy schedule.)its not ideal for persons who want to go for shopping and sightseeing in the city as it is far away from town.A PLplace for complete relaxation

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhan20783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadacochin, Corp Chef Ramu Butler at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thanks for you valuable feedback , measure have been taken up to give the best of the food . We look forward to welcoming you once again at the Ramada Resort, Cochin
Ramu Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This resort is around half an hour drive from Kochi and one hour drive from Cochin International Airport. It is a very well maintained property and has very good view of the back water from the cottages and swimming pool. The staff are excellent the check in was done very fast. The complimentary buffet breakfast had good spread and was tasty. Though the cottages are backwater facing the rooms do not have such view. All in all it is a calm and peaceful resort where one can enjoy a leisurely weekend or holiday.

Room Tip: Choose backwater facing cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maheshshivam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadacochin, Corp Chef Ramu Butler at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you once again at the Ramada Resort, Cochin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We went as one big fat family and thoroughly enjoyed 1st Jan 2012 here! The rooms were very good and the service excellent.

The manager was very nice to allow us into the swimming pool during fag end of closing hours.
One Glitch:
---------------
But the security staff in the Swimming pool was not courteous enough as he said we should not enter the pool, this even after we informed that we got the permission from the concerned person. He could have called up the front desk and checked if what we were saying was true but instead of that he started shouting at us. Agreed that he was doing his job, but there is a way to tell things and especially in a five star hotel with such reputed world renowned brand, he should be very careful with his words and should be extra polite. He should remember that its the new year and we were family of around 15 and such incidents at the start of the new year is disturbing. Appreciate if Management could look into this and provide appropriate training.

Rest everything superb! Kudos to the Ramada team of Kochi. If we hadn't met the security, would have given the resort rating of "Excellent".

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharathnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We booked 3 rooms at the Ramada for New Years Eve 2011. Upon going to bed, we found the sheets dirty (with stains of the previous occupant) and a dirty sock in the cupboard. It took two hours to get anyone to deal with it. The following morning we went to lodge our dissatisfaction to find two other guests ahead of us complaining about the service as well. What infuriated us including the other guests was the total lack of interest by the front office desk manager with our issues. Overall a very disappointing experience for an international hotel chain. I have requested our in company to ban all stay by our personnel at Ramada globally as I feel there was a total failure of management.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MG001126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for a very critical review. I would like to clarify some points. The stain in the dirty stain in the sheet is a scribble made by a ball point pen as you have seen it. Yes , we admit it is a stain. The service boy has not taken more than 15 minutes to reach your room as you are well aware. During check out you wanted compensation for the above service lapses and we offered and you accepted waiver of 25% charges in food bills of all three rooms. We regret we were not in a position to waive of the entire Rs. 10000/- ( 128 pounds) . Since this is your first review, I humbly request you to be objective, fair and mention what the hotel has also done for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,971 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
846 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
772 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Property: Ramada Resort Cochin
Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing