We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not bad if you need something different.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wigwam Village Inn #2

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cave City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wigwam Village Inn #2
Save
You added Wigwam Village Inn #2 to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cave City
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not bad if you need something different.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Well, we decided to stay here because we were looking for something fun and different to do on our road trip. I have to say I was incredibly nervous about it, because the phone calls I had with the people ahead of time were terrible. I made my reservation over the phone and even though I said APRIL about 20 times, the guy still put me down for February (even though Feb was long over at this point). I had to repeat my credit card number about 6 times too. I called again the week before to verify my reservation, and I told him I wanted to make sure we both had the same dates in mind, and the guy wouldn't tell me the dates he had written down. He just kept saying, "Yes your reservation is correct..." Well, how do you know that? Only I know if you have me written down for the correct date!

However, when we got there, our reservation was, indeed, correct. We checked in with no problems. Our wigwam was fairly clean, but very outdated and our biggest issue was having no outlets to plug in any of our stuff. But, you can't mark them down for this...it is a wigwam after all :) They claim to have free wifi, but it didn't work at all while we were there, so if you need access to a computer, this is definitely not the place for you.

There were only 2 of us, and we opted for a wigwam with 2 beds thinking that the place would be small and we'd probably need the extra space for our stuff. I am glad that we did this, because we ended up sleeping in separate beds due to the cramped space and the small beds.

The shower was not bad, but definitely keep in mind that you're not in a hotel, and shower quickly!!

There is a nice area outside where you can enjoy a campfire, or grill some food, and there's a playground for the kids.

One thing we were disappointed with was that the gift shop was not open when we checked out. We were excited to buy a tiny little wigwam to commemorate our trip to the area, but that morning the owners were operating out of their house and we weren't able to buy one.

It was a fun experience, but I'm definitely glad that we only stayed for 2 days. Definitely check out Mammoth Cave National Park if you are in the area! There really would be no other reason to come to the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank okruhlik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    76
    54
    35
    50
See reviews for
113
62
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, KY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Place was neat looking and something different. Needs alot of work. Probably great during early times but run down now. Only space heaters used and our wigwam very drafty and chilly. Door was drafty and sunlight came thru bottom & sides. Only 1 parking spot each wigwam. Playground equipment appears recycled from mcds also broken with jagged plastic in its window. Tire horse swings rotted and could break any moment.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kypurple76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you are looking for luxury this is not it. But if you are looking for roadside kitch, old americana then this is for you. We stayed in wigwam #12 and the room was clean with furnishings from the era. The bed left alot to be desired. We had to use the space heater and it was still chilly. Overall fun and something we had to do once.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

If you set your expectations right, and you're looking for some classic Americana, you'll enjoy this place. The rooms are small, but clean, with 2 double (not queen) beds. You'll need to duck to get in the shower! The office "Wigwam" doesn't appear to be used anymore, when we were there, we needed to register at the owner's house. The Teepees are in very good shape, especially considering their age. The front door glass louvers are painted over, and the side window can no longer be opened, so the window A/C is the only ventilation. The playground, though, is in sad shape, too bad for families with small kids.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Based on reviews, we lowered expectations & enjoyed our short visit. TeePee #12 was heated well with space heater, had a working T.V., small coffee pot, and clean enough. Beautiful sunset & trains added ambiance. Outdoor fires & grills are available with lots if wood. We took some great pictures and enjoyed the (decayed) Americana. Slightly eery feeling because of lack of people and truly shabby play ground equipment.

Constructive criticsm, tear down all that stuff & just make a nice fire pit area. Keep the slide only with a fresh paint job.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We looked so forward to staying at Wigwam Village with out 8 yr old son.
We had pretty low expectations. We knew it was dated. But what we did not count on was bedding with cigarette burns and thread worn, plaster pealing from the ceiling and general decay. We had teepee #6. The furnishings are on their last legs, literally from the 50's. The rattan beds have huge holes in the head/foot boards, the one light bulb hung from a bare cord from the ceiling. The lopsided TV stand would have fallen over if you walked by it. It held a 13" TV that did not work, unless you liked snow. There was no room to bring in luggage or to walk passed each other. It's so sad to see such a wonderful piece of history is such disrepair. It would take so little to make them a jewel again. But we could not bring ourselves to stay there and went on down the street to a different hotel. The owners were understanding in this and appeared to be used to people not wanting to stay once the saw the inside.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ddashby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I'm gonna go ahead and say that this place is pretty awesome. You need to be prepared before you go though, and just go ahead and lower your expectations, and look at it as an Americana adventure. I met one of my good friends there, and we stayed in TeePee #12, which had 1 double bed. It was easy to find from the interstate. The Office said it was "Open," but there was also a sign that said to go to "the house" after hours. It wasn't after hours, but... I went to the house to check in anyway. Now that was maybe the oddest thing about the whole experience. I rang the bell and no one answered, so I started the open the already slightly open door, and a man said "Come in!" He was sitting on his couch watching tv, and got all the receipts/reservation information out for me to sign right there in his living room. Odd!

The room was actually cleaner than I expected. It's very small. And very old. But pretty clean. Only one small dead bug behind the bathroom door. Not too shabby. I did bring flip-flops for the shower, and I would recommend that - just in case, you know. The bed was pretty soft and bouncy (not in a good way really). We never even turned on the TV so I can't comment on that. I had brought my laptop and we watched a couple of movies on that. We went in the middle of March, and while it was nice the day that we checked in, it was pretty chilly that evening, and then the following day was freezing. There was one tiny space heater in the teepee, and let me tell you - that thing really worked! Neither of us were cold that night at all. The toilet had some trouble flushing at one point, but my friend figured it out and was able to get it to work. Also - the gift shop was never open, and from the look of it, it looked like they hardly had anything in it at all. A friend of mine had been there before and gotten a t-shirt, and I was kindof interested in that, but... I guess I'll just have to try and get that some other time.

There was a train nearby that did blow its horn several times and was kindof annoying. It didn't wake either of us up through the night, I don't think though. We enjoyed using the little fire pit outside, and sat around it for a while. That was probably the funnest part of it all.

Not a whole lot to do in Cave City other than Mammoth Cave, so I would recommend that! Overall, it was a fun little weekend adventure to remember! Everyone should experience the Wigwam Village at least once! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 11 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Cave City
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#2 of 11 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Village Inn #2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Village Inn #2

Property: Wigwam Village Inn #2
Address: 601 North Dixie Hwy, Cave City, KY 42127
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cave City
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Wigwam Village Cave City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing