We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be awesome but its not!”
Review of Lake Barkley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Barkley Lodge
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge Aug 1-4. I was quoted one price over the phone when making reservations, but when I arrived I was told the rooms were higher on the weekends. I ask for the lodge to make an adjustment, but they would not. I also ask for the manager to call me, but they never did. The manager did make a note on my account stating they were not to change the room rate. So just be aware the rooms are higher on the weekends and don't expect them to give you correct room rates over the phone as they will not honor the rates quoted at the time you make your reservation.

The setting of the Lodge is beautiful, but their are issues. Our room had a fantastic view of the lake. The room was out dated, but we expected that as it is a state park. They do have a spider issue. I cleaned the spiders off our balcony over every morning. So before you book realize that you are going to be in the woods and there will be bugs and woodland creatures. I don't fault the lodge for the spiders outside, but we did have plenty of old spider webs in the corners of our room that had been there for awhile. This would be a simple fix for the lodge as when I cleaned them off inside the room they didn't return during our stay. The room is dark and somewhat musty. There is also dusty wood paneling on the walls which makes cleaning and lighting issues more problematic. The bathrooms looked like they had been updated more recently and were clean. However, I found the maintenance and linen area for our floor a complete disaster. With empty pizza boxes, trash, old degrading chairs and tables strewn everywhere outside of the door in which they stored clean towels and cleaning supplies. I did let management know and they did clean up the area quickly, but it should never have been that way. It was suggested to me that maybe the racoons had gotten into things, but it was like that for several days before I went to the office to complain-plenty of time for them to have cleaned it up if racoons had caused the mess. I will post a picture so you can see for yourself.

Back to some positives The outdoor pool is very nice, free to swim and they kept it very clean. They also have an indoor pool but they do charge to use it. The restaurant isn't as bad as some of the reviews suggest. Not five star, but not bad. The maid service did clean and vacuum out room daily. You can put a little sign on your bed if you want your linens change. Rooms were quite, and beds were pretty comfortable. We did enjoy the area, and the setting of the lodge did makeup for some of its faults. However, next time I will check for other lodging possibilities before I would return.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the out door pool will have a better view of the lake and if you have any issues wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Familyvacfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

I would like to Thank You for your comments in relation to your stay at our State Park, we value all comments. I apologize if you feel your rate was incorrect but our rates are slightly higher on Friday and Saturdays. Had we known that you had requested to speak to a Manager about your rate we would have contacted you. We were informed around the 30th of July that you had called checking your reservation and at that time was inquiring why the rates were higher on the weekend but the clerk explained the policy with the rates and we posted a note on your account stating the rates were correct. You also mentioned cobwebs which we do clean daily but being in a wooded area it is an ongoing issue. With our entire lodge being a wooden structure the rooms due appear darker though we have installed all new energy efficient lighting in all rooms. You checked in on Thursday afternoon and on Saturday Morning you notified the Front Desk about the debris in the picture and immediately it was cleaned up. That deck is in a secluded area in the back of the lodge with limited visibility but I do apologize that it was there and once we were informed we corrected it within the hour. If we are made aware of a problem we try our hardest to correct it. We want all our guests to be satisfied with their stay. Thank you again for you comments and hopefully you and your family will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

All in all, a decent resort. Lots to do and see. Beautiful view of the lake. Jean is right about the steps--avoid this place unless you want to carry your bags down steps to your room, walk up steps to the lodge, down steps to the dining room, down more steps to the pool, up two flights to get back to the front entrance, back down steps to your room, and then carry your bags back up steps to get back to your car. Buffets in the dining room were OK, but nothing special. Be sure to schedule your arrival--they won't let you to your room until at least 4PM.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on the lower level. You'll still have plenty of steps to climb, but the lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Captain_Jeff_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our State Park, we appreciate all comments. We do have alot of steps at our Park, years ago they tried to intall an elevator to take you to the lower level rooms instead of stairs but it was solid rock and was not able to be done. We do guarantee check in after 4pm but if we have your room available before we will go ahead and check you in. Once again Thank you for your comments and we hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have one word for this place-steps! There are so many steps to climb. You have to go up and down steps to get anywhere, your room, the dining hall, the pool, the front desk. That's fine as long as you're not a middle aged fat woman with bad knees like me!
Every employee we encountered was friendly. Food was ok, just ok, we were there four days and we ate there once. Be aware housekeeping will not clean your room while you are there, they will just replenish your towels and empty the garbage unless you ask to have sheets changed, really no big deal. They have good towels and good water pressure.
Pool was clean. Rooms were outdated but the bathrooms look like they may have been redone fairly recently.
They have scheduled activities like crafts, shooting, etc. I noticed a lot of people were participating.
Let's remember people, you're in the woods! There are bugs and plenty of them!
Lots of parking for boats and cars.
Now my opinion. It is so sad to see Kentuckys beautiful state parks being so neglected. It makes me very sad to think more money is not being allocated to take care of our state resorts and parks. Maybe some bridge money or arena money could be spared so our parks could become more inviting. Just saying.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our State Park. We do have alot of steps but there is an elevator in the main building that takes you from the Meeting Rooms, Dining Room, and lower Recreation/Outdoor Pool level. Housekeeping does service rooms daily and we apologize if your room was not done anytime during your stay. Also, around the middle of the month we will have a new Chef on board. Hopefully you and your family can come stay with us again and experience the creativity of our new Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited the restaurant on July 6 at 5:30 pm. There were very few customers in the dining room, however, the dining room was filthy. There were several tables with dirty dishes on them and trash on the floor. The help continued to ignore us as we waited to be seated in a practically empty dining room. After we were seated, it took over 20 minutes for the waitress to come over and take our order. We waited 1 hour and 5 minutes to get our food. It was cold and glazed over with grease. One of the men working in the dining room serving beer had some hang around buddies. I guess he was one of the managers. The salad bar had a lot of empty bins that never got filled. I had a plate of stale lettuce for a salad. I've been coming to this lodge for years and this is the worst I have ever seen it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

This guest is correct in reporting it was a slow night on the 6th of July as we were serving 270 at our Banquet Facility and 70 in a meeting room. However, no complaint was mentioned to the Host or Servers about slow service or dirty tables. In fact the only time dirty tables were noticed was around 7:30 pm when for Safety Reasons we had to evacuate the Dining Room due to a Tornando Warning. During this time there were not any Servers, Managers, or anyone else lingering in the Dining Room due to being evacuated to a safe location during the warning. The warning was released at 8:00 pm. If someone had such a bad experience why would they not report it directly to the business for resolution especially if they have been coming here for years and this is the worst expereice they have had? If informed of a problem, situation, or shortcoming we make ever effort to correct it and satisfy the guest while here. Much of our Seasonal help is relatively new and we have had reports that some haven't been as customer friendly as they should be. We have had additional training on June 29, July 3, and July 12 with the entire Dining Room Staff to ensure better Customer Service is provided.

In order for a Business to respond to comments on TripAdvisor adequate documentation had to be provided in order to verify accountability and representation of this establishment; no such documentation is required from those who make comments on a business therefore removing accountability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is over priced! Rooms smell and are dark. Cobwebs and spiders and bugs everywhere. No WIFI and cell service. Food is way over priced and staff is not friendly. Ice machines were broken. No working elevator. Too many stairs. Very outdated!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We are aware we have WIFI and cellphone issues and we have added extra WIFI drop points and are activley seeking someone to help provide better WIFI service at our location.To say that we have no WIFI is incorrect; On June 19, 2013 the Company providing our WIFI service had a Fiber Optic issue in the Western part of the State. On June 26, 2013 we also had a storm which did interupt our WIFI service also. These types of failures are not isolated to this facility alone. ATT is working to imporve cell service and since July 3, 2013, our county has 3G Service. Cell Service is still limited in certain areas of the Park but we do have boosters in the Dining Room and Meeting Room Facilities. Ice machines were not broken; we have five ice machines available in the Lodge area alone during warm weather months guests often deplete some of the more visible ice machines while others still have ice available. Ice is also available in our Dining Room upon request. There are alot of stairs and the facility is 43 years old. There is an elevator located in our lobby that circumvent most of the stairs except in the lower rooms. Rooms are rustic with wooden walls which tend to make the rooms appear darker than the painted, modern rooms. We have added new energy efficient lighting in all rooms that helps to brighten the rooms. We are having issues with spiders and cobwebs as we are a completely wooden structure that sits on a Lake. Our Pest Control Service has been unable to give us a satisfactory resolution so we have taken it upon ourselves to start a spraying regiment and we have also contacted the local Health Department to get a Mosquito Spraying Program since spiders are attracted to other insects to assist in alleviating this problem. The State Agriculture Department has actively been spraying the Land Between Lakes area as well. We consider ourselves very competitive in pricing in this area and the amenities we have to offer. We also offer many package opporunities which makes our pricing more affordable and competitive.Much of our Seasonal Staff is still relatively new; therefore on June 29, July 3, and July 13 we provided additional training to our Dining Room Staff in order to provide better Customer Service. Our food is not over pirced, we provide home cooked meals at fast food prices. We do offer some specialty meals; such as a Seafood Buffet and Sunday Brunch at somewhat higher prices but still provide value as compared to the same items offered elsewhere. We also expect to have a New Food Manager in August which will improve the quality and value of our food even further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently spent one night at Barkley Lodge. We were pleased that it was so convenient to the Convention Center where we attended a wedding. The check in staff and housekeeping staff were courteous but the restaurant host (a man) had filthy khaki's on and the waitress wasn't very polite after she found out we wanted to order off the menu instead of eating the buffet. The room was very dark and the lights weren't bright enough to be able to see much. I'm not sure if that was to hide the dirt or because they were trying to save energy. The room had a strange musty, humid smell that caused our allergies to be out of control after spending the night there. The bathroom had been updated and was pretty nice but it was too dark in there to adequately put on makeup. The shower barely trickled so we called the office. They said they had done something to all the showers to save water but they would send maintenance to fix our back the other way. The next time we took a shower the water pressure was fantastic. We could see the lake from the balcony. I think the chairs had been wiped off with a dry cloth but there were so many spider webs, bird droppings and dirt on the floor, ceiling and railing that we didn't even want to sit out there.
Neither of the ice machines by our room worked. Beware that if you have AT&T cell phones they will have very poor signal.
When we ate in the dining room we requested a window table because the view should have been lovely. Unfortunately the windows and the porch outside the windows was covered with so much dirt, dust, spider webs and bird droppings it ended up being a very unappetizing place to eat. The potentially beautiful beamed ceilings on the porch were dirtier than the floor. A good pressure washing would make a huge difference in this facility. They need to pressure wash all the balconies and public areas including walkways and ceilings outside. I realize that funding has been cut, but who wants to pay over a hundered dollars a night to stay at a place that is so dirty and unkept. They also need to use some weed killer to spray on all the poison ivy between the lodge and the lake sidewalks. This place has a lot of potential but it definately needs more maintenance and housekeeping staff for it to survive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Thisisit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just returned from a family reunion this past week. 3 days 2 nights stay.
I will not return to Lake Barkley. We have been going to various KY State parks every year since 1972 for our family reunions. This resort needs to close down until the state can properly fund it. Pros - the location is okay. There is nothing around the area but the scenery is gorgeous and every room has a lake view. The staff is friendly but you can tell overworked and frustrated. The pool is nice size however, bring your own chairs.
That's it for pros!
Cons - We arrived at 2pm and room was not ready until 7pm. The staff has been cut so badly that their are not enough maids to get the 400+ rooms clean by check in time at 3pm. This may be why the cleanliness of the resort is deplorable to say the least. The bed clothes and towels had stains on them, the curtains were cobweb filled. The rooms are very dark. It remains me of staying in our grandparents 1976 basement. The musty smell and all. Outdated is one thing, outdated and dirty is another. We had a bottom unit which we had to carry all our luggage down flights of stairs to access. The sidewalks are very dirty, dried gum, dead grass, q-tips, trash bags, etc. A good pressure washer or sweeping would improve it quite a bit. Their are racoons and skunks living under the brigeways to the top rooms that you must walk past to get to the bottom rooms. One of the guest had a dog that was sprayed by the skunk. The litter of "wild cats" is also a problem and unclean.
We have a few elderly family members with us that are in walkers, the elevators to the dining room were broken therefore they were unable to eat with the family. All and I mean all of the vending machines were out of order all weekend - we tried every one! The 2 ice machines by our room were broken. Our A/C unit blew out warm air, humid air. I assume it was broken as well.
Saturday night we had a reservation for 35 in the dining room at 7pm. We showed up 10 mins early they had given our reservation away to a larger group that had come off the water. They said it was their policy that people coming off the water had priority. Not mind you we have had these reservations for 3 mths. When we showed up we had to wait 20 mins for them to seat us. That sat us with the same waitress that already had the large table. In addtion to that they sat several other individual tables in our waitresses area. After 10 mins of no one to take our drink order we finally flagged down a waitress and got her attention. She said sorry, i now have 90+ people in my section and only meet over here. 30 mins later we got our drinks! The buffet closes at 9pm. We got to the buffet and no plates or food! We waited another 10 mins for new food to come out - finally some. Everyone is out of drinks at this point - no refills. We had to go to the kitchen and ask. Then we recieve the bill at 8:30 - $15 a person! Seriously! I told the cashier I was not paying 15 a person for the service and food we recieved. She took 20% off the bill and asked if we would speak to the OPS Manager tomorrow and tell them how our experience was. That the staff is over worked and frustated because they have had funding cut so badly.
I can tell you no one from my family will be back to Lake Barkley!

Room Tip: Choose another resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tlpaitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadiz
21.4 mi away
Pennyrile Forest State Resort Lodge
13.1 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
22.2 mi away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#2 of 2 in Aurora
31 reviews
22.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
10.8 mi away
Knights Inn Cadiz
Knights Inn Cadiz
#1 of 3 in Cadiz
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Barkley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Barkley Lodge

Address: 3500 State Park Road, Box 790, Cadiz, KY 42211-7090
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cadiz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range: $68 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Barkley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Barkley State Resort Park has accommodations for every kind of travelers, including the comfortable Barkley Lodge and a large camping site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Barkley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Barkley Hotel Cadiz
Barkley Lodge
Barkley Hotel Cadiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing