We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
The more you look the more you see!

We had a great time. Didn’t take the tour but just sort of figured it out ourselves. So much... read more

Reviewed July 22, 2018
Cassiecanuck
,
Dowell, Illinois
Must see

I have read reviews that if you have seen Rob zombie‘s house of 1000 corpses or Devils rejects this... read more

Reviewed March 16, 2018
rick s
via mobile
Read all 77 reviews
  
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
50
17
2
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
17
2
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews folk art roadside attraction toy museum yard art definitely worth the stop very cool place puns collection stories holt
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 76 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018

We had a great time. Didn’t take the tour but just sort of figured it out ourselves. So much creativity and imagination it was inspirational. The toy room was incredible. ALL of my childhood was there!

1  Thank Cassiecanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

I have read reviews that if you have seen Rob zombie‘s house of 1000 corpses or Devils rejects this place is just like that, I disagree this place is better. Amazing roadside attraction. Anytime if you are passing exit 16, this place is a must so much to see and do incredible toy museum with eight equally incredible yard full of folk art

1  Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

We visited on our way south at the advice of other reviews giving this attraction 5 stars. I am always up for weird and unusual but this was a bit over the top. The displays certainly are witty but it kinda gives you the willies at the same time. The two buildings you visit are so packed I became a bit claustrophobic and I generally like small spaces.
If in the area I would recommend a visit but just have a safe word for those with you when you need to get out of dodge. The owners will keep talking for hours about the displays so have an escape plan.

2  Thank Susan3181959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

The owner was very helpful in explaining the art. Beware of the mosquitos! Unique experience. We enjoyed our visit.

Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

Very cool place. The old guy told lots of really funny puns. Glad we stopped. It was free but except tips. We were there about 1 1/2 hours. If we didn't have the tour we probably would have been done in 15 minutes.

Thank 668loril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017

If you're looking for a good roadside attraction experience, this is definitely worth the stop, you won't find anything like this anywhere else. Plan at least a couple of hours for the full tour experience and all the puns. The attraction is free, but bring some cash to tip the Holt family to thank them for sharing their collections with us.

Thank Liz3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

Had a great time seeing some history of the area and hearing stories of the area from the past. The toy section was amazing. The hillbilly section of yard art made from pun on top of pun was very fun. Our host was energetic, polite, and entertainment personified. I hope to see the place grow with refreshments served as tour can be quite long. Maybe a audio tape to accompany along the art trail, to accommodate more groups. A fresh market store would be amazing to sell some homemade hillbilly toYS and goods. Recommended for 3 hours of a stop to get whole experience.

Thank Jstinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

This place is an eye sore to the community. Looks more like a junk yard when you drive down the road.

1  Thank allycat181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, Owner at Apple Valley Hillbilly Garden and Toyland, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Wow, this eye sore (folk art environment with puns, old country/gas station store museum and Toyland of over 3,500 toys) gets national news media, celebrities, vloggers and folks from around the world visiting Marshall County all year long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017

You may be tempted to drive on past. But, especially if you have kids, they will never see a better selection of vintage toys, trains and just too much to mention. For grown-ups, some nostalgia going on everywhere on the property

Thank kyloghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016

The owners are a very sweet couple who will be more than happy to fill you in on the local history. The back story is hysterical. Wonderful homage to local businesses and artists. Go with an open mind and ready for some good, quirky, roadside fun.

Thank StaceyM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews