We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family escape--lake needs some help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
General Butler State Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family which consists of myself, my husband and 2 year old son stayed for 3 nights at the General Butler State Park in a one bedroom cottage. The cottage was nice and very clean. Nothing over top, just your basic cottage but with AC and satellite. My only complaint with the cottage was that the windows are all painted shut. After the 95 plus degree day we had earlier this week, it would have been nice to have been able to open up the cottage when the hot weather broke. The lodge is a far distance from the cottages (you need to drive there). And that is where the pool and restaurant are located. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and was never really busy. We did however visit the restaurant twice. The food was good, the service was slow. With a 2 year old, we never know when his patience will wear thin so it does not help when it takes 10 minutes just to get a drink order in. We would have visited the restaurant more if the service had been faster and more attentive. On both occasions (we had breakfast one day and dinner the other), we had to flag down someone for drink refills and had to request ketchup twice during our dinner visit. We did use the mini golf. Good fun! As for the fishing, in my own opinion this lake has been woefully overfished. I witnessed on more than one occasion as a fellow angler pulled a less than average fish from the water and declared it a "whopper" or a"keeper". The lake has one size limit in place and that is on largemouth bass (at 15 inches). There are creel limits imposed on both bass and channel cat that are above and beyond the state limit. During 3 days of fishing, I pulled 3 decent channel cats one of which I kept, two small crappie, one 10 inch bass and a gaggle of small bluegill. I think people are pulling and keeping fish which are too small which is not allowing the fish community to build up in any way. I would love to see a DNR sample report for this lake. Also note, the lake level is significantly down. I am not sure if northern Kentucky is feeling the same drought conditions that the area of Illinois I am for is experiencing or if this lake level issue is rooted elsewhere. You are actually standing on whatnot used to be lake bottomto fish. In some areas 10 to 15 feet of lake bottom. This area is full of broken glass, old cans and just general ick from previous visitors. We had a hard time keeping our son safe while fishing so we actually swept the area for broken glass, picked it up and then brought him down to fish. Overall, I really liked this place and would definitely go back but more than likely will give the lake a year to see what happens. Side note, the girls at the front desk were fabulous and helped me navigate the surrounding area looking for non-outdoor things to do with a toddler when it rained one morning.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank dschau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were searching for a place to rest on our trip home from Tennessee and luckily drove a short ways off the exit to check out General Butler State Park. What we discovered was a welcome escape from the chain motels we had been staying at. The lodge and surrounding property provided a relaxing getaway! Enjoyed a cool dip in the nice outdoor pool and a great meal in the lodge's dining room. Good food and a super view of the park! The room was spacious and we enjoyed sitting out on our private balcony with a woodland view. Plus, the price was better then the chain rates!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1959Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Butler Lodge for two nights in Feb, 2012 to take advantage of a special winter rate. We have a lot of experience with the KY Resort Parks and this one was pretty much as expected with a few exceptions:

The room heating system was very noisy and cycled on frequently and interfered with sleep.

The scenic overlook with a view of Carrollton and the Ohio River was not accessible because the gate to the access road was closed and locked. Disappointing.

If you like to get away from the city, this is a good time to visit the KY lodges since they aren't very busy. the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deebee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The cabins are decent, not extravagant. Some have a nice lake view, some are duplex style with wooded lots. Some have covered back patios, all have fire pits, bring own wood. Ac works fairly well for 100 degree weather.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TiffanyDMcGaughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We bought a package at the park for two nights and three meals for one price. The room was ok, an average room, the hotel was ok. What really impressed me was the Lodge dining room. They gave the best customer service I have had in a very long time. It was very clear, they wanted you to enjoy yourself and we did. We were very satisified.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Firetriedby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I took my neice for a one day stay in June 2011. The chairs were stained in room. As i tried to sleep all i heard was the people in room above constantly walking across room, and someone snoring. This should not be for the price you pay to stay here.

Otherwise, the pool is nice and miniature gold was fun as well as fishing in the small lake.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank bevhagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Lovely setting but rooms are very dated (even the "new" wing) and not in the best shape. There was a used diaper and a beer can on the porch when we checked in to our room. Nights were cool which would have been great for leaving porch door open for fresh air, but blankets were wimpy and consequently we were cold. Also, there have been reports of bed bugs and at least one member of our party may have experienced this, although we have not confirmed that for sure. You can still enjoy the park without staying at the lodge. That might be a better option.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dogmom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrollton
13.1 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
254 reviews
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Carrollton
79 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Butler State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Butler State Resort

Address: 1608 US Highway 227, PO Box 325, Carrollton, KY 41008-8051
Location: United States > Kentucky > Carrollton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Price Range: $70 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — General Butler State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your General Butler State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Butler State Hotel Carrollton
Carrollton General Butler State Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing