We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mexico in Kentucky!”
Review of El Mazatlan

El Mazatlan
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Cave City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Central New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mexico in Kentucky!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great authentic Mexican food! Great service. Loved their chips and salsa. I had the shrimp chimmichanga. Its was good

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank preciousbabydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    190
    78
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place where we could get a drink and eat with the kids. This place was recommended. Food was very fresh and abundant. There are complaints on the reviews that this is not "real Mexican." We are urban people who have lived lots of places and know that every non-chain place can be different. This is "real Mexican" but specifically regional. I had the flautas appetizer as an entree which I couldn't eat all of even though they were so good I wanted to. Kids and husband had burritos of different types and they were a hit. Beans were superb. The server did not know what vodka is, so I had to go over to the bar to show her, which made me smile.

Helpful?
Thank Sofiya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Didn't meet expectations”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Decided on this restaurant based on the 4.5 rating on Trip Advisor. Service was fast and restaurant was immaculate with great decor and music. The food, however, fell short of expectations and we would not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Viva Mazatian!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

After touring Mammoth Caves we asked if there was a good restaurant close by. We asked the right guy, he directed us to El Mazatian. Wow! We arrived about 3:30 PM,early for the dinner rush, nobody in the dining room but by the time we left the room was filling up and the patio was packed. I ordered the Molcajeta and it was jam packed with Asada, onions, sauce etc. It was over the top. The Fajitas were way too much for one sitting. If you want authentic Mexican food in the middle of Kentucky, this is the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kganley626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, IN
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Okay food and atmosphere , service to be desired”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

They have excellent drink specials on Monday and Tuesday. They have an okay selection of food. It is definitely what they say it is and nothing else comes in it. For instance I got a chicken quesadilla. It literally had chicken in and that was it. The portions were adequate . Service not great at all. They took our order and brought our food. Never asked if everything was okay. We had to ask for more salsa twice. Also never asked if we wanted anything else to drink. Our salsa sent empty for the entire meal. In our opinion it's not worth eating at.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mazatlan also viewed

 

Been to El Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing