We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wet stay in a tent”
Review of Rock Cabin Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Cabin Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wet stay in a tent”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We decided to tent it here on our way to Florida. The reviews made this place look great, so we thought we'd give it a shot. When we arrived, it was raining. The owner was kind enough to let us back out of our reservation as it was impossible to set up our tent in the rain. We drove to the caves for a tour, and caught a break in the rain long enough to set up. While I was very impressed with the owners and their hospitality, but the place could use some work. I kinda felt like we had our tent in someone's back yard rather than a campground. The cabins are right on top of each other, and overall the area is small. The pictures were a bit deceiving. The showers/restrooms for the campers were clean. It did rain for our entire 2 day stay, so it was pretty flooded. We had to walk through a lot of water to get anywhere. No blame to the owners, you can't stop mother nature. Again, the owners were great, checked on us to make sure we were staying dry and appologized for the rain and water mess. There was a picnic table inthe tenting area, and 1 fire ring. You can put your tent wherever you want on the hill. You have to park in a designated area which is a bit of a walk from the tents. No electricity or water. If you like rustic, and don't mind feeling like your in someone's back yard (or even front yard as there was a house near by in the back too), then you can't beat the deal. Don't expect anything fancy, and you won't be disappointed. The people we saw in the cabins were fairly happy with their accomidations. Those in RV's seemed good too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disneyhlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Charlotte, NC, US
We LOVE Rock Cabins. Our group of 7 was divided between those who wanted to sleep in the tent and those who didn't. So this was the perfect set-up. The small cabins were clean, affordable, quiet and SO many fun memories were made.
Thank you Ralph and Lina! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxahatchee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Close to Mammoth Cave and easy to find, friendly service and a kid-approved atmosphere. So much better than a hotel, the kids had space to run and play - plus there were a few playground type items, we had a campfire and cooked all our own food saving money.

Room Tip: If you have a family get Cabin #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinaStAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our family wanted a central location to meet for a long weekend family reunion. My husband called Ralph and was pleased to speak with him several times while planning for our stay. We had a great time! Ralph was able to accommodate some of us in cabins, others in RV's and still more in tents. He and his wife were very kind and seemed to enjoy having us there as much as we enjoyed staying there.

The only reason I have given Rock Cabins four stars rather than five, is because our cabin was at tight fit for four of us. We originally planned on staying in a bigger, two room cabin, but the remodeling wasn't able to be completed by the time of our arrival. Next time though!

Everyone had such a good time! I'm sure we'll go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I visited Mammouth cave in May and we stayed in a cabin for 3 days. We prefer cabins over motel rooms because of the privacy, but in this case we had our dog. The owners Ralph and Lina were very friendly and helpful. Any questions, they were right there. The cabins need a lot of work but everything worked good for us,lights,water,toilet etc. The cabins are close to the park also. Like I said earlier the cabins need a lot of work but to Ralph and Lina's credit, they have been there only 5 years and Ralph was working on a cabin the whole time we were there. The rates were resonable too so he wasn't price gouging us today for the cabins of the future. All in all, we had a very nice time and we would certainly stay there again if there's a next time.

Room Tip: I don't know if this is a tip or not but we stayed in cabim #1 because of the size. It was a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motownmanDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A very nice place to stay great,We stayed 2 nights in cabin #9 would stay there again,The Owner is very nice a helpfull. Thank you for a good time! the kids love there stay there. well looks like I have to say more must have 200 characters real close to the caves close to I-65 A historic hotel and a great price $$

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Now, don't come here expecting luxury. This is a historic hotel and it's charms lie in the friendliness of it's owners, the location close to the caves, and the novelty of staying in a rock cabin. The shower went cold after two minutes, the fridge took 12 hours to cool a bottle of water, and the window was stained glass pink. It was also closer to the road than I was expecting (I think I though it'd be in the wilderness!). But it's fun, and if you're staying in the area you should definitely try it out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Cabin Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Cabin Camping

Property: Rock Cabin Camping
Address: 5091 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9213 (Formerly The Oakes Motel & Camp Ground)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Cabin Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy stone cabins and a campground just outside Mmammoth Cave National Park. Built in 1928, these historic cabins have been restored to offer a comfortable place to stay on your visit to the Mammoth Cave area. If you're driving an RV, we can also accommodate you with full hookups in our campground. We have many tent sites as well. Our campsites have 50 amp service and access to full restroom/Shower facilities. Our cabins range in size from three rooms, complete with kitchen and room for 6 adults to a cozy one double bed cabin, prefect for a couple. All cabins have air conditioning, microwave, refrigerator and DISH Network TV. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing