We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Barkley Lodge
Reviewed August 18, 2006

We visited Lake Barkley State Resort Park in June 2005 for 5 nights with my two sons (5 and 7) and my parents. We stayed in adjoining, upper-level rooms at the lodge. We ventured out each day and sampled the local attractions - Land Between the Lakes, Venture River in Eddyville, the beach, the Boots Randolph Golf Course (gorgeous!!!) - be sure to check out Blue Springs behind the club house with the kids. The vacation was not fast paced, but it seemed like there was plenty to do to keep us busy during our stay.

Pros: Great old-lodge feel at the main lodge, carried through into the rooms. We really liked the wood paneling and vaulted ceiling in our room. The view of the lake from our room was terrific. The rooms were clean and we enjoyed the extra storage shelves in the bathroom. Activities were planned throughout the day and the kids especially enjoyed fishing off of the dock with cane poles and watching an animal presentation. The food in the dining room was filling and tasty - my oldest son really enjoyed the buffet experience. The indoor pool and fitness center was very nice. You can rent bikes at the lodge and water craft at the Marina. The full-service marina also offers a snack stand with hamburger types of options and ice cream. The game room at the lodge was fun in the evenings.

Cons: The room bedding needs to be updated - there were some holes in the bedspreads. Spider webs were abundant on the railings on our balcony (kids refused to go out) and along the covered walkway from the room to the lodge. The beach needed to be maintained better - weeds in the sand and in the swimming area. The trails near the lodge needed to be cleared a bit more - there were points where we were pushing through the brush where the trail had narrowed too much. Given that this is an area known for ticks - we weren't surprised when my son ended up with one on him.

Overall: We had a good time. The parts of the lodge that were showing their age could stand some sprucing up, but we didn't go with expectations for a 4-star resort. We anticipated a state-run lodge and were pleasantly surprised with the caliber and quantity of activities provided, and the overall tranquility of the surroundings. The kids had a great time and are asking to return again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Greg_Dianne_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2006

The lodge is design is very impressive. It is old (1965) but well maintained. The wallpaper was coming off in my room. Views from the balcony were the best in my life. Outdoor pool had an in pool light broken and they had the lamp pulled out of the water and sitting on the side of the pool with electric line still attached into the pool with a plastic bag duck taped around the light. Another in pool light was half full of water. My first day in the pool I assumed that the electricity was off. But come nightfall the lights were on. This is beyond dangerous. I'm surprised someone doesn't see it. The indoor pool and full gym (small walk away) is a very nice and modern. The indoor pool is occupied with "activities" often. The resort had kid games almost hourly like a cruise ship. My kid loved them. My room on the lower floor (below ground level) had a slight musty smell. I would try to stay on the top floor (ground level). Workers were very friendly. They have a great Military rate at 40% off. I would stay here again if in the area. FIX the outside pool!!

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank allamerican6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Memphis
14
Reviewed July 3, 2006

Very disappointed. The rooms are in bad need of a major renovation. Everything appears to be the same as when they built it forty years ago. The walls are old dark wood, the carpets are so stained we would not let the young kids on them. Spider webs everywhere, curtains barely hanging on the rod. The sheets were a dingy brownish color. The bathroom was okay if you like a camp ground kind of place. We arrived late at night so had no choice but to stay that night. Was planning two nights but checked out the next morning. Didn't try the buffet at dinner since it was either fried or something you purchase at Sam's or Costco, thaw, and heat.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rbrandsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
IL
540
Reviewed August 23, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank t.castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2005

8  Thank JBBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadiz
21.4 mi away
Pennyrile Forest State Resort Lodge
13.1 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
22.2 mi away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#2 of 2 in Aurora
31 reviews
22.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
18.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kuttawa/Eddyville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Barkley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Barkley Lodge

Address: 3500 State Park Road, Box 790, Cadiz, KY 42211-7090
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cadiz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range: $68 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Barkley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Barkley State Resort Park has accommodations for every kind of travelers, including the comfortable Barkley Lodge and a large camping site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Barkley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Barkley Hotel Cadiz
Barkley Lodge
Barkley Hotel Cadiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing