We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow this is pretty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
General Butler State Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wow this is pretty!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a hotel in a state park, which already gives them a leg up. It's quiet, and beautiful, and the rooms overlook either a forest or the pool (which is the better view, because past the pool is more forest and a view down into the valley). My room was clean, spacious, and had a nifty balcony with chairs and a table facing one of the forest trails. Staff were all friendly. The onsite restaurant has an all-glass V-shaped back wall, with spectacular views into the river valley below and the forest all around. Upstairs is a lounge area (not a bar) with the same views. Ya' just can't beat sitting in a relaxing, comfortable chair watching eagles play.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pool - better view. Or, if you're a hiker, ask for a room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neskya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
39
43
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the first leg of our trip. 3 nights at General Butler. I have to say the staff (Jeff) was great. I mixed up my reservations online and he fixed them for me and even took us in his cart to show us the available sites. (the one I reserved wasn't open...thank goodness!) Great guy. We lucked out and got a site on the same row as the full hookups. This is not a "noise free" campground. You will hear the traffic. The campground is not gated either. (made me nervous w/ 4 kids) The grounds are nice but some of the sites (90's) are tight and well worn. It was ok....not the tranquil "away from it all" feel. Nice mature trees made it appealing to sit outside. Putt-putt looked fun. The lodge seemed nice when we visited it to look around. (didn't eat there) and the bathouses were kept up just fine. No complaints there. A little difficult to get a hold of anyone as the guard house never had anyone man it the whole time were were there after we checked in. Don't think we'd return due to the noise factor. We camped in a hybrid.

Room Tip: Pick a site that is full hookup or right across from them.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nofitpitchinkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great staff! Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The views were spectacular. Enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant on site. Hard to beat the price and easy to reach from the freeway. Our second stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool on the second floor. There are terraces you can sit on just out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
195 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family has been going here for almost 25 years and it hasn't been updated much in that time. The bed was comfortable and the linens smelled fresh and clean. The shower head was a tad too low for my above average height but the water was good and hot! We had breakfast in the Two Rivers dining area. The buffet breakfast isn't anything to write home about: scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, bacon, grits, etc. There were no fresh fruits or anything healthy to place on our plates.

Room Tip: There are multiple hiking trails just outside the rooms for outdoors persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nacho52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned home from a weekend camping at General Butler campgrounds. The park is wooded and shady which we loved. Even saw a Piliated Woodpecker upon our arrival which was a treat.

The reservation system provided incorrect information as we only needed primitive camping, but was informed there was none at this park, so paid for two nights with electric and water we did not need. Discovered primitive camping on day 2, for half the price in a really nice area of the park, that was only reservable upon arrival.

Yes, the bathrooms were not very clean on day one, although on day 2 the smell of Clorox filled the air....thank goodness, but still there were old bugs and dirt in the windowsills and broken light fixtures. I

n the middle of the campgrounds, the children seemed to be enjoying the playground equipment along with riding lots of bikes which was great to see them playing outside.

If you are in a RV, I would really ask about the sites as many were not level. The full service area only had one site my husband thought was good if we returned with our Big Rig. Train and traffic noise was notable in the back area of the grounds.

We ate at the lodge restaurant about 2 pm at the Buffet, which was a grave mistake. I guess we should have ordered of the menu, but the food had looked fine, but it was not.

We would stay here again, despite some of the negatives. We loved all the trees, birds, squirrels, and deer along with all the shade and distance between sites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We traveled to the park to meet up with niece flying from Colorado into Louisville for her class reunion in Louisville. It was great to see her. We (my husband & I) decided to make a weekend out of it. We really enjoyed spending the night at the Lodge it was so peaceful. We also ate at the Buffet they have their at the Lodge. They have camping/ cabins/ miniature golf, large golf course and pool outdoors. Water chilly when you first get in, but very relaxing. Thoroughly, enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. Also as you drive in they have a War Memorial with different Monuments, just a wonderful layout if you are military or retired.

Room Tip: We stayed with a Senior Discount, the room looked nothing like what they advertise on internet, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We rented 4 cabins this past weekend for a family gathering. Two of the cabins were 2-bedroom, and the other two were 3-bedroom.

The 2-bedroom units were ok. About what you'd expect from a state park. Somewhat dated. Leaky bath in one. Not much updating done in the recent past.

The 3-bedroom units were a little nicer. Possibly remodeled with the past decade.

The park itself is nice. We have a very good time.

We had two gripes while there. First, none of our cabins had an outdoor charcoal grill. Some other cabins had them, just not any of ours. We called and asked why.....we were told that "they rot, so we just remove them and don't replace them." Really? It's called amenities. Geez.....

The other gripe is that we asked for a late checkout at check-in and basically were told to call at checkout time to see if it was possible. Lack of systems...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinciJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrollton
12.6 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
167 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
221 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
16.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
104 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Butler State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Butler State Resort

Property: General Butler State Resort
Address: 1608 US Highway 227, PO Box 325, Carrollton, KY 41008-8051
Location: United States > Kentucky > Carrollton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — General Butler State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your General Butler State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Butler State Hotel Carrollton
Carrollton General Butler State Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing