We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Simple” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Columbia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Columbia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and Simple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The most important thing to me is cleanliness. This place was clean. It is a no frills motel that was perfect for our needs. We stayed here while we were shopping on the HWY 127 yardsale trail. The air conditioner was a little noisy but turned into white noise and did not bother me when I fell asleep. The small breakfast area was packed only because the hotel was booked due to the yard sale thing. I would recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kippy236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    66
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
93
31
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix, USVI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spend one night while traveling the length of the 127 Yard Sale. The room was clean, new carpet, good bathroom. When we reserved a room, we were told that only smoking rooms were available, so that wasn't a surprise. The smoke smell in the room was evident, but not so bad that we couldn't stay. A/C was excellent. The manager was very helpful, recommending a very nice restaurant, Betty's OK Country Cooking, for dinner. Continental breakfast was available, but the hotel was full and the breakfast room was small, so we went back to Betty's for breakfast.

I would reccomend for both traveling and for a vacation. Nice location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Columbia last Thursday night while driving the "World's Longest Yard Sale." We've stayed before (August 2009) and were pleased to find that the rooms have been updated since our last stay--new carpet, bed linens, and a granite topped sink. It must have been done fairly recently as the room still had that "new" smell.

I used the pool which was a testament to how tired and hot I was. I think I haven't been swimming in a few years! The pool was nice--not overly clorinated although I wish the water had been cooler! They also had a hot tub, but I didn't use it.

The breakfast left a little to be desired. They had biscuits and gravy, cooked powedered eggs, a pancake machine, cereal, etc. Some meat would have been nice, but hey--it's a free breakfast. You can't argue with that.

The morning manager was super nice and conscientious as he checked us out, so points for him. He even handed us a Tripadvisor card and asked us to write a review, so that says to me that they are informed and are looking to improve.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs is always best and not too close to the central stair corridor or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhousejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baisden wv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

we were very tired after a long day on our bikes and found that this motel was just what we needed , clean comfortable rooms a quite town a great pool and great service. my friends and i were very pleased with the staff who all to pleased to help us in every way. and let us park our bikes where we and they could keep an eye on them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reuben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had 10 rooms reserved for a baseball team. 2 of us checked in and after less than a minute in our room, one kids socks were COVERED in jumping fleas and the other room's carpet was covered in pet hair... No amount of money is worth that nastiness!!! Checked out immediately!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWyattsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Columbia, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
First let me apologize for any inconveniences you may have suffered. Then, Please allow me to respond.

1. Your comments are used to train our staff, encourage our staff to make your stay a pleasant stay. Unfortunately, dealing with public, once in a while we do get an unreasonable guest that cannot be pleased, despite all best efforts.

2. We do agree that you did bring a child’s sock with Fleas to the lobby to show to the staff. It was never determined where the fleas got on to his socks. The staff immediately offered you a different room, went with you and asked you to inspect the room before entering. You did do that and were satisfied and moved to it. A few minutes later, without any explanation you stated that you wanted to leave. Your wishes were honored and there was no charge to you. Our rates are what they are and we do not try to compete with cheaper hotels. Even though each room was booked individually, we did give you group rate.

3. Manager inspected the room and did not find fleas anywhere in the room except where you pointed the location of the sock was. Manager put the room out of service immediately and same day it was treated along with the second room where you stayed for a few minutes as well. We are regularly treated by a pest control company to prevent any pests in our hotel rooms.

4. There was no mention of Pet hair at all. We do offer pet friendly rooms. But, those rooms are designated room numbers. There have been times when we have turned away business when pet friendly rooms are all occupied and if there is request for one more. But, we never rent regular rooms to guests with pets and we have a strict policy of $150 charge if a pet or pet evidence is discovered in a room.

5. We support Little League and had placed an ad in the local newspaper supporting them. We work with the community locally and invite our guests to come and enjoy clean, comfortable and friendly place. Our Guests love our facility and our friendly staff. Manager tried to call all members of the team but could only reach one, who was very appreciative and willing to come stay with us except that the group had decided to stay together. So, she could not do so because of you.

6. We are new owners and have worked very hard and renovated the place during past 6 months. We have replaced most items including all fabric items such as bedding, drapes and custom made carpets. You can see the pictures at Bestwestern.com. We are told by our guests that the hotel looks newer and looks better than it has in past several years. Flat Screen TVs will be installed this year too.

7. We invite you to come flea free next time and come and stay with us again like our other happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews, I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are nicely redecorated and very clean. A no smoking rule is strictly enforced in non smoking rooms and my room was fresh and clean smelling. The employees are friendly and helpful. I had a room where the air conditioner had a condenser vibration so I was quickly moved and they offered to carry my luggage for me. Beds are comfy and have 4 pillows per bed. It is in a tourist area so a bit pricey for a budget motel. You would expect that. The breakfast features the usual pastries, waffles, fruit and cereal but also has scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy. The town closes down early but there are the usual fast food places within walking distance. The interstate is close but since the motel is above it on a hill, the rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discoverer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

After reading the reviews, I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are redecorated,, spotless and smell fresh. No dirt in the corners behind the doors or dust bunnies under the beds. Beds are good, 4 pillows per bed.The staff is very friendly and accomodating (no pun intended). My air conditioner had a hum so they quickly changed my room and offered to carry my luggage. The breakfast included eggs and biscuits and gravy as well as the usual assortment found at hotel breakfasts. It is in a tourist area so not the cheapest motel on the planet but worth the money. I would use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discoverer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Columbia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
19.4 mi away
Lake Cumberland State Resort
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campbellsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Super 8 Campbellsville KY
Super 8 Campbellsville KY
#4 of 5 in Campbellsville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
24.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Albany
0.6 mi away
Kozy Haven Log Cabin Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Columbia

Property: BEST WESTERN Columbia
Address: 710 Bomar Heights, Columbia, KY 42728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing