We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel, But Noisy”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is very nice with large, clean rooms and the standard morning breakfast buffet and free wi-fi at a great price. The only downside was the noise. The room heating/air conditioning units in the rooms are very loud - loud enough to wake me up when it turned on in the middle of the night. However, all-in-all, a very good value and good place to saty when visiting Mammoth Cave.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLtallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the value in our hotel. In addition, thank you for letting us know that their was a problem with your stay, specifically the room heater. We'll get maintenance to take a look at it and see if we can't get it to operate more quietly.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 577 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were big, clean and the beds were comfy. Staff was very nice. Breakfast was good. We liked the game room. Note the pool is very small- with 6 boys under 10, it was crowded, but this was not a major problem as swimming was not a focus.

Room Tip: with 3 kids, we chose a room with 2 queen beds and a rollout couch. Perfect for our needs and we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expat5Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed our "comfy" beds. Please stay with us again while you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We checked out another hotel near this one and decided to check the rates at the Sleep Inn and glad we did. We feel we got an excellent value for our money. The room was awesome-the hotel is new and everything was very clean, worked well, the decor is bright and cheery, the public areas wonderful. Everything you need is here. The bathrooms were a good size and the towels were large and thick. The bed extremely comfortable. Near restaurants and tourist attractions.

Why the 4 rating? Service. They were efficient, no doubt. Check in-the person barely spoke to us except out of necessity. We thought she was having a bad day. Almost the same treatment in the morning-though a different person, who was speaking with a fellow employee. Both were NOT interested in customer communication. I was taken aback by the customer service. I even mentioned how much we liked the hotel, room, location and they nodded! OK, then...!

Recommend anyway. Who needs the front desk help? ;)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review of our facility, in addition to the feedback regarding our customer service. Thank you for letting us know in what area we can improve! Please stay with us again when you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tip
- convenient if you are visiting the Mammoth Caves National Park

Pros
- great sleep quality
- good value for money
- beautiful room (check my pics)
- brand new
- very clean
- convenient location

This hotel is a great value for money. It looks like a Sheraton but very affordable.
Our room was beautiful, functional and comfy.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

I'm glad to hear you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel. Please stay with us again when you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second stay at this motel. The first time was a year ago when they really were new. We stayed on 2nd floor that time and the first floor this time. Used the Coupon Rate- $59.99. Room was large with 2 queen beds. Has "double door closet." On ground floor and looks outside to yard space. Large bathroom. Interestingly enough, the cold water was very warm. Usually the complaints are that there wasn't any hot water, but in this case, there was no cold water at the sink faucet. Breakfast bar offered blueberry waffles, as well as the regular waffles batter. Bananas were extremely ripe (as in very mushy), so was disappointed. All-in-all a good night's sleep at this motel for a reasonable $$.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for staying with us again!

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here to be close to Mammoth Caves which we were visiting. It is a short, easy 10 minute drive to the caves so it is convenient. Cave City looks like it is only there to support the tourism created by the caves as its a small town of mostly hotels and fast food restaurants. I am not sure if there are hotels up or down I-65 but it might be worth looking if you want something more plush. This was clean and safe so we found it sufficient.

From the outside, the hotel is painted an ugly color so it is not appealing. The inside is newer and stylish. The rooms look like they were decorated with IKEA furniture so it's a cheaper feeling, but decent. Our room had a king size bed then a huge empty space that looked like they forgot to put something in there...a little weird. They have showers, no tubs, arranged so they do not need a door which is a cool design and helps make it feel cleaner since there are not shower curtains. There is a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker in the room so nice conveniences.

On the down side, I really disliked the soaps the hotel provided, and the thin towels. Mostly I disliked the noise. Very thin walls and doors so with lots of families staying there, it gets very noisy. You can also hear the people in the rooms above yours. Like other travelers, we found the breakfast unedible. Very few choices and high on fat and grease. We went down the street to get an egg mcmuffin.

Bottom line is we paid $60 for a Sunday night stay and it was appropriately priced, clean and safe so we were happy.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor at the end of the hallway to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGS1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you liked our shower design. Please come stay with us again!!

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is fairly new, clean, and comfortable. We had a first floor King Suite and the parking lot lights shined through the drapes at night. The wifi internet connection was very weak and I had difficulty connecting. The breakfast was probably the worse that we have experienced at any hotel. The imitation sausages were soaked in grease, the danish rolls were stale, and the bananas were rotten. We stayed here based on Trip Advisor ratings and were overall disappointed. If this is the best hotel in Cave City, I would hate to see the others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billatlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

I'm sorry you weren't as pleased with our breakfast as you should have been. I do thank you for the comments as it lets us know in which areas we need to improve.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
70 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
10.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Glasgow
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 801 Mammoth Cave St, PO Box 807, Cave City, KY 42127-8430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range: $75 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most outstanding hotels in the area. Rooms have microfridge, hair dryer, iron, and in room coffee. Indoor heated pool. Cable/HBO. Free wireless high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Cave City
Comfort Inn Cave City
Cave City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing