We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

The Wayfarer Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wayfarer Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Cave City B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the reviews I expected an excellent stay. Beds are very FIRM (like a floor), kids enjoyed making s'mores around the fire ring, ants enjoyed crawling throughout the cottage. Had to be sprayed during our stay by the exterminator.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank SteveC197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

I found this on TripAdvisor. It is just outside Mammoth Cave in the direction of Cave City and about 8 minute drive to park visitor's center. 4 rooms down stairs with bedroom (queen bed); kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker: adequate cooking utensils and service for 6 to 8 people; living room with DVD player (no TV connection) and sofa bed; sun room, 1 1/2 baths and small patio in back with charcoal grill. Long area upstairs with a double bed and a futon. Located beside the road entering the park but no commercial trucks are allowed on it so one does hear road noises. The beds are not fancy but were comfortable. There is sketchy internet connection if you ask for the password. We did not need them but there are a couple ceiling fans and A/C. Minimum stay of 2 nights. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank By_His_Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our family of 3 stayed in the cottage, which is an entire house, in June 2012 during our vacation to Mammoth National Park. The cottage is lovely, clean, and newly renovated. It is right at the edge of the park, very convenient for a vacation to Mammoth, and its surrounded by woods and fields. The owners are very friendly. Poor TV reception (actually none) but they provide DVDs. We watched very little TV anyway. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donnabaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

In addition to the traditional B&B, the Wayfarer has a lovely cabin on the cusp of entering Mammoth Cave National Park. The cabin appears to be newly constructed, with all the creature comforts you could hope for--including a back patio and grill! We had a wonderful stay at this romantic get away and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask about the cabin in addition to the B&B rooms, especially if traveling with more than two peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My 3 children and I stayed here and we LOVED IT!! All the reviews were spot on in terms of cleanliness, spaciousness and just plain coziness! It is a lot bigger than we thought and the woodwork is spectacular! It is close to the park, yet still quiet and peaceful. Becky was a gracious hostess and we wouldn't stay anywhere else if we returned.
Also, you are right down the road from Mammoth Cave Adventures where we enjoyed horseback riding and zip line tours--a must-do in addition to the Mammoth Cave tour itself.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marydmaarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I'm also reviewing the cottage next door run by the Wayfarer's B&B.

My wife and I and my brother and sister-in-law stayed for two nights during a trip to see Mammoth Cave and the bourbon trail.

We were kind of expecting a small cabin, but this cottage was much bigger, cleaner and better-equipped, a really good value for two couples.

The kitchen has everything you need except the food of course. We did our evening cooking on the charcoal grill outside on the patio, and breakfast inside. All the pots and pans and cooking utensils are provided.

There are two rooms with double beds. The beds are kind of small and not super-comfortable for a big guy like me, but it's not a B&B so we weren't expecting too much.

The location is perfect, right outside Mammoth Cave National Park. You can walk into the park and do a short little trail to where a guy named Floyd got stuck. The drive to the big tours is about 10-15 minutes. (we did Historic and New Entrance, two good complementary tours)

The Canoe/kayak rentals are run by the same people across the street. They were busy shuttling people to the Green River but we didn't have time to try that. But it would be very convenient if you wanted to do some paddling.

Not much in the way of restaurants near the Wayfarer, or anywhere around Cave City really. Best to BBQ yourself. We also had to drive 30 minutes to a non-dry county just to get a bottle of wine and a 6-pack, so plan ahead if you want to drink.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Don_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Spacious cottage (really a house) with a couple rooms upstairs for our daughter to sleep/play/get-out-of-our-hair in. Bedroom with large closet for us. Two bathrooms, a kitchen, fireplace, living room, indoor sun room, a grill out back, air, fridge, stove, microwave, dvd player and more. LOVED IT! Right across the street from the canoe livery, just around the bend from the zip line and practically kissing the Mammoth Cave State Park. Clean, neat and economical. Saved money by buying groceries and making our own breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lots of spaces to be together or get away from each other on a long family trip. Couldn't believe our good fortune in finding this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
575 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
294 reviews
4.5 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
530 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Hotel SYNC
The Hotel SYNC
#1 of 35 in Bowling Green
634 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cave City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayfarer Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayfarer Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1240 Old Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9215
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cave City
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing