We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good place to stay in Cave City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Cave City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Cave City
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Dunkirk, Ohio
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Cave City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We chose this hotel due to it's proximity to Mammoth Cave N.P. Upon entering our room, we noticed a musty smell. The décor is dated, but as long as it's clean, it is ok with me. The pool and hot tub area was quite busy (bring your own towels!). Breakfast area is one of the smallest I've ever seen, with seating for about 12 people or so.

That being said, this was a good hotel. Everything was clean, and the manager was polite. The breakfast food was replenished promptly. Complimentary USA Today newspapers in the lobby was a plus.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank thegoodguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripb, Manager at Super 8 Cave City, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. I do apologize for the glitches you experienced while at your hotel.We here at the BEST WESTERN make it a part of our process to ensure guests are comfortable and help with whatever they may need. Hope you come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    156
    66
    21
    21
See reviews for
176
110
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our stay overall was good. Rooms were bug free and cleaned daily. It was minutes away from Mammoth Cave and essentially walkable to several fast food restaurants. Road construction was going on, but we were able to come and go easily and with little delays. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and the male owner/morning manager was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again if we found ourselves in the Cave City area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripb, Manager at Super 8 Cave City, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey, your feedback is very important to us. I'm very pleased to hear the manager was very friendly and helpful.Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and found this hotel to be everything we needed. The room was a little musty when we went arrived, but very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was really good. The breakfast room was small and hard to move around in when more than a handful of people were there. There was extra seating in a gazebo just outside the breakfast room. My son loved the pool and my husband and I appreciated the hot tub. Would definitely use this hotel when in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripb, Manager at Super 8 Cave City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey, your feedback is very important to us. I'm very happy to hear our staff was very friendly and helpful. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. However, we are looking at updating the look for the breakfast room in the near future come stay with us again whenever your in town. Thank you and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our trip to Mammoth Cave. We are a family of 4 with 2-8 year old boys. They pool was good and the room was very clean and up to date. The hotel had a very mom and pop feel to it. It was very nice to have that feel. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful. The only real complaint was that the bed was a bit on the hard side. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank larryk621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripb, Manager at Super 8 Cave City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We really appreciate the positive comments and the kind words. Our staff work very hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and satisfied with their stay. We look forward to your next visit to the Cave area, and want you to know that we truly value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just perfect for those visiting Mammoth Cave. Room was clean and comfortable with a little fridge included. Bathroom spotless. Accommodations simple but more than adequate. Front desk staff very friendly! Breakfast options impressive for the size of the hotel! Close to the Mammoth Cave visitor center and next door to a DELICIOUS Mexican restaurant! Quick and seamless check in/out process. Would recommend this hotel highly for the area!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripb, Manager at Super 8 Cave City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about my hotel and our service to you. It amazes me every time how a kind word from a guest goes such a long way to making our day. It energizes us to do even more for our guests.
Have a great rest of the day and thank you once again for your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinemont, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Riding our motorcycle at night, on vacation, we could see a storm approaching. With past experiences, Best Westerns have been motorcyclist friendly, so we hoped for the best in a touristy location. We found out they had one room left, but it was a smoking room which we try to avoid like the plaque. We were given a discount for the inconvenience, but were pleasantly surprised to find the room very clean and almost oder free. As motels go, this was by far one of the best values for this two wheel traveler couple.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripb, Manager at Super 8 Cave City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your clean room. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future if you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

great value and breakfast near all attraction of Cave City, KY and Mammoth cave entree - :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):) :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):) :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)):):P

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripb, Manager at Super 8 Cave City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am so glad that you appreciated what we had to offer and then took the time from your valuable day to rave about it. When our guests do that we love it and it makes our day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Horse Cave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Cave City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Cave City

Property: Super 8 Cave City
Address: 1009 Doyle Ave, or I-66 & Highways 70 & 90, Cave City, KY 42127-8441 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kentucky Inn)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Cave City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Cave City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cave City
Cave City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing