We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fine for the price and good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   807 Mammoth Cave Street, Cave City, KY 42127 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cave City
Western Kentucky
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine for the price and good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I must say that although this hotel could use some cosmetic work we had a good stay. Our room was acceptably clean and although sheets were recently cleaned (bleached), they probably should be replaced soon due to some small stains. This is a great location I would love to see them do some upkeep. It doesnt need anything major. Breakfast was a very pleasant surprise. I have seen complaints in some reviews but the food was great. It was a little crowded in there waiting for the microwave, but they had sausage biscuits, bagels, egg patties, eggo waffles, cereal, etc. It was very filling and I enjoyed mine by the beautiful blue pool. We will probably stay here again and hope some of the minor things are updated next trip. This place has so much going for it, I hope they will not let it deteriorate. Check in girl Marcie was very nice as was the gentleman that checked us out. Thank you for a good night's sleep! I usually don't sleep well away from home. That is a plus.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We value all reviews and comments from our guests, this lets us know any area's we may need improving in. We hope you will be back to stay on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    26
    13
    20
See reviews for
41
21
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I don't usually stay in EconoLodges, but ended up at this one after a long, tiring day on the road with my 90-year-old mother. The clerk at the front desk, Marcie, made sure we had a ground-floor room, gave us the AAA rate adjustment that had been missed when we called the corporate 800 number to reserve the room, and then fixed the in-room refrigerator (which actually wasn't broken; it was just new and exceptionally quiet, a big plus when I was sleeping later!)
I have allergies and sensitivities to scents, which is why I usually stay in "better" hotels. But this room was very, very clean, and there was no stuffiness or residual smells from room deodorizers, carpet-fresh, or anything else.
The continental breakfast was more than satisfactory, especially for the very low room rate, and check-out was quick and friendly. I don't often get to Kentucky, but if I am ever in that area again, I will definitely stay at this EconoLodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
What an awesome review for your stay with us. It is always encouraging to the staff to know that they have made our valued guests like you have an enjoyable stay. We look forward to being your hotel of choice anytime you are in our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave City, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at in my life. There's a reason it's the cheapest -- because it's dirty and, well, cheap -- don't let anyone con you into staying here due to the price. Hardest beds ever. I had to use spare pillows to sleep on to get three hours of sleep before being woke up by a lawnmower, cutting grass that looks like it is cut every day. I'm thinking it is their wake up call to guests that need to check out. Too bad I wasn't wanting to stay only one day in Cave City.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsWallbanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave City
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The room seemed recently remodeled although the bathroom was definitely over looked. Nice enough , average price, quiet when we stayed there but don't plan on filling up on the complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Well at first entry I thought "It's not that bad"

Then stepping out of my shoes and on to the carpet I noticed it was damp. There wasn't an odor, so I assumed perhaps they had cleaned it (and perhaps they had).

Pulling down the bed covers they did appear to be clean, but the blankets (polyester) had been laundered so many times that they were literally melted .

I was still trying to convince myself (and girls) that I hadn't made a critical error in this midnight stop...unfortunately once I moved my pillows I realized there was indeed no fitted sheet and that a flat sheet had been thrown over what could only be termed as a felt pad that didn't fit the bed, or hide the deep brownish red stain I was about to lay on.... not going to say what the stain was, but I had my thoughts as I am sure that you do as well.

Completely gross, with minor updating and some wise investing this hotel could actually be greatly improved (that's why it is getting two stars and not one) proper bleachable bed linens w/ duvets, white cotton blankets and thick removable fitted mattress pads that can be bleached between guests would be a good beginning and would have made this stay closer to a four.

Everything else was reasonable for an Econo hotel, its just sad to see it neglected. The bed and bedding are the MOST important part of any hotel stay. If they aren't good, then the stay, no matter how much you want it to be a great deal just isn't.

Room Tip: Don't stop until the hotel says it has been fully remodeled keep driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadCityGirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveport, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We chose to spend one night here while traveling through because the price was low and the fall 2013 coupon book ad said it was newly renovated. That is not the case. The beds were worn, the carpet is filthy and looks like it hasn't been cleaned beyond a quick vacuum in a decade. The worst offender was the bathroom. The tile was buckling, poorly caulked with mold. The wallpaper was peeling and there were even cobwebs IN the shower. It is the quality I would expect from an old, run-down motel... Not one claiming new renovations.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hcbobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our commitment to investing in our property will continue this renovation to our guest rooms and public areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was close to everything is the only positive thing. The bathroom had black mildew/mold on the ceiling and the shower surround tile looks like a 5 year old applied the repairs with a caulk gun! I was afraid to take a shower for fear the tile would fall in the bath tub! When I told the front desk, He stated thats was their repair work and blew me off with a thank you come again attitude! Yeah I don't think so

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidilee1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not have a good stay here with us. We are actually undergoing a full renovation and will have all of these problems solved very soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 11 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#2 of 11 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Cave City
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Horse Cave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
Address: 807 Mammoth Cave Street, Cave City, KY 42127 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find plenty of other sites and activities to explore near our pet-friendly Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, some of which include: Kentucky Down Under, Mammoth Cave National Park, American Cave Museum & Hidden River Cave, Mammoth Cave Adventures, Kentucky Action Park and Dinosaur World all just a short drive from the hotel. When traveling to Kentucky's Cave Capitol, enjoy home-style hospitality when you stay at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City. With a great location off I-65, a host of amenities, free cold continental breakfast, free WiFi, and flat screen TVs in all rooms. One well behaved family pet per room is welcome at no charge and children 17 and younger stay free when occupying the same room with an adult family member. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cave City
Cave City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing