We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hiking trails, gardens”

Bernheim Arboretum & Forest
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bernheim Arboretum and Research Forest is a private, non-profit educational and recreational nature preserve located 20 minutes from the Louisville airport in Kentucky. Bernheim, founded in 1929 by philanthropist Isaac Wolfe Bernheim, opened to the public in 1950. More than 200,000 annual visitors connect with nature by enjoying over 32 miles of hiking trails, a Canopy Tree Walk, a Children’s Play Garden, year-round educational programs and events. Bernheim, steward to 14,500 acres of natural lands, includes a nationally-recognized, 600-acre arboretum designed by the landscape architecture firm of Frederick Law Olmsted. The arboretum contains over 8,000 plant species including the renowned Hubbuch Holly Collection. Bernheim has won numerous awards on sustainability initiatives including LEED® Platinum for the Visitor Center, which was the first Platinum award in Kentucky and surrounding five-state region. Isaac Cafe is open from 11-4 daily and serves soups, sandwiches, salads and desserts.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hiking trails, gardens”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place is perfect for hiking. Has numerous trails from easy to difficult. Great for families with small children all the way up to experienced hikers. Also has a good gift shop and cafe. Restrooms throughout. Great gardens and scenic views, as well, of lakes and mountains. Many places to sit for breaks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JMurray728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    26
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Treasure twenty minutes from Louisville”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Whenever you need a break from traffic, smog, pollution and noise take a leisurely drive on 65 South. In about twenty minutes you can be at the expansive Bernheim Forest. There are hiking trails and labelled trees.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gent258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hiking, Birdwatching, Contemplation, Play and "Willow Sculpture"”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you live around the Louisville area and have not taken the time (not much is required) to visit Bernheim Forest, you are missing one of the great quite spots near the city! My wife and I have been going to Bernheim Forest, just off of I65, since we were teenagers. We have now started to take our grandchildren and reflected recently about the real treasure we have access to so close to the city. Yesterday we took our grandson, and his great grandmother to Bernheim to see Patrick Doughterty's Willow Sculpture now on display by the visitor center. This is a sculpture that you can walk through, around, and in, to get the entire feel of the "art". My 6 year old grandson and I played hide-and-seek in it for 45 minutes. I believe he thought he was in Hogwarts. It is really amazing. Take the time to make the 20 minute journey to Bernheim sometime in the next year to see this wonderful addition to the Forest. It will only be there for a limited time. During the week the is no admission fee and on the weekend the fee is only $5.00 per car.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jr s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful picnic place”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Whole family enjoyed running around and exploring and having a yummy picnic. My brother comes here often to just be one with nature.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helenc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing and beautiful”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Beautiful park and nature center especially for younger children. Go during the week and its free - also close to Jim Beam about 1/2 mile off I65

Helpful?
Thank nanamustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernheim Arboretum & Forest also viewed

 

Been to Bernheim Arboretum & Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing