We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steaks here - great service too”
Review of Sahara Steak House

Sahara Steak House
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Cave City
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
West suburbs Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best steaks here - great service too”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner here in late March 2014. Strip steak, ribeye and sirloin - our group tried them all and all were great. Kids meal chicken tenders also of high quality. Prices were very reasonable considering the quality of the meat ---- Note that no alcoholic beverages are served and that you serve yourself at the salad bar. The salad bar offerings were very fresh and good tasting too-- not a fancy place but professional and friendly service provided

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrytomsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    73
    51
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best hidden Gem! Got to go!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We fell into this little family steak house and fell in love! The food was great priced and some of the best steaks I have had in a long time! I live in Columbus and it out shown the high dollar steak houses. It was clean and so friendly. My 4 and 8 year old loved it so much we made sure we went back again for dinner before we left! You have to go! It really was amazing and at a GREAT price!!! They have other things than Steak but that was their specialty!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We ate here on a Saturday evening although it was busy no waiting to be seated the Food was Great The Staff was VERY Friendly Service was 2nd. To None...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good family place”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Good menu variety for the whole family. Salad bar is good. Steaks and catfish were good. Very friendly service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wfm1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave city, ky
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you are from an urban area, you will not like this.”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This is reminiscent of an old Ponderosa steakhouse. Thin steaks, lots of fat and gristle in the ribeye, not much flavor even though they tout special seasonings. Old-tasting baked potato, fake butter. Salad bar was nothing special, especially if you're used to places like Ruby Tuesday which has a great salad bar. This had only iceberg lettuce with a few carrots and a tiny bit of red cabbage. No broccoli, cauliflower, bell peppers, celery, cucumbers, field greens or even plain old spinach. Those are the things that make a good salad bar. This had mushy tomatoes, beets, 3 types of hot peppers, eggs, potato and macaroni salads. Not sure what the dressings were supposed to be. Neither of the two creamy dressings had any flavor.
Teriyaki chicken had good flavor but was seriously overlooked. Crust on the grilled cheese sandwich was burned.
The onion rings were the best thing we had (except for dessert), but they really needed salt.
All in all, it is an okay country restaurant. But if you are used to good city restaurants, this isn't even close. We are from Lexington, and can't compare this to any of the steak places there except maybe the Golden Corral.
Be sure to order the Kentucky Silk Pie, made in Midway, KY; it is a very light chocolate mousse in a meringue crust. Derby Pie is the real thing, made by Kerns Bakery in Louisville. Worth the calories!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sahara Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Sahara Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing