We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Columbia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

After reading the reviews, I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are redecorated,, spotless and smell fresh. No dirt in the corners behind the doors or dust bunnies under the beds. Beds are good, 4 pillows per bed.The staff is very friendly and accomodating (no pun intended). My air conditioner had a hum so they quickly changed my room and offered to carry my luggage. The breakfast included eggs and biscuits and gravy as well as the usual assortment found at hotel breakfasts. It is in a tourist area so not the cheapest motel on the planet but worth the money. I would use it again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discoverer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 299 of 299 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

To be in the middle of south central Kentucky, and not near an interstate, this hotel was overpriced. It was clean, and well staffed, but not worth what we had to pay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaB051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Staying in Columbia overnight on business and checked into the Best Western. Actually, writing this from my hotel room right now. Very surprised by how nice this hotel is. Clean, furniture is in very good condition, the area seems quiet, and the bed is comfortable. They also have a nice pool and hot tub outside.

Front desk staff was friendly and efficient.

Very reasonably priced. I'll stay here next time I'm in the area for sure.

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel away from the businsses close by would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel. I'm being kind by rating it as "average". Room was clean but musty smelling - almost as if it had previously been a smoking room and had been changed to a non-smoking room. The heating-AC unit was old and in need of replacement. Telephone same way. Both had a "patina" that suggested they had been around too long. The dozen pillows were TERRIBLE although the bed was comfortable. Shower was nice - good water pressure. The staff was friendly as was the "working girl" we met as we made our way to our room. The property was recently purchased by the owners of the Holiday Inn Express about 12 miles away in another town. They are in the process of renovating the Best Western. They still have a ways to go.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA3RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi G, General Manager at Best Western Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it very much. We are in the process of changing many things. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you may have suffered. The work is going at a fast pace and we expect our major renovation work to be completed by the end of April. 40 of the 50 AC units have already been replaced. Brand new telephones, alarm clocks, hair dryers, coffeemakers along with many other things will all be done by the end of the April.
We have not changed any smoking or non smoking rooms. We are installing all brand new luxurious carpets in all rooms. We had another sensitive guest tell us that they felt the smoke smell, which most people tell us that its newness of the carpet smell.
Colors at the hotel are also changing along with the Quality.
Again, thank you for your kind words. We invite you to come and visit us again and see the changes where the best place in town is getting even better every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here expecting a very basic stay but was surprised at all the upgrades that have been made. Our room was very clean, which is my biggest expectation of any hotel. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. The beds and pillows were very soft and comfortable, providing the whole family with a good nights sleep. The breakfast was delicious with hot pancakes and a variey of cerals and muffins. Overall this was a great experience and from what I hear, there is only more upgrades to come. Thanks Best Western in Columbia and Staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiquita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi G, Vice President at Best Western Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

We appreciate your comments very much. You are right, we are making more and more upgrades to the property.

We use the comments to train and deliver appreciation of guests to our staff. The staff is delighted to hear your comments.


Nationwide all Best Westerns have the same comfy pillows. Please stay at any Best Western to enjoy the comfy pillows.


We invite you to come and stay with us again on your next trip. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I came to Columbia in Oct. 2011 for business. Best Western is not the ONLY hotel in town, but it is the most convenient.
When I first opened the door, it was muggy and had "odor". After I turned the air on and had the door opened while I carried my luggage in, it was more than enough to "clear" the room.
Getting everything set up for the next day, I realized I didn't have a working alarm clock. Called the front desk for a replacement. They had a problem finding one, and the one they brought also didn't work so I relied on the one in my phone and a wake up call.
Lets get to what's REALLY important when staying at a hotel. I carry with me a key chain "black light". Yep, the ones you can see EVERYTHING with.
One of the FIRST things I do is use it on the sheets.(I know, scary) I couldn't help but notice I was almost blinded by the CLEAN of the sheets! Perfectly CLEAN sheets! I was amazed! The rest of the room was good. Little spots on the rug by the small refrigerator and door. Bathroom was almost spotless. Nice size bathroom. Great shower pressure. Nice CLEAN towels.(and plenty of them)
Only complaint is the mattresses. They need replaced. They have "grooves" where many have slept and I found myself "rolling" into the hole. Also the breakfast bar leaves much to be desired, but I only wanted some coffee. They were out of the regular coffee cups so I had no cup for coffee. That's ok. A Speedway is right next door and was easy to get my "regular" cup of coffee.
If you want a CLEAN, well supplied, decent sized room for a reasonable price this is the one to go to. I will agree you might need some air freshener.

Room Tip: For smokers: This hotel STILL has smoking rooms without treating you like a second class citizen! To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi G, Vice President at Best Western Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

We appreciate your comments very much and apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered.
We are replacing all fabric and carpets in all rooms. So, there is no issue of any odor whatsoever. We have installed all new alarm clocks in each room.

As we are recent new Owners, we have been very busy to bring everything up to and beyond the standards. Our first order of importance was the cleanliness. I am glad that you found our Hotel to be absolutely clean. Thank you for that comment in particular.

Mattresses were recently replaced by previous owner. We are investigating it. If there are any defective, we will replace them. We have not heard that complaint from anyone during past 3 months since or acquisition. We have heard many compliments and positive comments. In fact, another traveler found our beds and pillows to be very soft and comfortable and also left a review.

We have enhanced the breakfast substantially and Guests are now enjoying it. We plan to add a couple of more items during April to make it even better.

Our goal is to provide exceptionally clean, comfortable rooms, plenty of Parking, excellent breakfast to justify the value and friendly customer service to be the finest hotel in Columbia KY at reasonable prices. Your comments are used to train and enhance our services, so we thank you once again for your comments.


We invite you to come and stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show you the changes that are happening here and the excitement is in the air

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Columbia
43 reviews
18.3 mi away
Super 8 Campbellsville KY
Super 8 Campbellsville KY
#4 of 5 in Campbellsville
150 reviews
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campbellsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Timber Pointe Resort
Timber Pointe Resort
#2 of 4 in Jamestown
11 reviews
18.4 mi away
Lake Cumberland State Resort
18.1 mi away
Best Western Campbellsville Inn
Best Western Campbellsville Inn
#1 of 5 in Campbellsville
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Columbia

Address: 710 Bomar Hts, Columbia, KY 42728-1563
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: $83 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing