We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...especially for Central City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Central City
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Central City
EVERYWHERE
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not bad...especially for Central City”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hmmmmm, for Central City, pretty good. Nice, clean room. Very nice and friendly staff. Free breakfast......well, not bad for Central City. Nothing to get excited about, but unlike that sty down the street called the convention center inn, you can have more that one orange juice. Overall, a recommened place to stay in Central City, Ky.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNRECERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Western Central City, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hi JOHNRECERT,

I would like to first thank you for rating our property. Any form of review is great in my opinion. I am glad to see that you took the time to review your stay and provide me with helpful feedback. I am happy to see that we rank highly amongst our competitors in Muhlenberg County. I wish there was more that we could have done to garner a more upbeat review, but as I stated before, any feedback makes me happy.
We hope to see you in your future travels to Muhlenberg County!!

Thanks,
Brittany Gordon, Asst. General Manager
Best Western PLUS Venture Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    32
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
19
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LondonJames2050
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Having stayed at the San Simeon the rooms here were a disappointment. The main luxury here was the bed. The room and bathroom were dated. The reception were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast and WIFI good. The place does shake when a train goes by but not many did. Location good for the Main Street and 101.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJames2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcentralcityky, General Manager at Best Western Central City, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi LondonJames2050,

First, I must apologize for taking so long to post this response. I recently became able to respond to guests and am taking this time to do so. Thank you for sharing your experience for our eventual guests. I'm sure that your feedback, along with many others, is considered every time someone logs onto this site.
I see where you noted that our rooms were a bit dated. Although we can't offer the exact same amenities and comforts as the Best Western PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort in San Simeon, California, we do strive to stay true to our Best Western descriptor of a PLUS hotel. We have drastically improved since your last stay. We have gone though renovations and added more to our breakfast menu. The next time you find yourself in the Central City area, be sure to stop by!

Thanks,
Brittany Gordon
AGM Best Western PLUS Venture Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Arrived for a one night layover and drove in to Best Western. They had a room available to under $100 so I took it. Front desk was kinda rude as she had to type in my Norwegian street address, but it didn't bother me.

Room was standard. Big and clean. Internet was good.

The hotel have entrances, one up front and one in the back. My room was on the 2nd floor, just near the stairwell. If you can, avoid this room as I heard the slamming of the door several times during the evening (but not during the night).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We turned up to what was your typical Drive up hotel and wasn't expecting a great night, what with the rail and the 101 right behind our room, BUT room was freshly renovated, sound proofing from the rail and road was unbelievable, if you didn't look out the window you wouldn't know, great comfy bed and pillows, great night sleep

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
283 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I arrived at 1000 am and couldnt check out till 800pm girl at desk said thats no problem...room was clean bed was comfy ...they tried to keep me away from the rooms that were being cleaned so it would be quiet since I was sleeping in the daytime...people were nice ...truck parking lot behind bldg...restaurant next door....really nice place I will stay here again if I am ever back in this area....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamster175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Como, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Friends and family had the opportunity to visit " newly found friends" who live in Cenrtal City. None of us had ever been to Kentucky and we had no idea what to expect. We were all pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of staff at the hotel and their eagerness to answer our questions. The hotel is fairly new and was clean and had all the ammenities needed for a short 3 day stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seabrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

Other than the sleepless night and the unresponsive front desk, the place is ok. The room was not that clean and the air condition quit working at 3AM. The apathetic response from the front desk was “I know, they all do it, and we don’t know why. You can open your window if you want.” Where as I did, however I was lulled into non-sleep to the sounds of a Semi-Tractor engine idling and the local talent checking the grip of their tires periodically. I do not recommend this Hotel.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The ability to get a restful sleep.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoadBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central City
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Central City
Days Inn Central City
#3 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madisonville
15.9 mi away
Beaver Dam Inn
Beaver Dam Inn
#2 of 2 in Beaver Dam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Days Inn Madisonville
Days Inn Madisonville
#4 of 5 in Madisonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
21.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madisonville
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Central City
Super 8 Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Central City

Property: Best Western Central City
Address: 627 S 2nd Street, Central City, KY 42330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Central City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Central City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Central City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Central City!Located in Central City, Kentucky, this hotel lies conveniently off of the Western Kentucky Parkway in the heart of Muhlenberg County. The hotel is located minutes away from several industries including TVA Paradise Fossil Plant, Ken-American Resources coal mines and the Wendell H. Ford Regional Training Center to name a few. Visitors also have access to the arts in the county via the Duncan Cultural Center Museum & Art Gallery and the Merle Travis Performing Arts Center.Central City also boasts a 6-mile trail for runners, bikers and all-around nature enthusiasts. The Muhlenberg County Rail-Trail was hailed as the May 2004 Rails-to-Trails Conservancy top trail. It connects Central City to Greenville offering some of Kentucky's most beautiful scenery. Atop the trail sits the Central City Convention & Wellness Center. We proudly offer a well-maintained hotel that has a warm, contemporary feel and is consistently award winning. Paired with a friendly staff and spacious rooms, Guests staying with us are treated to an extended continental breakfast each morning that includes biscuits and gravy and fresh waffles. We also offer an indoor heated swimming pool and exercise room. Complete with free high-speed wireless Internet, the Best Western will easily become your favorite place to stay while in Central City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing